We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some non-smoking rooms stink badly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Healdsburg
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Some non-smoking rooms stink badly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Checking in to this motel took WAY LONGER than expected. Somehow this hotel needs to streamline the check-in process. We stayed here over a weekend with a group of 8 parties. The first room I was assigned to stank like cigarette smoke. As soon as I entered my room, I opened all the windows, turned on the fan to full blast, and left the room for dinner with the hope that the stench would clear. No such luck! So it was back to the infamously slow check-in desk, burning up another 10 minutes. And by the way, the other party who was waiting at check-in was there for the same reason as I -- to switch rooms because of cigarette stench, which aggravated somebody's asthma! We did switch to another non-smoking room, which was this time odor-free. But really? Can't they re-designate those stinky rooms to "smoking?" We all know that cigarette odor will be retained forever in a room, unless all furniture, drywall, carpeting, and furnishings are removed and replaced. Nevertheless, once I was situated in a new, stench-free room, all was good.

On a positive note, breakfast was good. They have the waffle machine to which you add waffle mix, wait 2 minutes, and voila! -- fresh waffles. They have decent scrambled eggs too.

Room Tip: The stinky room was on the third floor, north wing,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    36
    18
    18
    9
See reviews for
24
30
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice quiet location with nice rooms for the price. Havent stayed in Marina before but found it to be more my style compared to busier (and costlier) Monterey area. Only about 15 miles North of Monterey but the town is more laid back and much smaller but also more modern and convenient. When I am in the Monterey area again this will be one of my first choices. The hotel seems to be out of the way but I actually found that to be a benefit overall.

Room Tip: couldn't say, only stayed here once but I was on the second floor and had no issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed here after a day traveling through San Francisco. We checked in later in the evening and had no issues. The room was a little small, but was clean and in good repair. I believe there was a free breakfast, but we didn't take advantage of it. First thing in the morning I walked across the street to the walmart to grab some snacks for the car trip down PCH, then after using the free interenet in the lobby to verify some directions, we headed to Carmel for breakfast at Katy's Place. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again some day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Bad customer service. Front desk guys are creepy. Front desk men one looks like a chinese... He looks at my girl friend's behind. Then, another front desk caucasian guy looking at my girl friend's behind. They are so creepy. Beds have sperm stains. Toilet so filty... Urine stains on toilet bowl. Feces stains on toilet seat. Made me trow up. We had to find clean hotel minus Creepy front desk men.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stay here to visit relatives in Marina, but would probably choose this location to visit Monterey as well. The price is much lower than those in Monterey and the hotel is clean and comfortable. There is a state beach just a 10 minute walk away in the beautiful dunes. It's only about a 8-10 mile drive to Fisherman's wharf and Cannery Row.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed there two nights because we could not find a hotel last minute in Monterey. I wasn't sure what to expect because the reviews did not seem that good on any of the websites we looked it up on. So I was pleasantly surprised when we got there. The lobby is nice and welcoming. We stayed in an extra large queen room and it was a really big room, compared to the regular rooms. My five year old had plenty of room to move around and being 3 people we were not cramped in there at all. The breakfast was just ok, nothing special. My only complaint is that the temperature control in the room didn't really work. The room felt very stuffy or very cold. There was no really in between. The beds were comfortable, no complaint there. The rooms were nicely decorated, very clean and the bathroom was large with a large vanity top rather than some hotels that have a pedestal sink or small vanity top. The towels were large and soft. The staff were very accommodating and courteous. It was a 10 minute drive to the aquarium and Cannery Row. It's nothing special, but for a night or two, a decent place to stay at a decent price. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are more than a couple, choose the extra large rooms. There is a lot more room and you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stay at this hotel a lot (about 20 times a year). I do it because its affordable (fits my work budget) and because its consistent. There is nothing really great about this place, but never anything bad about it either. The gym is OK for a night or two, but nothing to write home about. Someone else in a review mentioned no water cooler. I too thought that was highly annoying. The breakfast is OK but ive had better at other Comfort Inns (a lot better in fact). The staff is always great every time I come. Never had poor service here. The rooms are always pretty clean and the fridge and microwave in the room are really handy when i have to stay for a few days at a time. All in all I think its a fine place to stay as long as you arent expecting a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 140 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Marina
Comfort Inn Marina
Marina Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.