We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not to bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Monterey - Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Monterey - Marina to your Saves list
Motel 6 Monterey - Marina
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   100 Reservation Road, Marina, CA 93933   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Marina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's not to bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

So I noticed a lot of ill reviews about this place and I think everyone needs to take it easy. You pretty much get what you pay for. I stayed to tonight and it was well worth it. After driving all day we stopped here for two reasons, because motel 6 is always pet friendly and we always travel with our dog and it was by far the most inexpensive motel around. For sixty bucks we got a bed, shower and tv, this is all we needed. You can't expect to much from a motel 6 but they always get the job done. I never mess with making a reservation and I never have a problem getting a room. So for the pet friendly traveler on a budget, this is a perfect place for a comfortable nights sleep. Safe travels!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    27
    18
    20
See reviews for
26
42
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We arrived around 9pm without a reservation. It took about 20 minutes to check in. They give you the towels and soap at the front desk. As I was being checked in, the lady kept rubbing my towel back and forth on the dirty desk totally unaware she was making my towel so dirty. I had to ask for another towel. The room however was clean. There are definitely no frills to this hotel, just a bed and bathroom basically.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

First off there are NO microwaves or fridges in any room. There is barely towels, which are more like sandpaper. I actually got scratched by the washcloth. Your room MAY be ready by 5 pm, but sometimes it may be closer to 10pm. Reservations are a joke. The motel people tell you to reserve through them, the 800 phone line tells you to never reserve at the motel as they easily can screw it up. When we started to use this motel in the early 90's, it was fine. It has steadily gone downhill in the last 5 years. Some of the staff is fine, but some act like they are doing you a favor just checking you in. Warning...just because you have a reservation number, call the 800 number and confirm. My reservation was canceled somehow by their computer, and if I hadn't called to confirm I wouldn't have discovered this until I got there this August (2012). And most weekends during the summer the rooms are now over $100 a night...not worth it by any means.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at Motel 6 Marina in July and were very disappointed by our experience.

First, we arrived to be told there were no non-smoking rooms available, even though we reserved our room in February and requested a non-smoking room. They then told us if we returned between 6&7pm they might be able to give us a non-smoking room if any cancellations occurred. You would think non-smoking rooms would be dealt first-come-first-served depending on when guests requested them, but no, for some reason this Motel 6 has a rather backwards system.

They then tried to charge us the 'Special Event' rate, as there was a Moto GP event occurring in nearby Monterey/Laguna Seca. We had booked the room on an advanced rate online; had we not taken our confirmation with us they would have tried to charge us the more expensive 'Special Event' rate, which just made us feel like they were trying to rip us off.

They eventually moved us to a disable access non-smoking room which, although very basic, was clean and the bed fairly comfortable. The TV was not tuned in properly, the curtains let in a lot of light and the walls were paper thin.

Considering we got charged $115 incl. tax for one night's stay when we paid less for a one night stay in a a great motel in Santa Barbara (a more affluent area) is insulting. When we return to the USA we will not be using Motel 6 whatsoever.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lausanne
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

we went there for only one night and it was really disappointing!
The room is poorly soundproofed, it had a smell of wet linen so very bad. However, the room was clean and the shower is good but you don't have any shampoo or soap. There is a laundry which is great. The room is really overprice for what it is! We payed 120$ and you have to pay 3$ more for the wireless! And you have to drive 15min to be in monterey, so in comparison of other motel, the price is really abused!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

What a bummer. I wasn't planing on staying long so I went cheap and I thought I could count on the Motel 6 Brand. No Shampoo ect. One Bar of soap. Awful (Really Really BAD pillows.) No alarm clock. 25in TV. The price was not cheap. We paid $120. The service wasn't helpful. our room wasn't available

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

except for sympathy and kindness of the ladies at the reception how can I suggest a motel with dirty sheets with holes , with no stairs and no elevators (heavy luggages do not fly) and noisy? I really no recommend it after a long drive

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Motel 6 Monterey - Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Monterey - Marina

Address: 100 Reservation Road, Marina, CA 93933
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Monterey - Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Motel-6, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Motel 6 Monterey - Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Monterey - Marina Hotel Marina
Motel 6 Marina
Motel Six Marina
Marina Motel 6
Marina Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Monterey - Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.