We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frustrating stay!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Monterey - Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Monterey - Marina to your Saves list
Motel 6 Monterey - Marina
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   100 Reservation Road, Marina, CA 93933   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Frustrating stay!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at Motel 6 Marina in July and were very disappointed by our experience.

First, we arrived to be told there were no non-smoking rooms available, even though we reserved our room in February and requested a non-smoking room. They then told us if we returned between 6&7pm they might be able to give us a non-smoking room if any cancellations occurred. You would think non-smoking rooms would be dealt first-come-first-served depending on when guests requested them, but no, for some reason this Motel 6 has a rather backwards system.

They then tried to charge us the 'Special Event' rate, as there was a Moto GP event occurring in nearby Monterey/Laguna Seca. We had booked the room on an advanced rate online; had we not taken our confirmation with us they would have tried to charge us the more expensive 'Special Event' rate, which just made us feel like they were trying to rip us off.

They eventually moved us to a disable access non-smoking room which, although very basic, was clean and the bed fairly comfortable. The TV was not tuned in properly, the curtains let in a lot of light and the walls were paper thin.

Considering we got charged $115 incl. tax for one night's stay when we paid less for a one night stay in a a great motel in Santa Barbara (a more affluent area) is insulting. When we return to the USA we will not be using Motel 6 whatsoever.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    33
    24
    17
    19
See reviews for
23
37
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lausanne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

we went there for only one night and it was really disappointing!
The room is poorly soundproofed, it had a smell of wet linen so very bad. However, the room was clean and the shower is good but you don't have any shampoo or soap. There is a laundry which is great. The room is really overprice for what it is! We payed 120$ and you have to pay 3$ more for the wireless! And you have to drive 15min to be in monterey, so in comparison of other motel, the price is really abused!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

What a bummer. I wasn't planing on staying long so I went cheap and I thought I could count on the Motel 6 Brand. No Shampoo ect. One Bar of soap. Awful (Really Really BAD pillows.) No alarm clock. 25in TV. The price was not cheap. We paid $120. The service wasn't helpful. our room wasn't available

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

except for sympathy and kindness of the ladies at the reception how can I suggest a motel with dirty sheets with holes , with no stairs and no elevators (heavy luggages do not fly) and noisy? I really no recommend it after a long drive

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

This motel 6 is located near the beach, a short distance to conveniences like drug & grocery stores. Shared property with Denny's. The hotel style is not classic, the grounds were great - big courtyard with trees & flowers. Rooms were clean. Traveling with our Scotties - they enjoyed the grounds and the day trips to the beach. Recommend Phil's fish market for dinner in moss landing. And Tito's for breakfast or lunch. I would return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Not all rooms have all of the amenities, so be aware. I had no microwave or fridge in my room, but I also had no alarm clock or hair dryer. It was a room with a bed and a bathroom and tv. That was it. I wasn't expecting it to be as nice as Holiday Inn or Comfort Inn, but I thought it would have a few more amenities as it was advertised. The room was clean, but the linens on the bed looked old and very worn and didn't smell great. I was on the back side of the hotel and had a great view of 7-11 and WalMart. Don't be fooled into thinking you're getting a great deal by the beach---it's actually across the highway from Marina State Beach. Looks pretty from the outside, but disappointing on the inside.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We ran the Big Sur Marathon and stayed here for one night. The receptionist, Ronell, was very helpful. We got clean room, no smell or anything. A typical motel room, basic amenities. One thing I couldn't bear was how thin the walls were. I heard everyone walked by and even when they flushed the toilet or turned on the facet. It was difficult to sleep when you have a race the following day. However, my friend didn't have any of these problems.

Bottom line, you get what you paid for and if you are on a budget, this would be an OK motel. The receptionist definitely made the difference. If I were to come back next year to run, I would pay a little bit more to stay in Monterey.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Monterey - Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Monterey - Marina

Address: 100 Reservation Road, Marina, CA 93933
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Monterey - Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Monterey - Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Monterey - Marina Hotel Marina
Motel 6 Marina
Motel Six Marina
Marina Motel Six
Marina Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Monterey - Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.