We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent home base while touring Monterey Peninsula” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Marina to your Saves list
Ramada Marina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   323 Reservation Road, Hwy 1 Exit, Marina, CA 93933   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Lagos, Nigeria
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
574 helpful votes 574 helpful votes
“Excellent home base while touring Monterey Peninsula”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We booked two hotel rooms at this hotel via Expedia Vacations. The price was reasonable, the location very good, almost mid-point to various attractions of the region. We certainly recommend staying at this hotel.

The rooms are very large. We had two King rooms, and there was a pull-out couch in the room, a coffee table, micro-wave and mini-fridge.

Bathrooms are spacious, VERY clean, and towels are plentiful!

The hotel seems fairly new or maybe it's well-maintained. In any case, we found the following good points/and not so great:

1. Property is well-maintained
2. Parking is plentiful
3. Grounds, hotel, rooms and bathrooms are kept very clean
4. Management is very responsive to guest requests. For example, we had a couple of repair requests in one of the rooms, and they were attended to right away.
5. There is a little gym in the hotel, that it is useful.
6. The TV's are large, and there is a good selection of channels.
7. Walls seem to be well-insulated, as we never heard other guests.

Pet Peeves:
1. Lumpy pillows
2. Noisy A/C/ heater, situated by the window. By the way, if you are a light sleeper, request a room facing the parking lot because, while Reservation Road is quiet at night, traffic noise begins around 06:30.
3. Checking in at night, we had to wait a little while to be helped. The young man at the front desk was helping other guests. He seems to work alone in the evenings; though he was very polite.
4. Breakfast is truly "continental" with breads, cereals, muffins, waffle machine, coffee, and juices. Yogurt and even boiled eggs would be a very nice addition.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the parking lot (above 1st floor) if you are a light-sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    126
    74
    23
    16
See reviews for
146
84
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Mississippi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011 via mobile

We stayed one night and were, for the most part, pleased with the hotel. The rooms could use updating, but our room was very large and clean. Front desk staff was efficient and friendly, but I get the impression that they are understaffed. We booked through Hotwire and got what I believe is a very good price. I would stay here again, but if you're looking for luxury rather than a clean place to spend the night, this is not for you.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed for two nights while visiting the Monterey area. It is an easy drive to the aquarium & town. Room was nice, clean, up to date, and the price was great for CA. Breakfast was a typical continental breakfast (carbs, fruit, beverage), that is what they advertise. Hotels are a place to sleep, if they have food - great, especially at this price point.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I recently spent four nights at this hotel. It was quite nice for the price. The one complaint I have is that the linen was terrible. There were holes in the sheets, one thin blanket which also had holes in it. I believe if Ramada were to "step up" to perhaps, feather beds, etc., it would make a difference. Or at least, get new sheets. Otherwise, friendly staff, good location and not bad all around.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Only stayed one night while visiting Monterey area on vacation. Per previous comments, requested upper room towards the back (away from street/front of hotel). Very quiet, plenty of room in the "King Deluxe" (king bed + convertible sofa) for the three of us. Clean room, two TVs (CRT style, but better cable channel selection than other hotels). Front desk was very nice (had to replace a TV remote) and prompt. Drive to Monterey--via US 1--wasn't that bad (10+ minutes) and being out of Monterey, saving significant $$ on room were big pluses. Would stay here again when visiting the area. Very nice hotel, normal continental breakfast (make-your-own waffles, cold cereal, juices, rolls/bagels, coffee, some fruit). Definitely recommended for the price and location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We wanted to see the sights of Carmel and Monterey and this hotel was a bit off the beaten path. The rooms were absolutely huge but in an awkward way. There were no linens for the sofa bed. Breakfast was average. It wasn't horrible, but we won't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinley park
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in 2010 for a couple of nights. The price was definitely right, however the breakfast was below average at best. The milk was cool to luke warm. No eggs, no meat and the fruit was old. We gave it a shot again this year, based on the price and booked two single nights one week apart. The first night, the room was average at best and the breakfast worse than we remembered. The next week we stayed again and the bathroom appeared to have mold all over the side of the tub. The toilet did not flush for a while. The front desk is hardly ever attended too as it appears they are way understaffed. They promise you the world and never follow through. If you need something you need to go get it yourself. Even based on the cheap price I would stay at the Holiday Inn Express down the street. It is like night and day and the breakfast is incredible.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Marina

Address: 323 Reservation Road, Hwy 1 Exit, Marina, CA 93933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of Monterey, California in the quiet coastal town of Marina, the Ramada Marina is your ideal hotel in the heart of the Monterey Peninsula. Renovated in 2011, the 100% smoke free hotel is only a short drive from some of the Peninsulas finest attractions including Monterey’s Fisherman’s Wharf and Cannery Row, as well as Carmel’s Shopping Center and famous 17 Mile Drive and is just a scenic drive from the famous Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. Within walking distance from the hotel you will find downtown Marina and the stunning Marina State Beach. The hotel is highly regarded to be one of Marina’s best value hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Marina Hotel Marina
Marina Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.