We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definition of Convenient.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   416 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933 (Formerly Days Inn Marina)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
“Definition of Convenient.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel was the definition of convenient. Located close to Hwy 1. Within walking distance of a market, a park, and good restaurants. Gas station & convenience store on the premises. Rooms recently refurnished. The general manager, Sarah, and her staff were helpful with suggestions & assistance with typical concierge-type queries. A four star experience at a 2 star price. Hard pressed to find fault with this hotel.

Room Tip: Would recommend any of the rooms on 1st floor. Recently renovated rooms with hard surface flooring f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, yesterday
alex m
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and of course Thank you for staying with us. Our property is located close to all of the great Monterey Bay sights but as you have noted Marina prices. Sarah and her team keep our large rooms clean and fresh and again as you have noted we are always improving on our property. Thank you again for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    72
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
56
71
21
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff were very accommodating, I took a pretty late shower and needed extra towels, and the staff was able to provide me with a fresh set of towels, quickly! I love the atmosphere of this place and recommend it to people who enjoy waking up to a nice continental breakfast! This is my second time staying at this place, and i noticed some changes, Sarah has made to the place! Making it an even more welcoming experience for their guests!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Christine C
Great to have you back. Yes Sarah and her team keep our large rooms clean and fresh while putting out an excellent breakfast daily. We are close to all of the great Monterey Bay sights. I was out taking pictures of the birds over the weekend at the beach. The Sea Gulls are very aggressive when they think food is available. Glad you had a nice stay at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Thanks for the relaxing weekend. It may be rated as just a two star hotel, but you will receive five star service. With clean room and towels, no funky odors, and everything worked like it should, what more can you ask for?. I was also pleasantly surprised to see the wide variety of breakfast options. I had something different every morning. Be sure to grab a cookie on your way out. Will definitely be back the next time I'm up north. Thanks again!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 2 days ago
D K
The weekend was beautiful. I went up and down the coast shooting pictures. I hope you had a great time as well. Sarah and her team do a great job on a daily basis. Large clean rooms and a very nice breakfast to start the day. Thank you for writing a review and Thank you for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

the Hotel was clean the staff was nice the hotel is next to a gas station that had trafficbut I had the worst night of sleep I ever had I end up sleeping on the floor the beds were very uncomfortable

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Bennett C
I am very sorry that the bed was not satisfactory for you. As always talk to Sarah at the front desk maybe she could have solved your issue. Again I am very sorry that you had a bad nights sleep,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband wrote a review while we were still enjoying our stay at Howard Johnson Marina. Despite the typo (an "s" added to "food") we would like to affirm our review under the heading "Friendliest staff and excellent value." Additionally, we must note that we have never been made to feel more welcomed. The staff's dedication to customer satisfaction is exemplary. During a conversation with a staff member, my husband mentioned we were celebrating our thirtieth wedding anniversary. As we were preparing to leave, the manager presented us with a wrapped gift in recognition of this milestone. It was such a sweet and thoughtful gesture. Other hotels could learn about customer service from these people!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Carolyn K
We are always looking to provide the best possible customer experience for our customers. Sarah and her team deliver daily on that desire. Thank you for writing a review. We are lucky to be able to offer our customers great value in the Monterey Bay area. Monterey has so many wonderful sights and things to explore and do. Thank you for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay. Happy Anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabiona, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you like a more quiet atmosphere but still close to the bay then this the place for you. Our room was very clean and reasonably priced. Sara went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Thank you from your Utah friends. The breakfast was very good with several choices. One thing I would mention this hotel sits behind a gas station so if you're not paying attention you may not see it at first. It was convenient having the store right there. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 6 days ago
JTBreak
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sarah and her team read every review and will particularly enjoy yours. It is Sarah's nature to be friendly and helpful whenever she possibly can. We are lucky to have a great property located so close to such a treasure, Monterey Bay. Thank you for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are on our last night of our 3 night stay. We are impressed with the very friendly and accommodating staff and management. The rooms are spacious and clean. Although not a full breakfast, the foods choices are far superior to standard continental breakfast fare. As other reviewers have noted, hotel frontage is composed of a gas station and mini mart but there is a partial wall mostly separating the complex from the front. We are thoroughly enjoying our stay.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 1 week ago
aron30
I think that we have an excellent team and when we have a customer write a review that reflects our teams excellent performance it gives us all great feedback. Thank you for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay and we hope to see you again soon. Monterey Bay is such a great area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

Address: 416 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933 (Formerly Days Inn Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.