We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot from which to see Monterey area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   416 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933 (Formerly Days Inn Marina)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect spot from which to see Monterey area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very clean, spacious rooms. Quiet. Friendly and helpful staff and owner. Reasonable price, especially for this area. Breakfast area small but clean. Good coffee....... about the best we have found in a motel breakfast.
Would definitely return to this nice motel in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank You for writing a very gracious review. You have captured the essence, great location to see all the Monterey sights but with a good value. Sarah puts out an excellent breakfast as you have noted. Thank you for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    63
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
43
59
21
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Clean, quiet, easy check-in, reasonable price. Easy to reach power plugs and a desk. Not much else to say.
Clean, quiet, easy check-in, reasonable price. Easy to reach power plugs and a desk. Not much else to say.
Clean, quiet, easy check-in, reasonable price. Easy to reach power plugs and a desk. Not much else to say.
This is what results when websites require a 200 word minimum.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Well I must admit that sometimes the "rules" are a bit much. But then again its nice to hear , "Clean, quiet, easy check-in, reasonable price. Easy to reach power plugs and a desk." a few times. Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Washington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We did a little research to see what the most reasonably priced room would be in the Monterey Bay area and settled on this, still overpriced, but that's the only problem we had here. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Super sweet front desk girl.(Yes the front office is in same building as the gas station, off to the left of the main entrance of the station) Balcony off the back of the room was a nice bonus. Not the best of area's, as some of the other reviews stated, Marina has a substantial homeless problem. As do a lot of the wonderful coastal towns of California, I don't blame them, that's where I would live if I were homeless, but if your not used to seeing people picking through the trash, you might be upset.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Indeed Monterey Bay is beautiful and our location provides clean comfortable rooms with a good continental breakfast so you can go enjoy our area. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Came for Monterey Auto Week and our room was booked by a Corvette group sight unseen. Found owners to be extremely pleasant and accommodating. Property also has gas station and convenience store. At the coastal end of Reservation Road with quick access to the beach and dunes. Rooms were spacious, clean and had a comfy bed with lots of pillows. The owners are REALLY nice people and did everything to ensure a pleasant stay. Fresh cookies and bottled water were always available. The room had a roomy fridge and nice microwave. There were LOTS of outlets for chargers, etc. Wi-fi was free and speedy. I can't say enough good things about this place. It was quiet and the location is convenient. You won't be disappointed in the property or the value. We look forward to going back next year!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Wow thanks for the great review. Go Corvettes! It was a pleasure having your group stay with us during auto week. We were more than happy to have you stay with us with your fantastic machines.
You more than covered the high points of our property so all I can say is thank you for staying at our Howard Johnson Marina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was very satisfied with my experience at this hotel. The price was extremely reasonable for the area and the breakfast was outstanding. If you are expecting the Four Seasons, you will be disappointed. The rooms do show signs of aging, noise retention is not the best, and the bed was a bit softer than I prefer it to be. However, the owner Sarah is friendly and welcoming, and the other staff member, Chris, did his best to help out with info about the area. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering trip to Monterey or the surrounding areas who needs a budget-friendly place to spend the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you have noted our location gives us excellent access to all of the Monterey peninsula activities. We serve a nice continental breakfast with clean well kept rooms. Not the "Four Seasons" but a very good value as you have noted. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was here last month, the Room was really great, very clean, and comfortable, the attention for the girl on the front desk was magnificent, this is really a great place to stay, and even better the price for the night was very low

Congratulations…

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you ever so much for the great review. Our staff are "magnificent" as they all work hard to serve you our customer. As you have noted clean comfortable rooms at a good price. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoga Park
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the best Howard Johnson we've ever stayed in. In fact, it is among the best motels The owners are enthusiastic and sincerely interested in their customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and its high compliments. Sarah and her team really appreciate a happy customer. You hit the nail on the head they are sincerely interested in you and your stay. Large clean rooms and a continental breakfast with variety. Thank you again for staying with us and writing such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

Address: 416 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933 (Formerly Days Inn Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.