We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn
3290 Dunes Drive, Marina, CA 93933   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Marina
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

First off, there's really nothing horribly wrong about this motel, it's just showing its age. I only paid $65 on Hotwire so I shouldn't really complain. On the plus side, the room was fairly large and it was clean, the bed was comfortable and it's in a pretty area right next to the dunes. Also the front desk staff were very friendly and eager to help. The breakfast was more than adequate for a continental breakfast. The wifi was sort of hit or miss, it worked most of the time but sometimes, inexplicably, it would just stop working for a few minutes. I just found the room sort of depressing. It's all sort of brown and beige and the double tubes of 7-11 style, florescent, lighting over the sink don't help. The TVs are old tube models and everything just looks kind of worn. I stayed there for 3 days and by the time I left I was really ready to go. It's really crying out for a renovation.

Room Tip: I had a second floor room away from the highway and it was pretty quiet. I suspect the rooms near R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    72
    52
    32
    19
See reviews for
94
63
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, CT
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed two nights on our way down the coast. Booked through Priceline and at first was disappointed to be so far away from Monterey/Carmel. Very close to the beach in a wide open area. Highway is right behind the hotel but wasn't too bad. We had 3 rooms and all were clean. Staff was very accommodating. Very easy and close to where we wanted to go. 17 Mile Drive was only 15 min away.
Breakfast was busy but perfectly fine.
I can't blame the hotel for the screaming child next door....the room was comfortable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

This is a very quiet place that is perfect for the family scene. The breakfast is above that of a normal Continental. The hot tub is cozy and there is a small play area for the kids. You cannot hear much of the traffic that is on the highway.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Fairly close to state beach across the street. Room a bit small, but decent and clean. Okay breakfast, get there early, the dining room gets crowded fast. Pretty good for what they charge. MINUS: Walls are very THIN, can hear the TV noise from next door. If you are a light sleeper, might not be a good idea to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We arrived at this hotel late at night after an amazing concert, checking in somewhere between 1-2 am. We were received by an extremely warm, friendly, kind and helpful woman named Janice at the front desk.
We were extremely amazed by her awesome customer service at such a late hour, it was so pleasant to experience when we were so tired and weary from our travels.
It truly made our brief stay at this Best Western a delight to be treated so well and if I could personally give this lady a raise I would.
The room was clean and comfortable. Our only complaint was that the check-out was at noon and we wanted to sleep in a bit later.

Ultimately though, we enjoyed our stay a lot and were very impressed with how well Janice treated us last night. Customer service like hers is rare these days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Set your bar down, it is a chain motel NOT a hotel or resort. You will not be wowed by the location and condition of this Best Western. It is not a slum but maintenance could be better, housekeeping needs to step up, and road noise is the kiss of death if you are in the the end of the property near PCH (Hwy 1.) Pluses: The nicest people in the world work here. Marina State Beach is a rock throw over the dunes - lovely place to stretch your legs and enjoy the ocean. Location makes it a good choice if you have business with CSUMB, but it's a bit of a drive into Monterey proper. If you want to save your travel budget for whiz-bang attractions and good restaurants, planning only to lie your head down after a full day this will do. But more than a couple nights here and I'd be chewing my leg off to get out of it.

Room Tip: Stay as close to the front as you can to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I had already made my reservations when my sister checked tripadvisor. You need to update your information. Location is beautiful with two short routes to walk on the beach. The room was clean and comfortable, with all the modern, expected amenities. The staff was friendly, accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western Beach Dunes Hotel Marina
Best Western Beach Dunes Hotel
Best Western Marina
Marina Best Western
Address: 3290 Dunes Drive, Marina, CA 93933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.