We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Monterey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn
3290 Dunes Drive, Marina, CA 93933   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Concord, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Monterey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Fairly close to state beach across the street. Room a bit small, but decent and clean. Okay breakfast, get there early, the dining room gets crowded fast. Pretty good for what they charge. MINUS: Walls are very THIN, can hear the TV noise from next door. If you are a light sleeper, might not be a good idea to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    106
    72
    42
    26
See reviews for
138
79
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We arrived at this hotel late at night after an amazing concert, checking in somewhere between 1-2 am. We were received by an extremely warm, friendly, kind and helpful woman named Janice at the front desk.
We were extremely amazed by her awesome customer service at such a late hour, it was so pleasant to experience when we were so tired and weary from our travels.
It truly made our brief stay at this Best Western a delight to be treated so well and if I could personally give this lady a raise I would.
The room was clean and comfortable. Our only complaint was that the check-out was at noon and we wanted to sleep in a bit later.

Ultimately though, we enjoyed our stay a lot and were very impressed with how well Janice treated us last night. Customer service like hers is rare these days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Set your bar down, it is a chain motel NOT a hotel or resort. You will not be wowed by the location and condition of this Best Western. It is not a slum but maintenance could be better, housekeeping needs to step up, and road noise is the kiss of death if you are in the the end of the property near PCH (Hwy 1.) Pluses: The nicest people in the world work here. Marina State Beach is a rock throw over the dunes - lovely place to stretch your legs and enjoy the ocean. Location makes it a good choice if you have business with CSUMB, but it's a bit of a drive into Monterey proper. If you want to save your travel budget for whiz-bang attractions and good restaurants, planning only to lie your head down after a full day this will do. But more than a couple nights here and I'd be chewing my leg off to get out of it.

Room Tip: Stay as close to the front as you can to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I had already made my reservations when my sister checked tripadvisor. You need to update your information. Location is beautiful with two short routes to walk on the beach. The room was clean and comfortable, with all the modern, expected amenities. The staff was friendly, accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Getting right to the point -

The good:

The staff was nice. The room was clean. The location is good (not great). Easy free parking.

The Bad:

This property has not been maintained. The first thing that my wife noticed about the room was the smell (cleaning solvents & disinfectants over the smell of smoke in a "non-smoking" room). The towels should have been replaced well before they reached this point. The room was clean but had a dirty look and feel about it. The landscaping needs work.

The "complimentary continental breakfast" was offered in a cramped room that was drastically smaller than needed and had a very limited selection (and was poor quality). We gave up on it as soon as we entered the lobby.

The description "across from the Beach" is not quite accurate. The "beach" is across the road and then about a quarter of a mile through the dunes. The beach is not visible from the hotel.

The room was way overpriced.

I would not stay here again or recommend it to anyone except as a last resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel is in a great location (as long as you don't need to be in Monterey proper) and has a very nice staff. However, it is not terribly clean and it needs a facelift. It was adequate, but nothing more. I realize that hotels on Monterey Bay are expensive and that this motel is going for the "value" guest (or one who can't find anything else), but it is still lacking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A motel that charges in the $170 range and with the Best Western name attached, should have a certain basic quality esthetic; this motel was lacking that.
Our room was #139, this is on the lower level. Maybe other rooms are better appointed, but ours was lacking. As has been said before, the bathrooms are small; whenever I closed the door, I bumped into the toilet! And the walls and floors are very thin; TV on one side, voices on the other, and the Boishoi ballet upstairs! Okay, I understand that this can't be fixed easily, it's a matter of how the rooms were designed to begin with but here are some points that can be improved upon:
Door frames and doors were dirty where people had handled them; the shower curtain had mold growing on the lower section; the bathroom in general needed a complete restoration; the carpet was okay, but just barely; when we returned to our room - late in the afternoon, on our second day there - the room had not been made up. When I called to complain I was told it was because we had left our "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door... quess what, we did not even have a "Do Not Disturb" sign, it was missing.
Now for the good points:
There was a manager there - I feel terrible for not getting her name - and she was terrific! Very much on the ball, the kind of person you want in the hospitality business. The breakfast was very well presented, this same manager was in charge of that. The beds were very nice, with pillow tops, probably still rather new. I see this as must for all motels and hotels due to the bed bug epidemics.
Again, I see this as Best Western dropping the ball. This motel is in a great seaside location with tons of tourist potential - of course BW could argue that they already have all the tourist they need for this location, but I am speaking in the broader scope of their reputation as a hospitality provider. I have stayed at a Motel 6 that charged less than half the price of the BW Dunes motel, but gave much better value.
Would I stay here again? If it was a second story room and cleaner, yes.
But really, in the Monterey Bay area you take what you can get for the $170 range. And I am sure that "they" know it!

Room Tip: Request a second floor corner room, in order to get as quiet a room as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn

Address: 3290 Dunes Drive, Marina, CA 93933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beach Dunes Hotel Marina
Best Western Marina
Marina Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Beach Dunes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;