We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Seaside Circle, Marina, CA 93933   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Marina
San Jose
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2006

I stayed here with my wife in November '06. I don't recall the exact number of the room, but it did overlook the lobby. Unlike previous posts, we encountered no noise problems or disruptions. In fact, we found the room to be spacious and clean. This is perhaps the best HI I've ever rented. The breakfast was also much more than we expected also.

This is a great place for a family to stay, and a great place to find an affordable option just outside of the high lodging areas of Carmel and Monterey. Just a short drive down Hwy 1 still gets you to those places, but we saved nearly $100/night by staying in Marina. i will definitely stay here in the future.

  • Liked — clean, spacious room and breakfast
  • Disliked — no disappoinments
  • Tips/Secrets — stay during off peak months
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    81
    35
    19
    16
See reviews for
86
42
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

We have stayed at this hotel for the past 3 years during the Monterey Jazz Festival in September. We decided to try this hotel after feeling overcharged for very small rooms in Monterey proper. The hotel is very clean, with nice size rooms that are only about three years old, and it is conveniently located. The walls in the rooms are a little thin, but we think this is a very solid property. Nice continental breakfast that will definitely fill you up. You are literally a 30 second drive from the beach and about 7-10 minutes from downtown Monterey.

As other's have mentioned, this is a business hotel so it is not the ideal place for a romantic getaway. All in all a very nice property that we will continue to stay in each year when we are at the jazz festival.

LA Visitors

  • Liked — Rooms are very nice, modern and reasonably priced.
  • Disliked — Thin walls in hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

This is a great place to stay in the Monterey Bay area. I stayed in room 329, it was very quiet and clean. The hotel staff is incredibly friendly. This Holiday Inn Express is just a short drive away from all of the toursit attractions that Monterey has to offer. If you are considering staying at this Holiday Inn Express, or the one in Seaside, this location is definitely cleaner, and much more quiet.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2006

My two young sons and I were on vacation when we stayed at this hotel. It was very affordable and the rooms were nice and clean. The room had a microwave and refrigerator as a part of a small kitchen type area. We had a great view of the park across the street and could see the ducks on the pond. The only downside...we were in room 315 which is right above the lobby atrium. It got loud at times. The hotel is only a 10 minute drive from Monterey, so you can still enjoy all the activities in Monterey without paying for a high priced hotel. I will definitely return!

  • Liked — spacious rooms
  • Disliked — some noise if near the lobby atrium
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a room away from the lobby
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

Having read reviews from Dec 2005 which gave warnings about some very noisy rooms, I booked our room directly from the H.I. website and asked for "a quiet room, off the main road and the breakfast area" in the "Comment" section of the reservation form ... And guess what ? We got both .

When the young man at reception desk told us our room number, this number rang a bell as being a "bad" one . I showed him our confirmation form with my comment, but he told me that the hotel was full and this was the only 5-people suite available and I should have called the hotel directly (from France ?) to secure my requirements instead of relying on the people in charge of the internet bookings . The guy was very polite and he certainly wasn't unfriendly, but he was obviously fed up because he was alone at front desk on this very busy evening, with people waiting in line to check in or whatever else and the phone ringing constantly with people asking for vacancies . Since the whole area seemed booked up, we didn't seem to have much of a choice so we decided to try our luck with that room ...
As it happens, traffic noise wasn't much of a problem (only rooms 101 to 107 are directly on the road) . But we realized a little before 6 a.m. that we were directly below the breakfast room . The noise from the tables / chairs being moved was terrible, there was no way to sleep . So I went to see the manager after breakfast . The man knew what the problem was as soon as I told him our room number : 113 . He apologized profusely and when I showed him my comment on our confirmation form he offered to reduce our rate . But I told him that, given the choice, we'd rather pay full rate and sleep well on our two last nights at this hotel, so he manage to find us another suite . He appologized again, we shook hands, and we spent the two next nights in another (very nice) suite .
The next morning I happened to meet the young guy from check-in again . He appologized as well and we started chatting for a while . He was a really nice guy . And when I told him that I was pleasantly surprised with him and his manager because I had read some reviews on Tripadvisor with strong complains about unfriendly staff, he told me that he and his manager were actually new in this H.I. Express . Good .

Now, to sum up the noisy bedrooms problem :
- rooms 101,103,105 and 107 are just a few feet away from the road
- rooms 113 (ours), 115 and 117 are directly below the breakfast
area
- room 119 is directly below kitchen (see previous review)
I don't know about other bedrooms, but looking at the rooms' "map" in a previous review, I would suggest that the safest and most simple plan is to avoid all rooms with odd numbers ranging from 101 to 123 . And don't forget to call the hotel directly to specify your room requirements !!!

Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the midwest
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2006

We always like to stay in Holiday Inn Expresses because you can count on a nice room and good service. This was the first time we had trouble with one. Our check in was unbelievable. While checking in another staff person kept interupting the clerk.
Once we got to our room 119 (AVOID AT ALL COSTS) we found ants all along the window sill. We went back down stairs only to be interupted 2 times by the same lady. The young man was clearly embarrassed by her behavior. My husband just said we would come back later. About 5 am we were rudely awaken. The kitchen is directly overhead and they began fixing breakfast. At 6 my husband went to the front desk and asked what was going on, the clerk apologized and offered to lower the rate, my husband said 1/2 price would do. They lowered the rate and again apologized. Breakfast was very nice. But overall, I would make sure you get a room that is quiet, or you will be in for a rude awaking.

  • Tips/Secrets — be specific about the room you want!!!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

I couldn't get into my other favorite Monterey hotel - Seaside - so I settled for this hotel in Marina. I was pleasantly suprised and will add to my list of places I stay in the area.

As with most HI Expresses, this is a nice business hotel. Families take note: no pool buy just a hot tub. It has a HUGE breakfast room which is nice as you have a place to spread out. There is no WiFi in the hotel, so bring your cable. The rooms were great, very comfortable with adequate lightening and the new bedding and of course - CLEAN.. A real plus!

The hotel is tucked away from Highway 1, and there isn't much around it except houses and sand dunes. You have to drive for any of your needs, but there are a number of shopping centers across from the main road.

I will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina

Address: 189 Seaside Circle, Marina, CA 93933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marina, CA!We are located on the Monterey Peninsula, just minutes from Downtown Monterey, Cannery Row and Monterey's Fisherman's Wharf. Santa Cruz, Seaside & Sand City are also nearby.Close to the natural beauty of the dunes and Marina State Beach Park, this hotel offers the guest great value and proximity to the areas world-class golf, dining, and attractions. We are a short drive to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea, 17 Mile Drive, & Pacific Grove.Our beautiful hotel features complimentary Deluxe Express Start Continental Breakfast, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, and free local phone calls. After a day of sightseeing, return to your comfortable room to relax or enjoy an invigorating work out in our fitness room or dip in our oversized hot tub. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel very soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Marina
Holiday Inn Express Marina
Holiday Inn Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.