We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average, but the room was clean.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Seaside Circle, Marina, CA 93933   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Simi Valley, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very average, but the room was clean.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Upon my arrival the desk clerk was nice but I had explicitly asked for a top floor room and she gave me a 1st floor room. She did fix it and give me a top floor. There was a place to park my 30' truck, which is very important.
The breakfast was fair. They use those prefab hockey puck type eggs. The coffee, both in room and in the breakfast room is terrible. The hallways looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in days.
Room was ok but the mattresses in my room really need replacing.....

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    80
    34
    19
    16
See reviews for
84
42
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Wheelchair user, pleased that room accommodated all my feeds throughout my stay. Have no problem saying if I come back to that part of the world again, I'll be happy to stay there. Staff very friendly, nice touch was being offered home made cookies in reception.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We put up the extra money for a junior suite, which was only $10 less than the already reserved deluxe suite, and oh boy was bad luck.

The room was about 5ft. longer than the traditional two bed hotel room. The bummer part is that it costs significantly more. Live and learn on that one.

Something I think that cannot be changed is the staff. The front desk is operated by owners son and wouldn't lift a finger if it meant going out of the way for the customer. Don't try to check in before 3 because they certainly won't help. Morning breakfast was quite a treat. All you really need is a freaking plate to collect your food, but they made it seem like you might try to take their first born.

So, bad staff and bad room equals bad experience. Pay the extra money and stay in the city you are going to be spending most of your time anyways... Monterey.

Room Tip: Get the least expensive room. The more expensive rooms are 100% the same as those half as much. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Happiestbaby,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received poor service from our staff which was unacceptable. I understand the discomfort this caused you. We will look into this. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Although this hotel is a little dated in decor, it's a great hotel to be in.
The location just off the highway means to can travel easily from here to many attractions, but also stay close for the beach.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are large and have all you would wantin them.
Breakfast is inclusive and for that is very good indeed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were actually on Fisherman's Wharf when we realized late in the evening we had not made a hotel reservation for the evening while on our two-week PCH journey. While this particular Holiday Inn Express was a little higher than our daily hotel budget, it was well worth the extra dollars. In a busy area such as this, we got the last room but it was very nice. The evening front staff person was exceptionally friendly, the hotel was very upper-scale for a Holiday Inn and our room was "roomy". The morning breakfast was excellent. Would stay here again when visiting the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed at many Holiday Inns and they are consistent. Quality is good. Front Desk was very helpful with maps and such. We stayed here rather than in Monterey due to price and the fact that our son and family were staying 2 blocks away at a condo on the beach. It was extremely convenient for us. No pool but they have a spa and sauna which we enjoyed.

The breakfasts are what you expect but I did have one quibble. We do not eat pork or beef and they served an "omelet" which had some sort of filling that I couldn't identify. Looked like it might have had ham but I could not tell. It was awful. No hard-boiled eggs either. I had hoped one day there would be cheese omelets but in 5 days, none appeared. Only one morning was there scrambled eggs that we could eat. We ate most of our breakfasts at our son's condo and the last day we went out to eat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is to hotels what Applebee's is to food. Consistent middling quality, neither great nor bad It's the kind of place about which people say, "A good place to stay ... at this price point." You open the door to your room and suddenly ... your anywhere ... or nowhere. The room was clean, the TV had 5 billion channels, the bed was OK, not a plush-aaaahhh-type bed, but comfortable enough. The under-window air conditioner/heater was a bit loud and the window was frighteningly dirty with a Jackson Pollack array of bird poop on it. The breakfast featured some sort of warm, egg-like product, sometimes accompanied by some really greasy bacon and at others, some OK sausage. There were plenty of other cold (and better) breakfast choices to chose from although bananas were the only fruit offering I saw. The coffee was blech, fortunately there is a Starbucks nearby. There was a fair amount of noise that came in off the hallway and also from the bathroom plumbing on the floor below me. I would suggest keeping your bathroom door closed at night for that reason. I stayed here on business and the wireless was unusually fast and reliable for a hotel. The front desk personnel were extremely friendly and helpful. It's in a very safe area adjacent to a nice little park and plenty of shopping choices nearby. From my room I could see (through the bird poop) the dunes in the distance but not the ocean. Would I stay there again? Probably, it doesn't have much in the way of competition.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel overlooks a small park and lake, with the dunes in the distance. Opt for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina

Address: 189 Seaside Circle, Marina, CA 93933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marina, CA!We are located on the Monterey Peninsula, just minutes from Downtown Monterey, Cannery Row and Monterey's Fisherman's Wharf. Santa Cruz, Seaside & Sand City are also nearby.Close to the natural beauty of the dunes and Marina State Beach Park, this hotel offers the guest great value and proximity to the areas world-class golf, dining, and attractions. We are a short drive to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea, 17 Mile Drive, & Pacific Grove.Our beautiful hotel features complimentary Deluxe Express Start Continental Breakfast, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, and free local phone calls. After a day of sightseeing, return to your comfortable room to relax or enjoy an invigorating work out in our fitness room or dip in our oversized hot tub. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel very soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Marina
Holiday Inn Express Marina
Holiday Inn Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.