We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable near Monterey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Seaside Circle, Marina, CA 93933   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Nevada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Affordable near Monterey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed at many Holiday Inns and they are consistent. Quality is good. Front Desk was very helpful with maps and such. We stayed here rather than in Monterey due to price and the fact that our son and family were staying 2 blocks away at a condo on the beach. It was extremely convenient for us. No pool but they have a spa and sauna which we enjoyed.

The breakfasts are what you expect but I did have one quibble. We do not eat pork or beef and they served an "omelet" which had some sort of filling that I couldn't identify. Looked like it might have had ham but I could not tell. It was awful. No hard-boiled eggs either. I had hoped one day there would be cheese omelets but in 5 days, none appeared. Only one morning was there scrambled eggs that we could eat. We ate most of our breakfasts at our son's condo and the last day we went out to eat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    79
    33
    19
    16
See reviews for
80
42
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is to hotels what Applebee's is to food. Consistent middling quality, neither great nor bad It's the kind of place about which people say, "A good place to stay ... at this price point." You open the door to your room and suddenly ... your anywhere ... or nowhere. The room was clean, the TV had 5 billion channels, the bed was OK, not a plush-aaaahhh-type bed, but comfortable enough. The under-window air conditioner/heater was a bit loud and the window was frighteningly dirty with a Jackson Pollack array of bird poop on it. The breakfast featured some sort of warm, egg-like product, sometimes accompanied by some really greasy bacon and at others, some OK sausage. There were plenty of other cold (and better) breakfast choices to chose from although bananas were the only fruit offering I saw. The coffee was blech, fortunately there is a Starbucks nearby. There was a fair amount of noise that came in off the hallway and also from the bathroom plumbing on the floor below me. I would suggest keeping your bathroom door closed at night for that reason. I stayed here on business and the wireless was unusually fast and reliable for a hotel. The front desk personnel were extremely friendly and helpful. It's in a very safe area adjacent to a nice little park and plenty of shopping choices nearby. From my room I could see (through the bird poop) the dunes in the distance but not the ocean. Would I stay there again? Probably, it doesn't have much in the way of competition.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel overlooks a small park and lake, with the dunes in the distance. Opt for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you don't need to stay in the heart of Monterey, this is an excellent affordable option. The quality of my stay was within my expectations for HIE. Despite some issues, I felt like I got good value for my overnight stay with breakfast included.

Pros:

Close to Monterey without the high prices.

Far better than the HIE in Seaside.

Uncommonly good internet speed @ 2.5 mbps.

Adequate breakfast.

Decor is relatively up to date and the facility is in decent condition.

Excellent selection of Direct TV television stations on flat screen TV of modest size.

Very good compact refrigerator and microwave in room.

Cons:

There were ten large screw holes on the walls on both sides of my room. They had the plastic inserts in them to receive the screw. The walls were wallpapered so I could understand the difficulty of a patch, but tacky nevertheless.

The window was very dirty and provided little sound insulation from a rather busy street (Reservation Rd).

The desk is too high for use with a laptop and the desk chair was horrible.

The bed was little on the soft side.

The TV could not be viewed from the desk.

CFL lighting throughout the room was just adequate, not especially well lit.

No paper towels for the wet bar area.

Hair dryer was really cheap.

Summary: For me, the pros outweigh the cons for what I paid for the room. I would stay here again if I got a room that is not facing the street. My only encounter with staff was the desk clerk who was friendly and helpful. The person who maintained the breakfast area in the morning seemed to be doing a good job.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face Reservation Road for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just got back from this hotel and have no complaints. Upon ck in we were greeted by Anna who went out of her way to get us an early ck in on the 3rd floor. Once we settled in room she also helped us plan out our day by giving names of restaurants and places to go along with maps I stayed across the street at comfort inn the service there was a joke. The rooms were clean and roomy fridge and micro too. Breakfast better than a continental eggs waffles pancakes muffins yougurt cinnamon rolls etc. I would come back again just for the service alone Thank you Anna at service desk for ur pleasant attitude and great service.

Room Tip: We got a room away from street just incase rooms near the street were loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our two queen-bed room was spacious and very clean. Location is good, with a Walmart in walking distance and other fast-food eateries within a couple of blocks of the hotel. The free Wi-Fi is always a plus. I've never stayed at a HIE before but will possibly stay here again if I can get a better rate than I did on this trip. Unlike the other reviewers that have rated this hotel, I don't think the room rate I got was as affordable as I would have liked. But it was definitely the rate that the other nearby hotels of the same quality were offering during the same time period. So I don't know if it was just a busy & popular week that brought the price up. Breakfast was adequate - but please HIE: make your coffee stronger.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The check-in was slick and friendly, the rooms were fairly spacious and very clean. The TV had too many channels!! The location was excellent being very close to the beach and a short drive to Monterey where the Hotels are overpriced! I knew what to expect from HI Express and this Hotel didn't disappoint. Got a great deal for the room on Hot-wire too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I am writing this review only to inform you of HIE's policy to not have shower mats in the rooms as I managed to slip and split open my elbow, crack my knee and and bruise my shin. The tubs are very very slippery so be careful and ask for a mat when you check in.

I do think there are a few attention to details they need to address. Most of the plants in front of the hotel were dead or dying and there was plenty of street noise. The breakfast was very good and the hotel is about 1/2 mile from a very nice clean and uncrowded beach. Definitely a lot cheaper than staying in Monterey.

Room Tip: Stay away from 301, 201, etc as they are right on the street and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina

Address: 189 Seaside Circle, Marina, CA 93933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marina, CA!We are located on the Monterey Peninsula, just minutes from Downtown Monterey, Cannery Row and Monterey's Fisherman's Wharf. Santa Cruz, Seaside & Sand City are also nearby.Close to the natural beauty of the dunes and Marina State Beach Park, this hotel offers the guest great value and proximity to the areas world-class golf, dining, and attractions. We are a short drive to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea, 17 Mile Drive, & Pacific Grove.Our beautiful hotel features complimentary Deluxe Express Start Continental Breakfast, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, and free local phone calls. After a day of sightseeing, return to your comfortable room to relax or enjoy an invigorating work out in our fitness room or dip in our oversized hot tub. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel very soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Marina
Holiday Inn Express Marina
Holiday Inn Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.