We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, we'll be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Seaside Circle, Marina, CA 93933   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, we'll be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for two nights to visit Monterey area. Great hotel akward design the first floor is in the basement. Anyway we have a pleasant stay. Complementary parking, Wifi and hot breakfast buffet. I stay in a double room with my husband and two kids. Room was clean and comfortable. There is a Denny's and a Seven Eleven nearby. One night we have dinner at Michael's Taqueria there burritos are huge and very tasty. I gave it four because my room was close to the road and you can hear the traffic... Next time I'll request a room away from the road.

Room Tip: Check the Holiday Express web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    85
    36
    19
    17
See reviews for
90
46
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salina, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We asked for an upgrade in rooms, but when we got to the new room there was loud and drunk neighbors. The front desk said they'd talk to them but we decided just to change rooms and the lady was very understanding! All of the staff was very respectful to all the loud kids, including mine! The beach really isn't far and it is a very quiet location. I'd love to come back and stay there!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocklin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

when we arrived the front desk said our room would be ready in a few minutes. we were not late. we had reserved a room on the top floor. but ended up with a room level with the parking lot. Front desk girl was very rude and acted as if we were bothering her. We figured on using the pool/spa at least once.when we got there a note on the desk said pool closed. upon inspection of the area we found the reason why. pigeons were roosting in the pool area and pooping everywhere. IT HAD BEEN CLOSED BY THE COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT. Beds were very lumpy and the pillows seem to be made of chopped up foam used for stuffed toys. In the morning while using the blowdryer it burned up .so the one forgiving point .the front desk girl opened the room next door so my wife could dry her hair . I guess i was disappointed that the name hilton was on this motel. i would try another one but not this one again

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMontereyBay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
We have not had our pool closed by the Health Department ever. Also, we are not a Hilton like this review states and we do not have interior corridors on any of our floors. I believe you may have posted this in error.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband and I arrived here last week at 11:45am and though check-in was not until 3pm, we were allowed to check in early which was good since my husband was in agony was back/hip/leg pain! The only room available was a handicapped accessible one and we gladly took it! Rm. 302 was at the end of a LONG hallway from the elevator and freezing when we entered! THE WINDOW HAD BEEN LEFT OPEN and it was overcast and windy outside at that time. The two queen beds did not have the new pillow-top style mattress and needed swapping out, but we made do. The bathroom was (of course since handicapped) huge, yet had NO counter top space!!! The shower head was on a "ball socket" type thing and lower than most shower heads as to accomodate a handicapped person. It kept falling over against the wall! The desk was okay, but had only one rigid type chair and it wasn't on wheels! That was the ONLY chair in the room.
The microwave was on top of the dorm size refrigerator and NOT bolted down so you had to be careful and hold the top of the microwave down when opening or closing the door or it would slid off and into the wall! The coffee pot was on the long area beside the t.v. etagere and you had to basically squat/stoop low to use it! Didn't like that at all. Breakfast was pretty good; sausage one day and bacon the next, also eggs, gravy, biscuits, HIE's delicious cinnamon rolls, assorted breads and bagels, cereals, milk, juices, coffee, fresh fruits. No tip jar so we just handed the money to the attendant because it was kept clean and well stocked.

We decided to stay another day the next morning and requested a NON-Handicapped room and just had to move across the hallway to Rm. 303! Much nicer bathroom countertop space and a heavenly wonderful shower! Mattresses still needed changed out for new pillowtop style and the microwave still needed bolted down for safety purposes and the coffee still on a low piece of furniture!

We had stayed here in 2009 and enjoyed it due to its proximity to Monterey and Pacific Grove and even Big Sur. The staff was incredible then and again this last visit. If we go back, we would definitely overlook the rooms because of affordable price of $99 per night and the great staff!

My husband could have used the jacuzzi for his back while there, but it was closed til further notice.

Oh, cookies were served the 2nd day we were there, but not the 1st day! We always look forward to that! ha ha

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We were looking for a hotel that was close to Laguna Seca Raceway for the Sea Otter Classic. This is not as close as I thought it was but the price was good. The hotel is clean and quiet. The rooms are very basic, fridge, coffee maker, and quiet. Breakfast is provided which consists of eggs resembling an omlette, and bacon, sausage, and cereals along with coffee. It'll do in a pinch and hold you for a while. The staff was so-so, they really seemed disconnected when we checked in, but did their job. Overall, if you need a hotel and don't mind driving 30 or so min into Monterey then this hotel will do. Oh, and there isn't very many good places to eat around the hotel with the exception of Francisco's about two miles away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Not the best Holiday Inn I have stayed in but it was ok. We found the most amazing bagel place in Marina, I only went in for coffee, as it didn't look that nice. But we still dream about those bagels!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

The location we appreciated, because we were in the area for a variety of activities and locations on a Friday - Sunday.

As soon as we checked in on Friday night we saw the sign right by "spa out of order for maintenance" and wondered how long this had been there. Seemingly longer than just our stay, though they brag about this sauna prodigiously on their website. Would have been nice to find out at time of booking rather than check-in.

We finished checking in and got comfortable in our room and after surveying the surroundings and putting our luggage away noticed our room was reasonably clean with the exception of about 8-10 six-inch long black hairs all over the bathroom. This included hairs on top of 2 of the 3 clean towels next to the sink in our room! Gross! Other than that, bathroom and shower, plus the free toiletries were fine.

Bed was not super comfortable but adequate. There was no blanket, and the top sheet only went up 2/3rds of the way, which was a problem for me and probably most people unless you're super short and slide down to get under the covers!! Pillows were good, 2 firm and 2 soft on the king size bed. The main curtains do not close - only the thin white fabric of the sub-curtains provides a slight bit of shade. This is not conducive to sleep past sunrise and doesn't help to keep out any noise!! Room was not overly quiet, as we heard basically everything around us (footsteps, doors, etc). Could also hear a minor bit of noise from the highway our window was facing. Would request a 3rd floor room if possible. At one point during the night I actually heard our neighbor's toilet flush, just to give some perspective! On the plus side, heat and A/C in the room worked pretty good.

TV was fine, with HBO and Showtime plus Pay Per View. Fridge in the room is a plus. Desk in the room if you need it, but the hotel lounge is also available. Ice and vending machines nearby, plus there is a Wal mart approximately 100 yds from the hotel for any other needs. There is a steam iron and ironing board in the room, however the iron was such a piece of junk that it constantly leaked water all over the place when I tried to use it to iron my shirt and pants. It also left a strange blotty stain on my dark colored shirt, not something I was hoping to have while I wore this for a formal event! Also a laundry room in the hotel, which I didn't use, but it was available.

Staff was OK. There were 3 different women working the front desk while we were there. Unfortunately the one that checked us in and out was the least pleasant by a scale of about 10x. Didn't deal with the housekeeping so no comment there. The folks servicing the daily breakfast spread were fairly attentive to replenishing food. Got a newspaper during our stay. Free internet works very well, just be sure to login by accepting their terms every 24 hours. A plus, but the same as I'd expected, and one of our reasons for us staying here. The hot and cold food was good for a complimentary breakfast each day, saved us time and better than most business type hotels with their usual cold cereal or muffins. The lounge was a decent place to sit and get out of the room and/or watch some tv on a larger screen if you don't mind a little bit less privacy while doing so. Close, free parking at the hotel was never a problem.

Probably wouldn't stay again unless it was the only choice that had rooms for a specific date for under $200, despite being a member of their rewards program and staying at their sister hotels with some regularity. The room comfort made our short 2-night stay almost unbearable part of the time. Fortunately we were only at the hotel for an average of 8-9 hours a day. Fine if you just need a place to crash for one night, especially if you have an early wake up call the next day. But definitely would not stay here more than 2 nights under any circumstance.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina

Address: 189 Seaside Circle, Marina, CA 93933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marina, CA!We are located on the Monterey Peninsula, just minutes from Downtown Monterey, Cannery Row and Monterey's Fisherman's Wharf. Santa Cruz, Seaside & Sand City are also nearby.Close to the natural beauty of the dunes and Marina State Beach Park, this hotel offers the guest great value and proximity to the areas world-class golf, dining, and attractions. We are a short drive to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea, 17 Mile Drive, & Pacific Grove.Our beautiful hotel features complimentary Deluxe Express Start Continental Breakfast, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, and free local phone calls. After a day of sightseeing, return to your comfortable room to relax or enjoy an invigorating work out in our fitness room or dip in our oversized hot tub. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel very soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Marina
Holiday Inn Express Marina
Holiday Inn Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.