We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GROSS!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3280 Dunes Dr, Marina, CA 93933-2005 (Formerly Super 8)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Marina
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GROSS!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This place is filthy inside and out. The bed had been made up to look done, but had old stains, with hair, sheets. There was garbage rotting in the coffee maker. It took hours of being on hold repeatedly before Comfort Inn refunded us. They never said "Sorry" and never even responded to the emails. This whole Motel chain has definitely slipped. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    27
    26
    32
See reviews for
40
45
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barstow, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Cigarette butts and floss picks litter the outside grounds. The room itself had old coffee in the carafe, garbage in the ice container and the bed had been made up with the previous sheets. GROSS! Hairs and stains on the bed sheets! Cops there in the morning for unknown reasons. RUN do not walk from this motel. Motel 6's are way better than this place. RUN RUN RUN.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Price gouged because of the motorcyle rally (didnt realize there was one) normaly a hundred dollar room and ended up paying 250 because this was the only hotel left. The room was ratty and run down carpet ripping up and the bath room door looked like it had been broken in half and glued back together, internet usage was none existant. I found trash under our beds that was from someone else, broken elect sockets and fire hazard lamps. When I read that there was laundry facilities I didnt realize that ment 1 washer and 1 dryer (2 dollars a piece to run btw) the water was turned almost off and when I can back almost and hour later it hadn't even filled the washer up. I did like the selection for breakfast but the room where its served is very small and hot. Front desk people are not that friendly or helpfull.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Overall, friendly staff and decent (basic) ammenities. Considering the pricing on hotels close by, this was a steal. Just over the dunes from the water and just off of the PCH. Good late-night last minute find. Only set back was the breakfast....it was in a very crowded converted guest room. Yummy donuts, but very hard to get to them.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Do yourself a favor and keep driving. The room shown is NOT the room we got. Walk In closets are bigger. We thought we would make the best of it , get a good nights sleep and catch up on some laundry that accumulated on our 14 day vacation. Didn't happen. The washer and dryer should have been replaced 10 years ago. Massive amounts of hair were found in my bed. Apologies and new linen were given but it should have never been an issue. Never again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prospect ny
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

have stayed here for years starting in april 2005, the managers,past and present,david, then aaron have been great. best hot tub ever been in, quiet, across from lovely dunes, and what used to be a.j. spurs, now is kula ranch. nice place, if i could, i'd live in one of the suites...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend trip to that area for the AT&T Pro/Am and some leisure time. Skeptical about the two star "rating" I booked the weekend anyways for the price, as of everything else in town had extreme inflated prices due to the tournament. Immediately as of checking in the front desk clerk, (starts with a H, Herim?) was extremely welcoming and helpful to find a great local restaurant (which Kula Lodge across the street--AMAZING and fun atmosphere, btw).
Our room was very clean, I even enjoyed a long, relaxing, bath; something I usually stray away from in some hotel bathtubs. The breakfast was decent. lots of carbs! but that's usually what I expect from complimentary hotel breakfasts.
Overall, we had a great stay. The staff was accommodating and warm. Locals & location, perfect. And comfortably clean. we'd stay here again :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes

Address: 3280 Dunes Dr, Marina, CA 93933-2005 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes Hotel Marina
Quality Inn Marina
Marina Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Monterey Beach Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.