We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skeptical? Don't be! It's fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sanctuary Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3295 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Skeptical? Don't be! It's fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

THE GOOD:
Stayed October 1 - October 4th in room 603 deluxe - oceanfront. When checking in we were assigned a golf cart - which is a lot of fun. Room was small but clean and modern looking. Good size bathroom with two sinks, separate toilet area and large closet. Tub / Shower combination. Small wet bar area that includes a small fridge, microwave, and sink. Fireplace is great and a wonderful way to warm the room on a cold night/cold morning.

The good part...the view. GET AN OCEANFRONT ROOM. It was beautiful. We slept with the doors open every night and listened to the waves. It was perfect. We could also watch the whales right in front of our room! Not many places where you can see that.

THE OK:
The bed - many said the beds were wonderful but ours was just ok. There was a big dent in the middle and kinda went up on an angle. The pillows were very large. (we asked for smaller pillows and they accommodated us)

As mentioned our room was small - you'll need to stay organized or else you'll be tripping over stuff.

There is no quality restaurant or breakfast onsite. The Hula Grill is there but I would equate this to an Applebee's type restaurant. We had dinner there the first night b/c it was convenient and it was ok. I would not return. They do not serve breakfast. We went into town and ate at McDonalds and Dennys.

All in all, this place is fabulous and we would definitely stay again. (we're already thinking of our next trip). It's far enough away from the main sites without being a too far to make it a pain to get to and from.

I read all the reviews on TA before booking and was skeptical based on some; as mentioned above don't be. This place is a nice, quiet, beautiful getaway that's also reasonably priced. Highly recommended by this couple.

Room Tip: Get an Oceanfront room! Room 603 is right in front of the fire pit which we didn't care for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for trying us out and liking the place while you were at it! Your comments are most certainly appreciated. A tip for your next stay… Feel free to ask the front desk for some good local dining options. We all have our favorites. We’ll hopefully see you soon for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    175
    51
    50
    25
See reviews for
123
335
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
turlock, cali
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in Suite 610 which was oceanfront. The views were fantastic. These units are part of a Worldmark by Wyndham timeshare place although we booked our stay ourselves, not as owners of a timeshare. You are given a golf cart during your stay (if you have a room oceanfront) to drive to pool and restaurant or back to your car. Easy beach access. The rooms were nice, clean, and had daily maid service, room safe, robes, microwave, Keurig coffee maker, mini-frig. We had a couples massage while there...just average. Our bed should have been replaced already although not uncomfortable, but depressions evident. So many whales, dolphins, sea birds to watch. This is about 10 minutes to Monterey, 30 minutes to Carmel, but for the price the location is great. Close to Bayonet and Black Horse for golf. Restaurant on site (Hula's) was good (not great but convenient if you didn't want to leave the complex)...sushi and basic steak stuff. The view was worth the inconvenience of not being in the heart of Monterey.

Room Tip: Any 600 - 700 units are ocean front I believe. Suites have sitting area and are worth the extra cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Awesome pictures!!! Thanks for leaving us a great review about your stay. I can’t tell you how happy all this marine life activity has made all of us and I know it’s a treat for the guests! Just wanted to let you and our future travelers know that the resort and timeshare are separate operations. The room you stayed in was part of the resort, and the timeshare rooms designed a bit differently, are situated right behind ours. We look forward to having you come back! See you soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We discovered this hotel by accident two years ago and it's only now that we decided to stay there. Oh! how much we have missed. We could only stay one night and wish we could have stayed the whole weekend but it was sold out. We will be back for at least two or three days. Furthermore we have friends who have a timeshare in the timeshare part of the resort and we will be back with them, too. There are 5 categories for the hotel: partial view deluxe and jr suite, ocean view deluxe and jr suite and oceanfront deluxe and jr suite. We had an oceanfront deluxe room (705 upstairs). Ocean front is the way to go so you are right there on the beach. We left the window open at night and we could hear the waves right there practically at our feet. Very romantic!
We did not try the on-site restaurant (Kula) because I am not into island style cuisine. I can't say anything about it. I will list now what the pros and cons of the place are:
PROS:
property is on the beach and isolated from the world allowing for a true retreat
Property is super clean and well taken care of; we could see maintenance people working to fix things.
Employees are friendly, helpful and service-oriented. For example, our coffee maker by Keurig was broken and within 10 minutes someone came to replace it with a new unit. The bellman explained how everything worked in details and he brought us Keurig size hot chocolate cup for the coffee maker when we told him we did not drink tea or coffee. One of the maids helped up roll up the curtains of our golf cart (you get a golf cart to go around the grounds). The front desk employees could be a little more warm and less robotic, but they are professional. The reservation agent on the phone was very friendly.
Large swimming pool and jacuzzi: all clean with well-maintained area. Pool and beach towels provided in room.
The room is clean and cozy, it's nice to have a fireplace. The view from the deck was wonderful. The bed was so comfortable it felt like I was at home. The bathroom has what one needs and the bathrobes add a touch of class. Lots of towels.
We liked having a safe and free wireless.
It was a nice touch to have a welcome bottle of wine although we don't drink wine. Still a kind thought.

CONS:
Not enough hangers in the closet.
What is it with the extra big closet in the bathroom with a tiny dresser and no clothes bar to hang clothes?
No counter space in the bathroom, not comfortable to put all of our toiletries and kits. The big closet could have been used to make a dressing area for make up, etc.
I like shower gel better than soap.
No night stand, just a tiny, tiny shelf with just enough space for put a small water bottle and my smart phone. My husband pulled the table that was by the window where the wine had been place to make it his night stand.
We were able to secure a late check-out for 1pm instead of noon. Ridiculous policy of charging $50 for each minute of late checkout after 1pm. We have traveled to many places and gotten late check out everywhere in the world. No one has charged us more because we showed up at the front desk at 1:10 instead of 1 pm. As long as you are out of the unit by the time indicated you should not feel stressed that you are going to be charged $50 because you show up at the desk to check out at 1:01. It did not happen to us because we checked out at 12:59, but it did make us a little stressed. I would change that to be a bit more liberal to avoid abuse but not make the guest stressed about it.

We really enjoyed our stay: it was a peaceful retreat where we saw whales in the morning, walked on the beach in the sunset, took advantage of the bonfire (smores kit sold in front) and maximize our romantic escape. We will be back and we will stay much longer.

Room Tip: Make sure to get ocean front starting with room 602/702 to 612/712. 711 seemed to be the best. We we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for leaving such a positive and informative review of our property. It’s certain that when future travelers read your review, they will undoubtedly benefit from the plethora of information you provided. I always love the Pros & Cons format of reviews because it allows me to hone in on those aspects of the resort that were less than spectacular and address each one as best I can.

One comment on the late check-out policy: We do not charge $50 for every minute a guest is late beyond the agreed upon time, but rather a one-time charge. Our Property Management System alerts us to those rooms that are late and the Front Desk staff will give a courtesy call to those rooms to offer luggage assistance. We aren’t trying to rush our guests; however we have expectations of the guests coming in to have their room ready by the guaranteed check-in time.

Thanks again for staying and taking the time to write about us. We sincerely hope to see you again soon and I will work on rectifying the issues you pointed out to the best of my ability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I'm afraid to give this place a high rating, for fear of it becoming too well known! I was looking for a quiet place to unwind, and I couldn't have asked for anything more. My beachfront junior suite gave me an amazing view of the water. From my porch, I watched whales, seals, porpoises, and hang gliders. The beach was an easy walk down a path close to my room, and pets are welcome on the non-State-Park side. The restaurant was good, and my waitress was very attentive. So was the hotel staff; they were very quick to deliver some extras when I requested them. The one thing that would make this perfect is a patch of grass for dogs. On the few grassy areas (which are not owned by this hotel), there are signs specifically prohibiting pets. Other than having to relieve herself on sand, my dog had a wonderful time, and so did I.

Room Tip: The junior suite is really just a bigger room, but it's worth it. Spring for an ocean front room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
I’m so happy you gave us a great rating despite not wanting to ruin the secret!!! It’s obvious from your review that you had a stellar time with all that marine life giving you a front row show!
The next time you’re here, ask the front desk for information regarding pet-relief areas. We have several stations around the resort where there are bags and trash cans to dispose of waste. We look forward to seeing you and your furry one again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This resort was truly a bit of heaven! We recently had the privilege of spending four nights here in Suite 601. Our junior suite was on the main floor right on and by a large dune and had unobstructed views of Monterey Bay and the gorgeous dunes. While having coffee on our small deck the first morning, we spotted porpoises and seals playing in the ocean just off the shore. Access to the private beach, which adjoins the State beach, was just a short walk away. The beach was never very crowded and one could walk for miles along the shore. Views of the sunsets from here were beautiful and having a bonfire lit just before sunset every evening was a nice touch.

Our bright (lots of windows), clean and well maintained suite was well appointed with nice furniture, wet bar, good size sitting and bedroom areas, large desk (on which we were able to place two fully opened suitcases) and large bathroom. There was also plenty of cupboard space. The sitting area had a fireplace which we used to take the morning/evening chill out of the air. Amenities included binoculars, bath robes, two large flat screen televisions, safe, iron with board, coffee machine (which, unfortunately, made terrible coffee) and nightly turndown service.

We had very peaceful sleeps as the resort’s policy was no noise after ten o’clock. The only sounds we could hear were that of the ocean and the occasional thump from our upstairs neighbor. Our king size bed was oh so comfortable, with luxurious pillows and linens. The bed was so cozy I looked forward to bedtime and resented getting out of it each morning.

The bathroom was a good size with two sinks, tub with shower and a separate area for shower stall and toilet. The towels were plush and plentiful and the bath amenities quite nice.

The resort itself does not have a restaurant, but one could order in-room. We took advantage of the breakfasts. These were delivered promptly each morning and included lots of good coffee, a broad selection of fresh fruit, baked goods, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereals and juices and there was always something left over for a snack during the day. For dinner, the Kula Ranch Island Grill & Sushi Bar located next to the resort (walking or golf cart distance) was a good choice, or you could drive into Marina proper. As well, Monterey and Carmel were about a thirty and twenty minute drive respectively.

We both attended the resort’s spa for facials. The estheticians were knowledgeable and friendly and we both enjoyed a very calming experience.

The resort staff was very friendly, courteous and most helpful.

I cannot say enough about our experience here. I would definitely return and would highly recommend the resort to both family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Wow, nobody could have said it better. It was such a delight to read that you had an absolutely heavenly time! From our near-empty beach, great for a solitary beachfront experience; to the Kula Ranch's yummy sushi options; it sounds like you experienced the best of what we have to offer.

It must be noted, I cannot count on fingers and toes how many guests are checking out extra happy these past few weeks as a result of the marine show happening right outside their windows! Thanks to a whale migration and our Indian summer weather, folks are seeing more dolphins and whales than they have all year!

We look forward to having you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed at the Sanctuary for 2 nights - celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We had come from a whirlwind stay in San Francisco and Napa. This resort was the perfect ending. I had booked the Ocean Front Deluxe room- we stayed in room 711-Deluxe. It was wonderful. 2nd floor, direct beach front views-no obstructions what so ever. Worth the extra money for the views. Every day we were mesmerized by the whales in the bay right in front of us, and the resort supplies binoculars in your room, to help with the viewing. At night we slept with our door open to hear the ocean as we slept. We ordered breakfast one morning and a basket is delivered to your door, very nice touch. The location is very peaceful, but close enough to Monterey, if you want to go there.
The restaurant on the site is ok, We went one night since they gave us a coupon-the coupon says one drink for free OR a free appetizer with a meal purchase. We decided to just get the free drink and a couple of appetizers. The waiter informed us that we could not have the free drink unless we ordered a meal-not what the coupon says. oh well.
Overall the value was very good. Compared to a same price hotel in Napa-this hotel far exceeded! Enjoy your stay if you go!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Glad to read you had a fantastic time! While all of our ocean front rooms provide exemplary views of the water, some of the upper floor rooms bring a whole new level to it! Personally I'll always choose one of the single-story units... but to each his or her own :-)

We'll look forward to seeing you again. No need to wait till your 26th anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This resort is located right on the beach. Just a short walk from our junior suite and we were on the private beach. This was a girls weekend for us, and we all left feeling relaxed. Customer service was top notch. Asked for extra towels, blankets and pillows and received them with no fuss and quickly. Bell boys were efficient and gracious. The suite was very clean except the floor was a little dirty. The bed was extremely comfortable -- loved it! We all enjoyed dinner at Kuna restaurant, located on the premises. The downside is that they do not serve breakfast, so we had to go into town and restaurants are limited in Marina. Thank goodness for Tico's and Starbuck's. The resort's location is convenient as it's right off the freeway, so just a short hop to get to Monterey/Carmel.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks for the positive review! I'm glad you and the rest of the girls had a relaxing and enjoyable time. We pride ourselves on offering up the best possible customer service and we're glad you noticed. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Beach Resort

Address: 3295 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanctuary Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sanctuary Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Beach Hotel Marina
Sanctuary Beach Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.