We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the sand dunes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sanctuary Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanctuary Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3295 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Marina
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A gem in the sand dunes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for only one night when travelling through the coast. We found this hotel to be a great find! Our room was spotless and very cozy. The bathroom is insanely large and comes with nice bathrobes. The fireplace was a great value as it was cool during the night. The bed was plush and comfortable.

You are driven to your room in your own little golf cart that you can subsequently take to explore the resort. I enjoyed driving it around (although you could easily walk). The beach access is nice and it was pleasant just to sit and listen to the waves. We had a partial ocean view - if we had stayed longer, it would be worth getting a full view.

We had the breakfast option - VERY cute how they deliver your food to your room in a little picnic basket. Well worth the 10$/pp as the food was pretty decent. Each room has a Keurig machine for coffee, which is also nice.

I would definately stay here again. Nice, cozy and romantic spot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am so glad you happened to find us for your one night stay through your coastal trip. The breakfast here is very convenient and a nice easy way to get the morning started. I am glad it was to your liking. I really appreciated the photos you took of the resort as well! Feel free to give us a call next time you need a night away and are in the area!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    162
    50
    49
    25
See reviews for
112
314
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hills, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful 3-day getaway to celebrate our 10th anniversary at this beautiful gem of a resort. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. When we arrived, we were received with a warm welcome and a scenic room equipped with a cozy fireplace, a bottle of wine, a smores kit, a relaxing living area and a comfy bed. They also had a wine tasting when we were checking in which was a nice touch! We could have easily stayed in the room the entire stay, but couldn't resist to venture out and take in all of the beautiful sites nearby. If you choose not to drive off of the property, you are steps away from the most breathtaking coastline around. We would come back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your great review and kind words regarding our staff. One of guest’s favorite things about the resort is the fact that need be, you can stay in your room the whole time and never have to leave. For those who are feeling adventurous, Monterey, Carmel, Moss Landing, and Big Sur are all a quick drive through Highway 1. Thanks again for the review!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were celebrating a birthday and an anniversary, so we decided to splurge on an ocean front deluxe room. It was worth every penny! The room was wonderful, the view was spectacular, and the staff was exceptional. We truly hope to be able to have a return stay...this property is that incredible!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much, as we really appreciate your kind words. We are all so lucky to work on a property that is situated on such a beautiful area of the California Coast. I will extend to the staff what a great job they did. I do hope you can stay here again soon! When booking through the resort direct, we offer return guest rates, so feel free to give us a call next time you are thinking of a getaway!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I visited the property 4 years ago while having dinner at Kula Ranch. We have always wanted to come back, so we decided to spend two nights to ring in 2013. We had booked a Deluxe Ocean View room, but I was disappointed in the view. I thought we would have more of an ocean view, instead we mostly had a view of the walkway to the beach. Other than that, we had a great trip. The location can't be beat. We were literally steps away from the beach, and could hear the ocean waves crashing when we left out patio door open. We went for a morning walk on the beach, and it was amazing!!! The room was cozy, though it was inconvenient not to have a bedside table. We loved the fireplace, and the bathroom is very spacious. I liked the idea of having the golf carts, and not hearing the sound of cars. This place was exactly what we were looking for. We were looking for a quiet place to relax. We will definitely be coming back to this resort. We will probably book a second level room next time. I hear the views are better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for your review! It is great you two finally got a chance to stay at our property and enjoy more than the onsite restaurant. I apologize for the fact that your room did not have a bedside table. That is an aspect of the deluxe rooms that we are currently looking for a solution to. The way we have set up the resort is to cater to those who are looking for a quiet place to getaway, and it sounds like we met your expectations there. I would like to apologize for the confusion regarding the room type. We offer 3 room types. Partial view rooms offer a mostly dunes view and partial ocean view. The main confusion lies in the difference between Ocean View & Ocean Front. Our ocean views offer beautiful views of the ocean with some partial obstruction, and the Ocean Fronts are situated directly on the front line, with nothing separating you from the water except for sand and sanctuary. For clarification on any room view or size, always feel free to contact us directly! Thanks again and we cannot wait for your return!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I met friends in the Monterey area and I really loved this hotel. The staff is very friendly. The room with the fireplace is very special along with the view of the ocean. The thing I loved most was the bed was soooooo comfortable and the pillows you melted into. Best sleep I have gotten in a long time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you had such a great trip visiting Monterey. I am so glad to hear that the bed gave you a restful night’s sleep, as relaxation and restfulness is one of guest’s main reasons in visiting our secluded resort. We do hope to see you again in the near future! Thank you again for reviewing.

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A quiet place to relax with a beautiful secluded beach walking distance on the property. Our room came with a heated fireplace, and a half bottle of wine. Coffee is complimentary in the room as well as the lobby. Be prepared to be escorted to your room in a covered golf cart. Once you are there you cannot use your car, you are assigned to a golf cart of your own. It's nice not to be surrounded by cars and hear the engines. There was an outstanding wine tasting in the lobby while we were there. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thanks for your review, and touching on all the different aspects of the property. The wine tasting is a new addition here, and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it! It has been a hit with our guests so far. The winery is here every Friday from 2:30-5:30pm, and on special event dates. Next time you’re ready for a night away, give us a call! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This has by far been the best hotel that we have stayed at ever! We came here to celebrate our honeymoon (got married on 12-12-12). We stayed in an Ocean Front Deluxe room. The views are absolutely breathtaking. We had a panoramic view of the ocean that left us speechless. The room itself was great as well. Loved having a fire place, the bathrooms were a great size, his and her sinks, and a rainfall shower head. The bed was super comfy and we felt the room was a great size. They provide a microwave and coffee pot which came in handy. You also get your very own golf cart to get around the resort in (this was my husbands favorite part, lol)which was pretty cool. The price in comparison to other hotels in the Monterrey area that offer ocean views was way lower and after staying here we will never stay anywhere else when we come to Monterrey. We did eat at the Kula Ranch Steakhouse which is the restaurant they have at the resort and we were equally satisfied with that as well. Actually more then satisfied! From the appetizers to the dessert everything was delicious!! The staff at the resort were very nice and helpful as well. This is definitely the place to come for a romantic getaway or if your looking for a place to relax! We will definitely visit again soon!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review! It sounds like you two had a truly memorable getaway. Congratulations on your marriage, as we are truly honored you chose our resort for your special occasion. It’s great to know the smaller aspects of the resort were to your liking, and things like the golf cart made an impression on your husband as well! I’m happy to hear the onsite restaurant met your expectations. I see you two are located in San Jose, just a short drive down to Marina! Next time you two need a night away, or a full weekend getaway, give us a call. We have great return guest discounts throughout the year that can continue to make your stay economical. Thanks again for your review, and we cant wait to have you back on property!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Beach Resort

Address: 3295 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanctuary Beach Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Beach Hotel Marina
Sanctuary Beach Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.