We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sanctuary Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanctuary Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3295 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Marina
Simi Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were celebrating a birthday and an anniversary, so we decided to splurge on an ocean front deluxe room. It was worth every penny! The room was wonderful, the view was spectacular, and the staff was exceptional. We truly hope to be able to have a return stay...this property is that incredible!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much, as we really appreciate your kind words. We are all so lucky to work on a property that is situated on such a beautiful area of the California Coast. I will extend to the staff what a great job they did. I do hope you can stay here again soon! When booking through the resort direct, we offer return guest rates, so feel free to give us a call next time you are thinking of a getaway!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    160
    50
    49
    25
See reviews for
108
309
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I visited the property 4 years ago while having dinner at Kula Ranch. We have always wanted to come back, so we decided to spend two nights to ring in 2013. We had booked a Deluxe Ocean View room, but I was disappointed in the view. I thought we would have more of an ocean view, instead we mostly had a view of the walkway to the beach. Other than that, we had a great trip. The location can't be beat. We were literally steps away from the beach, and could hear the ocean waves crashing when we left out patio door open. We went for a morning walk on the beach, and it was amazing!!! The room was cozy, though it was inconvenient not to have a bedside table. We loved the fireplace, and the bathroom is very spacious. I liked the idea of having the golf carts, and not hearing the sound of cars. This place was exactly what we were looking for. We were looking for a quiet place to relax. We will definitely be coming back to this resort. We will probably book a second level room next time. I hear the views are better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for your review! It is great you two finally got a chance to stay at our property and enjoy more than the onsite restaurant. I apologize for the fact that your room did not have a bedside table. That is an aspect of the deluxe rooms that we are currently looking for a solution to. The way we have set up the resort is to cater to those who are looking for a quiet place to getaway, and it sounds like we met your expectations there. I would like to apologize for the confusion regarding the room type. We offer 3 room types. Partial view rooms offer a mostly dunes view and partial ocean view. The main confusion lies in the difference between Ocean View & Ocean Front. Our ocean views offer beautiful views of the ocean with some partial obstruction, and the Ocean Fronts are situated directly on the front line, with nothing separating you from the water except for sand and sanctuary. For clarification on any room view or size, always feel free to contact us directly! Thanks again and we cannot wait for your return!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I met friends in the Monterey area and I really loved this hotel. The staff is very friendly. The room with the fireplace is very special along with the view of the ocean. The thing I loved most was the bed was soooooo comfortable and the pillows you melted into. Best sleep I have gotten in a long time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you had such a great trip visiting Monterey. I am so glad to hear that the bed gave you a restful night’s sleep, as relaxation and restfulness is one of guest’s main reasons in visiting our secluded resort. We do hope to see you again in the near future! Thank you again for reviewing.

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A quiet place to relax with a beautiful secluded beach walking distance on the property. Our room came with a heated fireplace, and a half bottle of wine. Coffee is complimentary in the room as well as the lobby. Be prepared to be escorted to your room in a covered golf cart. Once you are there you cannot use your car, you are assigned to a golf cart of your own. It's nice not to be surrounded by cars and hear the engines. There was an outstanding wine tasting in the lobby while we were there. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thanks for your review, and touching on all the different aspects of the property. The wine tasting is a new addition here, and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it! It has been a hit with our guests so far. The winery is here every Friday from 2:30-5:30pm, and on special event dates. Next time you’re ready for a night away, give us a call! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This has by far been the best hotel that we have stayed at ever! We came here to celebrate our honeymoon (got married on 12-12-12). We stayed in an Ocean Front Deluxe room. The views are absolutely breathtaking. We had a panoramic view of the ocean that left us speechless. The room itself was great as well. Loved having a fire place, the bathrooms were a great size, his and her sinks, and a rainfall shower head. The bed was super comfy and we felt the room was a great size. They provide a microwave and coffee pot which came in handy. You also get your very own golf cart to get around the resort in (this was my husbands favorite part, lol)which was pretty cool. The price in comparison to other hotels in the Monterrey area that offer ocean views was way lower and after staying here we will never stay anywhere else when we come to Monterrey. We did eat at the Kula Ranch Steakhouse which is the restaurant they have at the resort and we were equally satisfied with that as well. Actually more then satisfied! From the appetizers to the dessert everything was delicious!! The staff at the resort were very nice and helpful as well. This is definitely the place to come for a romantic getaway or if your looking for a place to relax! We will definitely visit again soon!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review! It sounds like you two had a truly memorable getaway. Congratulations on your marriage, as we are truly honored you chose our resort for your special occasion. It’s great to know the smaller aspects of the resort were to your liking, and things like the golf cart made an impression on your husband as well! I’m happy to hear the onsite restaurant met your expectations. I see you two are located in San Jose, just a short drive down to Marina! Next time you two need a night away, or a full weekend getaway, give us a call. We have great return guest discounts throughout the year that can continue to make your stay economical. Thanks again for your review, and we cant wait to have you back on property!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Unique, and what a view. Have been to this resort several times and always find it relaxing, cozy and close to other great places like Monterey, Carmel and Pebble Beach, if you choose to go off property for a few hours. We were also quite content to just sit and enjoy the incredible view while sipping a glass of wine. Very responsive and knowledgeable staff at all levels made our stay the best yet! I would recommend this resort to any discerning traveler.

Room Tip: I like being closest to the ocean, however, it is just minutes to be right there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
I must agree with you that the views from Ocean Front rooms are wonderful! I am glad to hear that you had time to both explore the different surrounding cities, and find some downtime to enjoy the ocean view and wine from your room. We always urge our guests to come talk to our Front Desk agents to assist them with finding great places in the surrounding areas, and it sounds like they exceeded your expectations on that level. I will be letting them know what a great job they did. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We loved this place! Freat semi-secluded location. The staff was friendly, excellent house keeping and nicely appointed rooms. The room we've stayed in (610S) had an exceptional view. I recommend viewing their website before booking. This is not a typical hotel. Rooms are located in duplex cottages on the beach which are well spaced on a brick street. Each room has it's own golf cart to use around the complex. (Our room was 1/4 mile from the office.

Room Tip: Views vary. We saw one room with a huge dune in front of the front patio. We stayed in 610S and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to leave a review of the resort. I am glad you enjoyed the view from 610, as our Ocean Front rooms are great options for those who enjoy being close to the water with a bit more privacy. I do see you noticed other rooms that had larger dunes in front of them. These would be classified as Ocean View, which is our middle grade view. I am glad to hear your encounters with different staff members were very friendly. Let us know next time you are in the area, as we would love to have you back!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanctuary Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Beach Resort

Address: 3295 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanctuary Beach Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Beach Hotel Marina
Sanctuary Beach Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.