We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To say we Loved it, is an understatement!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sanctuary Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanctuary Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3295 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933 (Formerly Marina Dunes Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Marina
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“To say we Loved it, is an understatement!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This has by far been the best hotel that we have stayed at ever! We came here to celebrate our honeymoon (got married on 12-12-12). We stayed in an Ocean Front Deluxe room. The views are absolutely breathtaking. We had a panoramic view of the ocean that left us speechless. The room itself was great as well. Loved having a fire place, the bathrooms were a great size, his and her sinks, and a rainfall shower head. The bed was super comfy and we felt the room was a great size. They provide a microwave and coffee pot which came in handy. You also get your very own golf cart to get around the resort in (this was my husbands favorite part, lol)which was pretty cool. The price in comparison to other hotels in the Monterrey area that offer ocean views was way lower and after staying here we will never stay anywhere else when we come to Monterrey. We did eat at the Kula Ranch Steakhouse which is the restaurant they have at the resort and we were equally satisfied with that as well. Actually more then satisfied! From the appetizers to the dessert everything was delicious!! The staff at the resort were very nice and helpful as well. This is definitely the place to come for a romantic getaway or if your looking for a place to relax! We will definitely visit again soon!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review! It sounds like you two had a truly memorable getaway. Congratulations on your marriage, as we are truly honored you chose our resort for your special occasion. It’s great to know the smaller aspects of the resort were to your liking, and things like the golf cart made an impression on your husband as well! I’m happy to hear the onsite restaurant met your expectations. I see you two are located in San Jose, just a short drive down to Marina! Next time you two need a night away, or a full weekend getaway, give us a call. We have great return guest discounts throughout the year that can continue to make your stay economical. Thanks again for your review, and we cant wait to have you back on property!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    163
    50
    50
    25
See reviews for
104
306
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Unique, and what a view. Have been to this resort several times and always find it relaxing, cozy and close to other great places like Monterey, Carmel and Pebble Beach, if you choose to go off property for a few hours. We were also quite content to just sit and enjoy the incredible view while sipping a glass of wine. Very responsive and knowledgeable staff at all levels made our stay the best yet! I would recommend this resort to any discerning traveler.

Room Tip: I like being closest to the ocean, however, it is just minutes to be right there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
I must agree with you that the views from Ocean Front rooms are wonderful! I am glad to hear that you had time to both explore the different surrounding cities, and find some downtime to enjoy the ocean view and wine from your room. We always urge our guests to come talk to our Front Desk agents to assist them with finding great places in the surrounding areas, and it sounds like they exceeded your expectations on that level. I will be letting them know what a great job they did. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We loved this place! Freat semi-secluded location. The staff was friendly, excellent house keeping and nicely appointed rooms. The room we've stayed in (610S) had an exceptional view. I recommend viewing their website before booking. This is not a typical hotel. Rooms are located in duplex cottages on the beach which are well spaced on a brick street. Each room has it's own golf cart to use around the complex. (Our room was 1/4 mile from the office.

Room Tip: Views vary. We saw one room with a huge dune in front of the front patio. We stayed in 610S and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to leave a review of the resort. I am glad you enjoyed the view from 610, as our Ocean Front rooms are great options for those who enjoy being close to the water with a bit more privacy. I do see you noticed other rooms that had larger dunes in front of them. These would be classified as Ocean View, which is our middle grade view. I am glad to hear your encounters with different staff members were very friendly. Let us know next time you are in the area, as we would love to have you back!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What a great little secret!!!! We stayed in an Ocean Front deluxe room. The room was great, decorated beautifully, large bathroom, nice wet bar, great patio and a spectacular view of the beach and ocean. Easy access to the beach, we headed north walking on the beach and practically had the beach all to ourselves. The beach was beautiful, very clean and tons of shells and sand dollars. Our dog loved being able to run free. The Patio off the room was great for enjoying the views and listening to the breaking waves. We sat on the patio every evening, had cocktails and watched the sunset. There are no automobiles allowed on the hotel grounds and each room has their own golf cart. We ordered room service from the Hula restaurant and both of us were disappointed, I had the Ribeye and my husband had the primerib. The hotel staff was always very accomodating. We have been visiting the Monterey area 3 or 4 times a year for at least 10 years and except for the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa, I have to say this is my favorite. We will most likely stay here from now on.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 613D, the suite next to us also look good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
It's great to hear what a wonderful time your family had here! Wintertime, although a slower season, can be a great time to travel due to the fact the resort isn't at full occupancy, the peninsula is less crowded, and the beaches feel almost deserted. I am very sorry to hear that your experience at Kula Ranch was not to your liking, and I will be passing along the message to their restaurant manager. Next time your family stays with us, feel free to take full advantage of our concierge service. Many of our agents here have pets themselves, and we have put together a comprehensive list of restaurants in the area that provide great tasting food, wonderful service, and welcome pets as much as they do people! I am glad to see every other aspect of your stay exceeded your expectations, and we are looking forward to seeing you in the future. Thanks for taking time to leave such a great review of the resort!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sterling, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a family reunion at this resort and stayed in 4 units for 3 nights. This could be a near perfect resort if management took better care of the property. The resort sits above the ocean on sand dunes, includes a restaurant, and each unit has direct views. The units needed repair and cosmetic work on the outside. This was brought to management's attention. The resort is 7 miles from Monterey and close to Carmel and the airport. It's definately a place to get away but on the pricey side. The downstairs units are very noisy from upstairs foot traffic. If you can do steps stay upstairs.

Room Tip: Take an upstairs room if you can do the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate the fact that you let our management team know there were parts of your stay that you felt were less than satisfactory. The weather conditions as well as our close proximity to the beach sometimes make it difficult to have the exterior of our units in as excellent condition as we do the interior. Throughout the year we consistently update and maintain our rooms, and I do apologize that you felt our efforts fell short of your expectations. When it comes to upstairs traffic, I urge you to contact the front desk if you ever find a neighbors noise is causing you discomfort throughout your stay. We are always quick to ensure everyone is able to have a relaxing stay. Again, thank you for your review, and we hope to see you in the future. Contact us direct for the best rates and we will ensure your room meets and exceeds your expectations.

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The resort has great amenities plus a restaurant that will deliver great tasting food to your room. Hot tub is large enough to hold many guests and not feel crowded. Beach access is easy for romantic moonlit strolls on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are always glad to hear the resort exceeded your expectations when it came to finding a romantic setting for your weekend getaway. Next time the two of you need some time away, keep us in mind! We would be more than happy to accommodate you for a future stay as well. If you plan to come for an extra special occasion, you can always ask your reservationist about our “Romance Package” as well!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuaryebachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

LOVED this hotel! The details were awesome! Great views and little things like towels for the beac next to the door. Would stay here again in a heartbeat! The bathrooms however had a bit of mold in the shower. Other than that, no detail was missed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and got a chance to enjoy the beach. Next time you are heading back to the area, be sure to give us a call! We are always happy to see our return guests back on property. We would like to thank you for bringing up the issue you had with the bathroom. If you feel comfortable, please either contact us directly (information below) or let us know the problem via the email survey we send out after check out so we can address the specific unit you were in. We love hearing feedback, both positive and negative, and would love to get that problem resolved!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuaryebachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanctuary Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Beach Resort

Address: 3295 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933 (Formerly Marina Dunes Resort)
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanctuary Beach Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sanctuary Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Beach Hotel Marina
Sanctuary Beach Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.