We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wave Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wave Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wave Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 N. Sepulveda Blvd., Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We had the king suite. All it needed was a fridge and microwave to make it perfect. The breakfast was lacking. Overall nice place. The hot tub was under construction and the pool looked a little green.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    26
    30
    20
See reviews for
22
36
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I booked a king jacuzzi room for our one year wedding anniversary... I figured we would be treated well as we were in the most expensive room... yea, not so much. From the moment we walked in, the man at the desk looked annoyed that he had to help a customer. Our room wasn't ready so we came back an hour later and got another guy who didn't even look up from messing around with his phone while he was talking to us. The people here just don't seem to care about their customers and want to get paid to stand around doing nothing. Then we got to the room and it was dingy... I'm not high maintenance by a long shot but I felt uncomfortable looking at the strange black fingerprint smudges throughout the room
and began pondering if it had been a crime scene. We tried to get away for the weekend but couldn't drive back home fast enough!

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The first thing I notice is an overwhelming smell of mint, but the mint was just a cover for what must have been mildew and or mold. The room was very humid and I wanted to leave,. I asked if there was another room but there wasn't. It was totality gross and I would never sty there again. The guy at the desk suggested I keep the door open to get rid of the smell, the carpet was gross, I kept my clothes and shoes on the whole time. Only slept for like a few hours and was out of there.
This place needs to be torn down.

Room Tip: don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Staff very loud early in the a.m. Not great when you are on vacation and getting woken up by 7 a.m. Room was clean but couldn't close door to washroom , no plug for bathtub. When staying at a location for more than 3 days it would be nice to have a bit of variety in the continental breakfast rather same offerings every single day. We ended up going out last 2 days of Six and buy breakfast elsewhere. Doubt we would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

we stayed here for 5 nights and the location was perfect for us. It was a short stroll to Manhattan Beach and not far from Venice Beach and Sunset Boulevard and around a 35-40 min drive to Disneyland! The room was a little run down and the beds were hard for our tastes (we usually have a pillow top) but it was impeccably clean! Breakfast was simple but good and the staff were friendly and helpful. A few restaurants nearby and a Jack in the Box across the road made meals pretty easy.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with 3 friends and we booked a room with two queen beds. We arrived at the hotel to check-in and they only had a room with a king bed for the 4 of us. The customer service rep at the desk was rude and actually laughed at our situation when she was on the phone with the manager of the hotel. It was so frustrating that we had to stay in that room with one bed for four people. Our check-in date was the 4th of July so there were no other local hotels with vacancies.

The only reason that this rating deserves 1 out of 5 is because the maintenance guy gave us lots of extra pillows and blankets to help make the stay more comfortable for the 2 people who slept on the floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Reserved room for 3 new it was a king bed but naturally assumed there must be a sofa sleeper to sleep 3. Booked through Hotwire because that is the 1 thing they guarantee , WRONG . Waited hours for rollaway bed . The pool is very dirty, hot tub dirty and cold . They did get the hot tub hot but still dirty and frothy yuck. Asked for towels waited forever to get in fact still waiting . Do not recommend.

Room Tip: Stay Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Hotel

Address: 900 N. Sepulveda Blvd., Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wave Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in Manhattan Beach. Close to the Manhattan Beach Pier and Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Wave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.