We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wave Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wave Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wave Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 N. Sepulveda Blvd., Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach
1 review
“Wont stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Staff very loud early in the a.m. Not great when you are on vacation and getting woken up by 7 a.m. Room was clean but couldn't close door to washroom , no plug for bathtub. When staying at a location for more than 3 days it would be nice to have a bit of variety in the continental breakfast rather same offerings every single day. We ended up going out last 2 days of Six and buy breakfast elsewhere. Doubt we would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    25
    30
    20
See reviews for
22
36
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

we stayed here for 5 nights and the location was perfect for us. It was a short stroll to Manhattan Beach and not far from Venice Beach and Sunset Boulevard and around a 35-40 min drive to Disneyland! The room was a little run down and the beds were hard for our tastes (we usually have a pillow top) but it was impeccably clean! Breakfast was simple but good and the staff were friendly and helpful. A few restaurants nearby and a Jack in the Box across the road made meals pretty easy.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with 3 friends and we booked a room with two queen beds. We arrived at the hotel to check-in and they only had a room with a king bed for the 4 of us. The customer service rep at the desk was rude and actually laughed at our situation when she was on the phone with the manager of the hotel. It was so frustrating that we had to stay in that room with one bed for four people. Our check-in date was the 4th of July so there were no other local hotels with vacancies.

The only reason that this rating deserves 1 out of 5 is because the maintenance guy gave us lots of extra pillows and blankets to help make the stay more comfortable for the 2 people who slept on the floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Reserved room for 3 new it was a king bed but naturally assumed there must be a sofa sleeper to sleep 3. Booked through Hotwire because that is the 1 thing they guarantee , WRONG . Waited hours for rollaway bed . The pool is very dirty, hot tub dirty and cold . They did get the hot tub hot but still dirty and frothy yuck. Asked for towels waited forever to get in fact still waiting . Do not recommend.

Room Tip: Stay Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

First off-I did not get to stay here.

We called up from LAX to book this accommodation offering a free shuttle to the hotel, only to have reception saying that would not come to pick us up at 20:00 and to get a taxi, when shuttle runs till 21:00.
Very poor customer service.

Hotel is located on a busy road about 15mins walk from Manhattan Beach.
We ended up staying at airport hotel which has a $5 trolley bus service return trip to Manhattan Beach-Save yourself some money and stay near airport for a better quality hotel amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is my first review and it was give because I want to warn other travelers of this hotel.. This place needs a renovation. The hotel is outdated. They need to invest in flat screen TV's as well as a paint job. The wall paper was peeling of the wall. Also it was a slight bug problem. It was a reasonably price hotel but I have been to other reasonably price place but it was a much better experience. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

we were there for one night in Jan 2013. We had stayed 3 nights in an Ayres property just before and were surprised at how shabby the Wave was for the same money. The remote didn't work for the ancient TV , there were tiles missing out of the floor in the bathroom. Lighting was poor and my kids didn't want to swim in the pool because it was noticeably dirty.I asked the guy at the desk and he said he would call maintenance. Nobody vacuumed the pool.
kind of third world...

Room Tip: stay somewhere else unless you bring your own sleeping bag
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Hotel

Address: 900 N. Sepulveda Blvd., Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wave Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in Manhattan Beach. Close to the Manhattan Beach Pier and Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Wave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.