We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arranging late check-out. Beware!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wave Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wave Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wave Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 N. Sepulveda Blvd., Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Manhattan Beach
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Arranging late check-out. Beware!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Throughout our three days at Wave Hotel, we were thinking what an ideal hotel to stay in LA when you don't want to be too far from LAX and be in walking distance of a beach. So, great location and the convenience of an LAX shuttle service. But our good opinions all came unravelled on the day of check-out. That morning I enquired at the front desk whether, because of our late flight time (10.30pm) back to New Zealand, we could possibly have a late afternoon checkout as a courtesy. The desk clerk at the time checked his computer and said "should be no problem sir. Maybe we should book the shuttle for 6.45pm." We packed our bags, cleared up the room and spent most of the afternoon by the pool. At checkout, dealing with another desk clerk, we discovered that we were being charged an additional day rate. I told him that I had not agreed to any extra charge, in fact it had never been discussed. The shuttle was waiting and the clerk finally told me that "there must have been a mistake" and my credit card would only be charged for the three nights. I thanked him, but on returning to New Zealand, I soon discovered that the fourth night had been charged. I emailed both the booking service (booking.com) and the hotel explaining all the above, but the hotel refused to acknowledge any of my discussions, replying to the booking service (not me) that " it was made clear that any checkout after 6pm would incur an extra charge." This was a clearly fabricated response. No such condition was ever communicated to me. So beware. If you request a late-checkout at any hotel, be sure you know the terms of the arrangement clearly. Don't take any implied courtesy for granted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    33
    30
    32
    18
See reviews for
21
36
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coal City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our room smelled of cigarette smoke--we couldn't get a non-smoking room. The only room we could get was a handicapped room. The rate was good, but we would have liked a different room. We stayed 2 nights and they said they were completely booked and we couldn't move to another room. We loved the pool area though. It was very pretty. The free parking and the location were also plusses.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Issues:

1) Vanity light out, did not fix when asked
2) Sink pools up water, pipes need snaking
3) Wall light switches not tied to lamps
4) WIFI weak, unreliable
5) Tube TV - cable signal poor (32" TV are cheap enough)
6) Old carpets, smell
7) Bathroom wall, trim rotting

Positives (why such a shame for above shortcomings):

1) Free breakfast, WIFI, parking
2) Excellent location
3) Pool, hot tub
4) Close to airport
5) Friendly staff

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Location is not too bad, drive 3-4 blocks park up and walk another few blocks to the beach.
On arrival the clerk at the front desk hardly said hello and showed no interest in us at all. Our room was not ready so we were moved into the one next door. It smelled of very very cheap air freshner/cigarette smoke, the floor lamp did not work and there was a stained pink spa in the middle of the room.

Breakfast was about adequate but bearing ini mind so many good places in manhattan Beach that was not a big concern.

Hotel Parking was good and there is a very good Thai restaurant across the road.

All in all we used the hotel as a place to sleep and nothing more. All accomodation in the area is expensive and this is probably very average for the area.

Would I stay here again, probably not, but it was a roof over our heads!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosier, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Nice location, free parking and a decent layout but pretty rough around the edges... ironing board is broken, big time... unusable. No bath towels the first day, light in the sink area where you brush teeth/ comb hair broken, stand up lamp in corner broken, just leaning against the wall. Some serious housekeeping failures here

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

O.K., it does get a bit moist on the floors around the outside front of the rooms.. but this is caused by the guests running the air conditioners all day and not drying themselves after swimming and then returning to their rooms. it's biggest fault is that it is very busy and in demand right through the summer; and the staff really are flat out getting the place ready for the next guests.
We paid us $78 a night, for a kingsize bed, mini-bar, writing desk, full length bath free shuttle to and from the LAX and an adequate breakfast, on the net in advance. To compare this place to the Marriot with its rooms at $160 a night is just not reasonable. We stayed 3 nights and would not hesitate to return. We liked the staff here... one could use the toaster and microwave to heat up a snack.. Target is 100 metres away and fabulous Manhattan Beach is just 1 and a half kms away. They are surrounded by great eating places.. particularly a Thai place over the road that is as good as anything you would get in Thailand . And there was nothing wrong with the cleanliness or the sheets. Maybe they have listened to previous complaints ??

Room Tip: book well in advance for best deals and maybe upstairs rooms would alleviate the moisture problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickman, CA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Moldy bathroom, food still in the refrigerator from the last guests, the carpets were soggy wet, stinky throughout. We had to turn around and leave. When we got back to the front desk, two other families were there with the same issues. Hotels.com actually refunded our non-refundable payment. Went to the Mariott, more money but oh so clean! Worth it!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Hotel

Address: 900 N. Sepulveda Blvd., Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wave Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in Manhattan Beach. Close to the Manhattan Beach Pier and Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Wave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.