We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable. Clean. Just as happy with our second visit as the first!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea View Inn at the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Sea View Inn at the Beach to your Saves list
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3400 Highlands Avenue, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable. Clean. Just as happy with our second visit as the first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our daughter, son-in-law and grandchildren live in Manhattan Beach, so we've been trying to find an affordable "home away from home" for when we visit. The Sea View Inn has turned out to be the place. The rooms are small but well designed and perfectly adequate, especially if your planning to be out all day (and who would stay inside when you're just a couple of blocks from a spectacular beach, the strand (for walking) and bike path along the ocean. There are several nice breakfast places nearby. The bed is comfortable; the ocean view is a treat every morning. And the service is great. We didn't take advantage of the bikes, beach chairs and beach towels the Inn lends out, but we saw many others do so. Even on busy Highland Avenue, the room is relatively quiet at night. However, if you like to keep the sliders open for the wonderful ocean air, there will be times when you'll have to close it. (One example: the night the LAKings won the Stanley Cup, we could hear the late-night cheers from all over town… but who could complain about that!!?) We tried some of the other hotels in the area, but were disappointed. For us, when heading to Manhattan Beach, the Sea View is our best choice!

Room Tip: We've only stayed in the ocean view room with balcony so don't have a basis for comparison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    117
    39
    13
    23
See reviews for
126
100
33
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My family and I stayed for three nights. Our room was clean and everything worked well. It was also unusually large. The neighborhood is safe and there are nice restaurants up and down Highland.
It was a very short walk to the beach. The staff was very friendly. We will definitely return to this hotel

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Sea View Inn is perfectly located to explore the beaches and a very short trip from LAX. Staff has been very helpful and accommodating and I enjoyed my stay a lot. If anything could be improved, it is small things, such as providing a couple of plates and cutlery (the plastic versions are not great and with a sink and detergent, it is easy to do the wash-up). I will definitely come back to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a 5 night vacation and it was the perfect spot! The staff is wonderful, the prices are so reasonable and since we planned to spend more time on the beach than in the room, it was perfect for us. We loved the 2 block walk to our own quiet little section of beach. It isn't a crowded location, and in fact, is about 20 blocks north of the touristy area though the walk is about a mile, so isn't far. The hotel provides beach towels, a nice big umbrella, and beach chairs, boogie boards, bicycles, all which are so easy to take the short distance to the beach and ride into the tourist spots. We stayed in the standard room and though it didn't have a balcony or a coffeemaker, (that was a bit of an inconvenience though there is a coffee shop steps away from the rooms) our room was always clean and the bed freshly made when we returned from our day. Anything we needed we simply asked the staff at the office and they were wonderful. It's very trendy spot and we even saw Guy Fieri from Diners Drive ins and Dives as he was waiting to enjoy some sushi outside, on our dinner scouting there one night. We asked him a wonderful place to eat around there, and he had filmed at a place called North End Café right next to the hotel we stayed! It's only open from 10-3 so don't plan dinner there. We missed the boat on that one because we were never around at those times to try it. But it was fun to see him there! There are great restaurants all around the hotel but the noise isn't there. I really enjoyed that. All in all, it is so worth the money ($130/night for our little room) and I would definitely stay there again and again. Great service, great price, great location and that meant a great vacation!

Room Tip: We opted for the least expensive knowing that the beach was so close, and so our room was very small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had a great time in Manhattan Beach. I'm very glad that we were able to find such a nice, affordable hotel so close to the beach with a great view. I just wish that there wasn't so much street noise on Highland so we could have kept the balcony door open. Also, the sink is teeny tiny so it was difficult to wash our hands, brush our teeth, etc.
Other than that, next time I definitely want to stay longer! It's a beautiful area and a great place to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We knew we were just going to sleep in this room so we didn't need anything fancy and that's we got. The room was tiny but clean. I loved having a balcony to sit on and people watch. We were right outside the pool and it was noisy but closed at 8 pm so it was okay. When we first walked into the room each day it smelled very musty. I loved the free parking and internet (although it was difficult to get a signal to my iPad). We weren't there long enough to take a advantage of the other amenities that they offered but, I must says, the staff was wonderful. Loved the location because it was near my kids and lots of nice restaurants to walk to.

Room Tip: If you are only using the room to sleep in the basic room is fine. But if you're going to utili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a laid back beach hotel in a great location and is a good value with friendly staff. Walking distance to the beach and just steps away from great restaurants both dinner and breakfast joints. They also have bicycles, boards, etc. you can borrow to enjoy the area.

The rooms are pretty basic but very clean and nice. Mine had a partial water view. This is a great little place but not sure if so good for a business trip which I was on. The internet speed was very slow so if you're needing HSI then this is something to consider. It was also a little noisy since my room was street level but it got more quiet as the night went on.

Would definitely recommend for the leisure traveler. I was there for one night and had wished I carved out a day or morning to enjoy the surrounding activities.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd level could be more quiet since further from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sea View Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea View Inn at the Beach

Address: 3400 Highlands Avenue, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sea View Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Inn At The Beach is an intimate seaside hotel located just blocks from the Beach. And is the closet hotel to the sandy beaches and panoramic views of Manhattan Beach. The Sea View offers casual comfort, modern conveniences and features a "live like a local" atmosphere. Dine at local eateries, stroll eclectic shops or borrow one of our beach cruisers and cruise the beachfront bike path and enjoy the ocean views. Or relax and swim in our heated Outdoor Pool. We offer FREE Parking, FREE Wifi, Bikes, Beach Towels, Beach Chairs, & Beach Toys for the Kids. The Sea View Inn is located just minutes (3 miles), away from Los Angeles Airport,(LAX), 35 Minutes to Disneyland, 40 minutes to Universal Studios, 25 minutes to Downtown Los Angeles and 30 minutes to Hollywood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your The Sea View Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Inn At The Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sea View Inn at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.