We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly place to stay 3 blocks from the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea View Inn at the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Sea View Inn at the Beach to your Saves list
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3400 Highlands Avenue, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lynchburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly place to stay 3 blocks from the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My husband and I decided to stop off on the west coast on our trip home from Japan. We gave our travel agent the choice of Seattle, San Francisco, or LA--whichever worked with our itinerary. Well we ended up with LA and we were glad we did (we would have been happy with the other two also :). I looked for a place to stay convenient to LAX and near the ocean and found Sea View Inn. We rented a car (which we parked and never used again--taxi would work fine from the airport) and headed for the beach! So nice we arrived early and they held our luggage and allowed use of parking while we waited. We had lunch at 4 daughters restaurant--very good lunch. We were able to check in early and found a comfortably large, basic room that was spotlessly clean with a/c (good because the temps were over 80 unusual in coastal CA in April), sliding glass door giving onto a balcony over the main street. Shower was strong and hot (just what we needed to wash away jet lag) and bathroom was a generous size. Very small sink but it worked--never did find a hair dryer but I never asked either. Bed a little soft for our taste but that is always subjective. Road was busy outside and we worried but when we closed our door very little street noise to be heard. The heated pool (that was really heated) was spotlessly clean and surrounded by nice chairs and lounges. There were nice shops and restaurants lining the street and all within walking distance: Breakfast/lunch The Local Yolk, Sloopy's which had a fabulous outdoor café garden, OB's great sports bar with good food, and The Fish Bar where we were lucky enough to have Tuesday Tacos--sautéed lobster for me, ahi tuna for the husband.

Pros--clean, location, friendly staff, beach bikes--do take a ride, beach chairs, towels, umbrellas (and toys if needed)
Cons--no coffee maker for a coffee-holic, softer mattress

Will we return--you bet! Would we recommend--DEFNITELY!

Room Tip: We loved our standard queen room 107 looking out to ocean view--sun hot on balcony in the evening th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    117
    39
    13
    23
See reviews for
126
100
33
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We flew to LA for a friends' wedding. The bride and groom recommended the Sea View Inn at the Beach. Twelve rooms were booked for the destination wedding, enabling us to enjoy being together for the extended weekend. The location is IDEAL, the rooms were PERFECT, and the management was EXTREMELY helpful with resolving a reservation error that I made. We could not have asked/hoped for more!

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony and partial view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at the Sea View for a couple of nights in one of their 2 bedroom w living room units. It was clean and comfortable. Having protected parking as well as the beach bikes and boogie boards added to the appeal. The staff was great and the local restaurants were just what we wanted. Being 3 or 4 blocks from the beach with comfortable rooms makes this a great value option.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I had a great time while staying at the Sea View. It makes for light travel when all you need for fun at the beach is right there at your hotel; maybe they could get a couple of soft top surf boards for those that are into surfing. Our room had a great view and the recommendations for local moco were outstanding, especially the Fishbar. The Tuesday Taco specials were really a treat. looking forward to coming back with our family in the summer and staying in one of the two bedroom furnished apartments.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

What's great about the Sea View? Its a fabulous price in a great location. The view is fantastic and its walkable to lots of great places in the north end of town. Short walk down to the strand, and the staff are wonderful (family owned and operated). Plenty of parking, and a cute pool.

What's the catch? Its an older property. Mostly clean and mostly functional, but not new, not swanky, not stylish. Think about a summer place - everything is a little older, but still works ok for the most part. Also, its a solid 15 minute walk to the pier.

We stayed for a long weekend with two teenage boys in the two bedroom unit. Plenty of room with two doubles in one room for them and a queen in the master for us. Two baths, both with showers, one with a tub. Kitchen and bath finish out is circa 1950, but all fairly functional. Kitchen,dining and living room was reasonable size with small patio and a great view.

You want some room with the kids at a great price? This is a great choice. Looking for luxury at the beach? Try Shade (you'll pay the price and they have no views) or VRBO. The Sea View has the feel of older beach condos, and the price to match. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I am a travel agent and have traveled all over the world. The Sea View Inn is a very clean, well run hotel, and 3 blocks from the beach at a very fair price.Visitors can use free beach bikes, umbrellas, chairs, and there is a great pool. And the neighborhood is excellent. Lots of restaurants, bars, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I'm a former MB resident and I stay at the Sea View every time I come back. So close to beach, fun bars, Local Yolk & Panchos! Also very convenient to LAX without being too close. And the management really goes out of their way to keep customers happy! I highly recommend the Sea View - for business or vacation!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sea View Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea View Inn at the Beach

Address: 3400 Highlands Avenue, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sea View Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Inn At The Beach is an intimate seaside hotel located just blocks from the Beach. And is the closet hotel to the sandy beaches and panoramic views of Manhattan Beach. The Sea View offers casual comfort, modern conveniences and features a "live like a local" atmosphere. Dine at local eateries, stroll eclectic shops or borrow one of our beach cruisers and cruise the beachfront bike path and enjoy the ocean views. Or relax and swim in our heated Outdoor Pool. We offer FREE Parking, FREE Wifi, Bikes, Beach Towels, Beach Chairs, & Beach Toys for the Kids. The Sea View Inn is located just minutes (3 miles), away from Los Angeles Airport,(LAX), 35 Minutes to Disneyland, 40 minutes to Universal Studios, 25 minutes to Downtown Los Angeles and 30 minutes to Hollywood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de and Despegar.com so you can book your The Sea View Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Inn At The Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sea View Inn at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.