We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manhattan Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea View Inn at the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Sea View Inn at the Beach to your Saves list
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3400 Highlands Avenue, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book It Now (save 10%)
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Manhattan Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Nice room-just overpriced $200.00/night Yes, it's" on the beach"-well not really-about a ten minute walk down and then steep uphill. Might be the closest motel to the beach, but only a little ocean view. Huge power plants to the north too sort of spoil the view. Also about 1 mile from the actual M Beach. Bathroom could use some TLC and we could clearly hear in our room the people talking in the room below us-like it was coming up a shaft. All the employees were very nice though and they did offer use of beach toys and bikes-I just can't imagine riding a bike down and then UP that hill-and I ride my bike all the time! I wouldn't book there again, mainly due to the cost.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    127
    43
    13
    23
See reviews for
135
110
33
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I just returned from beautiful Manhattan Beach. I stayed at the Sea View Inn at the Beach and found it to be an excellent choice at a very reasonable price. It is only a 20 minute taxi ride ($33) from the airport (a little longer during rush hour). My room (105 on 3rd floor) was newly remodeled and had a balcony (chairs & table) overlooking the street, a few rooftops and a large view of the ocean - beautiful. My room was air conditioned/heated and very clean. The bed was very comfortable, clean and with fitted sheets. The room has a big screen TV, refrigerator, closet and bathroom with a large shower (lots of hot water), clean toilet and sink (the sink was a little small). There is a very nice pool with lounge chairs. Sea View provides free beach towels-chairs-umbrellas-boogie boards that you can easily carry to the beach and use until 8 pm. You can also sign out their bicycles for free for up to 3 hours until 8 pm. The walk to the beach is about 3 short blocks downhill (a fairly steep hill) and back up, but it was very good exercise. There are separate bicycle and walking paths along the beach right next to the sand. The beach is huge and long and wasn't crowded. It is a beautiful beach right in the middle of L.A. Metro Area - amazing. I walked around the neighborhood quite a bit, including at night, and felt safe the entire time. There are several very nice restaurants very close - had excellent dinner at Sloopy's and the FishBar (also a bar). Excellent breakfast at the Local Yolk and ok breakfast at 4-Daughters. Excellent pizza at small Beach Pizza across the street or carry out. Several bars nearby if you like that. Fun to eat at the Surf Food Stand on the beach a few blocks north. There is a local market across the street which was great because I needed suntan lotion. The staff was very helpful and friendly and willing to do whatever you needed, especially James (Owner(?)/Manager). I felt very comfortable. I will stay at the Sea View Inn every time I am in L.A. in the future! It was great! Have fun - Lee C. PS. I took the SuperShuttle back to the airport, which was only $18 plus tip. I didn't have a car, but they have parking.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are a little noisier. Rooms with ocean view are on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great quant room. Stayed in the refurbished room, great view. Clean throughout, nothing bad. Plenty of local restaurants and shops to check out. I would recommend staying here and we will be back. Hopefully all of these great reviews don't cause them to raise the price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Great quant room. Stayed in the refurbished room, great view. Clean throughout, nothing bad. Plenty of local restaurants and shops to check out. I would recommend staying here and we will be back. Hopefully all of these great reviews don't cause them to raise the price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

James ,Jimmy,and Brandon always treat you right!The view,the beach,the yoke and everything else.Even covered parking!Have been staying there for years and and never a complaint.will continue to stay as long as we come to manhattan beach.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are great,but have stayed in them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I've been staying at the Sea View Inn 3 or 4 days annually since the late 1980s. The staff is terrific: friendly, helpful locals who want visitors to enjoy their stay in Manhattan Beach. The beach is the best thing. I start and end my days on the strand--the miles-long walkway that runs along the ocean, 3 blocks down the hill from the Sea View. I walk or ride one of the hotel's free bicycles. Restaurants are plentiful. Within two blocks of the hotel are a half-dozen restaurants, including the Local Yolk, one of the best breakfast places ever. The rooms are tidy and clean, though a tad Spartan. One of the main reasons I return every year is that the Sea View Inn is a one-of-a-kind place. I travel for business quite often and sometimes wake up in chain hotels not knowing which hotel I'm in. I always know when I'm at the Sea View.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Sea View Inn is not a high profile hotel, but you get what you expect: clean, not too small rooms, some, like ours, with stunning view over the ocean. We found the price for this room really good. No breakfast, but instead can you borrow bikes, sun chairs, small body boards and beach towels. Staff is friendly and service oriented. The hotel is situated two blocks from the beach and there a few nice restaurants in the neighborhood including one for breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
1.7 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Los Angeles
2.6 mi away
Beach House at Hermosa Beach
Beach House at Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea View Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea View Inn at the Beach

Address: 3400 Highlands Avenue, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sea View Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Inn At The Beach is an intimate seaside hotel located just blocks from the Beach. And is the closet hotel to the sandy beaches and panoramic views of Manhattan Beach. The Sea View offers casual comfort, modern conveniences and features a "live like a local" atmosphere. Dine at local eateries, stroll eclectic shops or borrow one of our beach cruisers and cruise the beachfront bike path and enjoy the ocean views. Or relax and swim in our heated Outdoor Pool. We offer FREE Parking, Wifi, Bikes, Beach Towels, Beach Chairs, Beach Umbrella's & Beach Toys for the Kids. The Sea View Inn is located just minutes (3 miles) away from Los Angeles Airport,(LAX), 35 Minutes to Disneyland, 40 minutes to Universal Studios, 25 minutes to Downtown Los Angeles, and 30 minutes to Hollywood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Sea View Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Inn At The Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sea View Inn at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.