We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Inn at the Beach

Save Saved
You added Sea View Inn at the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea View Inn at the Beach
3400 Highlands Avenue, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Manhattan Beach
Phx
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love this place but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We discovered the sea view inn when my husband traveled to the area for business. The price is great for the value, the people in the office are great and there is a wonderful restaurant within walking distance called Fishbar. There is a downhill/uphill walk to the beach, about 4 blocks. and the street out front is quite noisy but it does die down at night. But.....on our last visit there my husband came home with numerous bed bug bites. Since I didn't get any, we figure they were on his pillow since the bites were on his back and one on his forehead. We did a google search and they look exactly like what we saw online and the definition matched too. I sent the office an email telling what happened but I never heard back. Sad to say, we've opted to try another coastal town for our next visit. I still give this place high marks though.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewinn, Manager at Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
After reading your review, we had our pest control company check ALL our rooms. These rooms have recently been gutted and remodeled with all new items in every room (Beds,Pillows,Bedding,flooring,closets,baths,towels etc.) We are so sorry about the Bedbugs, but these rooms are over 97% occupied at this time of the year, with no other complaints. Thank you for your review and we will continue to be vigilant about all aspects of cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    92
    28
    9
    23
See reviews for
100
86
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Most of the streets in Manhattan Beach are narrow and there isn’t much parking. The Sea View Inn has what is therefore a precious commodity; a parking lot.
The Sea View Inn is on 3 of 4 corners of an intersection of Highland Avenue and the parking lot is on the fourth corner. The guys at reception are a happy bunch and very knowledgeable about the area.
Not all rooms have a sea view, mine did.
There is a small pool and the beach is about 10 minutes’ walk away down the hill.
At reception there are boogie boards and other beach items that can be checked out for use at the beach.
My room, 106, had been recently refurbished and there was nothing to complain about.
A small balcony with a couple of seats meant that the sunset could be enjoyed with a beer in hand (purchased from the liquor store and supermarket about 50 yards up Highland Avenue).
There is some traffic noise from the street but as this is primarily a residential neighbourhood the noise is not disruptive to sleep.
The Local Yolk is almost next door and I can recommend it for breakfast.
I had dinner at Strand House which is near the Manhattan Beach Pier, about 20 minutes’ walk from the Sea View Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It was great .... again. We've stayed at The Sea View over a dozen times and always enjoy it. Front desk service is great, rooms are clean, having bikes to ride for FREE is a total perk and the location is perfect. Sea View's always our first choice when we are in L.A.

Room Tip: We like the apartment/rooms over the parking lot because they have a kitchen, bedroom and living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you want a room with a view of the Pacific Ocean that will keep you in a dimension that is total pleasure, let me suggest you book the penthouse with the balcony. I believe it is 505, but it overlooks Highland Avenue, a few beautiful red tile roofs and parts of the beach, and then a panoramic vista like none other than I have seen. It is the type of view that will mesmerize one and create serenity and joy.

Room Tip: Choose the penthouse, room 505 I believe. It is the best view available in my opinion. It has a soli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Squeeeeeky clean room, quiet, great shower, bed comfortable, A/C perfect, free parking. This was a terrific overnight location w lots of great restaurants within walking distance. Don't miss the Fish Bar!

I didn't get a chance to use the heated pool, bikes, chairs or beach towels, but the ocean was lovely, at sunset, and sunrise the next morning.

Highly recommend Sea View Inn as a much better alternative to the chain hotels in the area.

Room Tip: My room was recently refurbished. Ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

By reading various reviews of the Sea View Inn, and having a local friend come check out the place, we knew kind of what to expect when we arrived, which is to say exceptional service, a serviceable room, and a great location.

We stayed in a penthouse. The view was panoramic, the suite airy and clean, the beds comfortable, the kitchen well laid out, the bathroom spacious, the parking designated, and the pool attractive and clean. These attributes alone made the visit a good one--for us (and we're pretty picky).

What did we have to overlook (things that kept the suite from being exceptional), the tube TVs in bedroom, which were mounted high on the wall, the sliding pocket door to the bathroom that didn't slide all that well, the comfortable, but slightly worn furniture, the entry lock to the deck missing.

Before any of these negatives have you clicking off this page, read this: the front desk guys, (Brandon especially) would do anything to make your stay a good one: a stack of free towels for the beach, no problem; free beach chairs and umbrellas, how many do you want?; free bikes for the family, available anytime you want; off-street parking for guests, yes we have room today; more chairs for the deck, we’ll have them up there in a minute. If we had requested a newer couch, I suspect these guys would do whatever they could to make it happen--truly four-star service.

Add to these positives: easy access from the 405 freeway, safe feeling neighborhood, lots of great food and a spa within a couple blocks, the beach just down the hill, three minutes away; and I have to say that our overall impression was that we couldn’t wait to come back here again (and remember we’re picky).

Room Tip: This review is of the southern penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I go back to the South Bay cities because my family has roots there, and because I just like it.

I took my young family there on a vacation post-Disneyland, and now we've been regulars at the Sea View Inn for almost 20 years (doing approximate math on our 20-something daughter). Our 2013 trip was just fine, thank you. As a Northern Californian who digs LA (yes, such people exist) I am grateful to have a place to hang on the beach but close enough to the museums -- hey people, LA has great museums; this is a culture town -- when I'm ready to get out of the sun. On a different scale, I've experienced $3,000/night rooms on St. Barth, and this ain't that, but the Sea View Inn rooms are perfectly OK, the Local Yolk is a few steps down the street for breakfast, the sand is just two blocks away, and you are IN an epicenter of Southern California beach culture. Share the dream.

On our most recent trip, we were faced with a regular checkout ahead of a nighttime flight. No problem. Beachtowels? Here you go. Umbrella? Right here. We were already checked out, but that did not matter. ALSO: A busy street runs through it. Sea View Inn has grown over time, taking over one small building after another. Ask. Some rooms are noisier than others. And a final double-note: The Sea View Inn is gay-friendly, a useful fact to know if you need that. But it is important also to say that the Sea View Inn does not project a single note that would jar a family experience, and I speak from long experience. This is a family hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea View Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Inn at the Beach

Address: 3400 Highlands Avenue, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Blocks from the Beach. Most rooms with Ocean Views. Family orientated neighborhood, Safe, Outside Heated Pool.FREE: Parking, Bikes, Beach Towels, Beach Chairs, & Beach Toys for the Kids. Plenty of Restaurants with in 3 blocks. -3 miles from LAX airport.-35 minutes to Disneyland-40 minutes to Universal Studios-25 minutes to Downtown Los Angeles-30 minutes to Hollywood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Sea View Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Inn At The Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Inn at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.