We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Residence Inn Manhattan Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach to your Saves list
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pickering, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Residence Inn Manhattan Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Not a bad place. Rooms on the inside are much nicer than the place looks overall from the outside. Friendly staff, great breakfast included daily. Stayed with another couple and had a two bedroom unit. Very clean and very well equipped with kitchen, stove, fridge, etc. Great value for the place as well. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear John,

I appreciate you sharing your comments on your recent stay. I do have a wonderful team here! They work very hard to take care of our guests from giving wonderful customer service to cooking breakfast, to cleaning the rooms. I will also share your review with our team as your comments really do make a difference!

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your time and we certainly do hope that you return! Please don't hesitate to contact me if there is anything that I can do for your future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    151
    34
    20
    11
See reviews for
132
67
28
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Residence Inn in Manhattan Beach before a cruise in early May. The hotel, generally, is average for this type of property. Meant for longer stays but good for families with big rooms, kitchens and free parking. The entire property seems like a former small apartment complex that had been converted to a hotel/motel. The rooms were updated with newer appliances and up-to-date décor.

The first night we stayed in a studio room at the back of the property. The hotel supplied a crib for our toddler. It had obviously been in storage for a while - it was missing a piece out of the mattress and had a distinctly musty smell. Luckily we'd packed our own crib sheets, so we at least had fresh linens of our own to put on. We brought the missing piece to the attention of the attendant who brought it by but they never followed up with a new crib, mattress or the missing piece.

Bed was only ok, and the room was sufficiently big for the three of us. The bathroom was clean enough - nothing outrageously disgusting, the commode wobbled on the floor and the plug in the bathtub didn't work.

The next morning we returned from the free breakfast (standard, good Residence Inn fare - more on that below) to find a strange poo-like something on the floor of the kitchen area. It was pretty obvious some small animal had somehow gotten in the room and left a "deposit" on the floor. We called down to the front desk and asked for it to be investigated and for us to moved to a different room. The hotel "engineer" who came to the room, along with a maid, talked a lot to each other Spanish, quickly swooped up the offending deposit and tried to tell us it was a slimy bug. That was obviously bull - but the hotel was upgrading us to a second floor "penthouse" room for our second night so we didn't protest.

The penthouse category room was similarly decorated but seemed fresher than the studio we'd just left. The bathroom was cleaner (the commode was securely fastened to the floor), and the entire suite was cleaner and smelled better. This category has an upstairs and a downstairs bedroom as well as a separate living room that is closed off from the downstairs bedroom with French doors. We didn't use the upstairs bedroom - just set the crib up in the living room. Bed seemed more comfortable in this room category too.

The hotel breakfast, free, was a good variety of hot and continental items. The staff did an excellent job keeping everything restocked and full, even when the dining room was bustling on an early weekday morning. The hot items changed the two mornings we were there. Standard continental items (pastries, yogurts, cereal) were fresh, not stale. Dining room was exceptionally clean for the number of people using it - even the high chairs had been wiped down.

We didn't use the pool - just ran out of time - but had a good view if it from the dining room. It looked clean and well maintained. You could eat breakfast pool-side if you wanted. New pool furniture and an outdoor fireplace made it look very appealing.

Location was OK. It's on the main road from LAX, heading south down the coast. It is literally a 3-minute walk to a large, clean Target if you plan an extended stay and need to stock up on groceries or other supplies. The area seemed perfectly safe to us though we didn't do much actual walking around. It's 40 minutes from the Hollywood area, about 1.5 hours to Griffith Park and 30 minutes from San Pedro cruise terminal.

All in all, if we'd booked the penthouse category from the start we probably would have been happier. It seemed like the hotel worked harder to keep these suites cleaner and better maintained than the studios.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the front of the property so you don't have a long way to walk for b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello Foxymustang,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. I am extremely sorry that your initial room was not up to standard. Since we are in a park like setting it looks like a bird found it's way in through one of your entries. We do routine maintenance on all rooms here and it sounds like your initial room may have needed some extra attention. I am very pleased that your upstairs room worked out well for you. We have completed a major renovation within the last 2 years to upgrade our rooms, pool and main building.

I certainly hope that if your travels should bring you back to this area that would will share your time with us! Please let me know if there is anything additional that I can do for you.

Regards,

Bridget Bloom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Came in from the East Coast after flying all day.

Pros: Amazing staff. Very friendly right from the get go. My favorite part of this stay, was the evening social they had right when we got in. That night there was free Chinese food and alcohol, quite a surprise for a wary traveler. They even had karaoke by the pool! Because of Marriott status they upgraded me to a very large room (with an upstairs loft), and it was very nice- felt like a mini apartment. The pool area was very nice, as there was a firepit, and comfortable chairs and a hot tub. Also FREE parking, which was a huge perk for the area. When I stayed there, it was a category 4, which I thought was a great value. It has since moved up to a 5, which seems high, but given all free perks, is probably still worth it.

In terms of the location this hotel was close to LAX, but also close to the beaches. No complaints from me and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Travel-Girl4Lyfe,

Thank you so very much for staying with us and sharing your wonderful review! My team is what keeps our guests coming back! We really enjoy hosting our evening social hour and getting to know our guests. We also have a BBQ on Tuesday as well.

We have a wonderful location that is close to LAX, the beach and great shopping and dining in downtown Manhattan Beach as well!

We certainly look forward to seeing you on a future visit.

Regards,

Bridget Bloom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The overall experience was ok. This is an older facility and the place was in an older industrial area. To no surprise, the interior of the room was average. Not too clean, but not filthy. I really don't have anything terrible to say about this place, but I would not stay here again unless there was a total renovation.

Room Tip: Avoid the car lot view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hello Jim,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We don't want to be considered o.k., our goal is to wow every guest. I understand your concern about being next to a car dealership on the one side. The remaining sides are quieter as they face a wonderful neighborhood. I would like to follow up regarding the condition of your suite and the cleanliness that you did not feel was up to par, especially since we completed a major renovation within the last 2 years. We would like the opportunity to make us your number 1 choice in the area. Please contact me if you would like to share your information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is great for both business travelers who need a home away from home as well as families vacationing in LA. The hotel is very clean and modern. We had a one bedroom suite and our teenage boys slept in the living room area on the sleeper sofa. There was a full kitchen in the living room area. The hotel supplies free popcorn and hot chocolate. Also free was a nice buffet breakfast in a big room, adjacent to the hotel lobby, overlooking the pool. There were bagles, pastries, waffle makers, fresh fruit, yoghurts and hot items like scrambled eggs, sausages and potatoes. Delicious. Next to the pool there is a basketball court and the hotel has basketballs that you can get. It was a very pleasant stay for our family. The hotel is in a business area, so you cannot walk to places. But with a car you are within a few minutes at Manhattan beach and on the other side, Venice and Santa Monica are not far either. Great price for great family comfort near LAX.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room furthest away from the nearby rail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hello World Traveler!

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay! I am so pleased that your stay was enjoyable and that you enjoyed our amenities! We hope that you and your boys will come stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We lived here for a month when we relocated to the US last year. You cannot get wrong with this hotel. excellent staff who would go out of the way to help, nice location: 1 mile from manhattan beach, close to convenient malls, shops, restaurants, very safe location and close to the airport. they had upgraded us to the suite after a week and that was very good. the breakfast is nice and they have socials in the evenings. the rooms are very clean and spacious. ample parking place and free. Loved this place and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hello Mr. Paul!

Wow! We are so appreciative of your wonderful review and we are so pleased that you shared a month with us! My team really enjoys getting to know our guests, especially when you are here for an extended time. That is what makes our jobs so rewarding. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope that you will stop in to say hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Very clean hotel...great location!! Walking distance to shopping, eating....beach..it can be quite a trek uphill from the beach...but great walk! Pool area very nice...didn't get to take advantage of the free breakfast or dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Karen,

I wanted to thank you for your recent stay with us and sharing your awesome review! We certainly appreciate you taking the time and I am very pleased that you were able to enjoy our great facility and location. We are close to LAX and yet walking distance to dining, shopping and a healthy walk to the beach.

I certainly hope that we get to see you again on future travels to the area and that you will join us for breakfast and our social hour!

Thank you,

Bridget Bloom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Address: 1700 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Los Angeles Lax/Manhattan Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Residence Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.