We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, bad service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach to your Saves list
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Old hotel, bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is old and not in a very good area, however, the rooms were very spacious. I could see how people might like this with the kitchenette and large living room, but we were not there to stay for a while, only 2 days. We had to leave our trip early due to a friend getting sick, and even though we purchased cancellation insurance it still took FOREVER with back and forth between the staff and website purchased through to finally get our credit back. We had an issue with the water not getting hot and that took over an hour to fix - when they should have just switched us rooms. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
First, please allow me to thank you for your feedback regarding your experience with us. We value all comments whether positive or negative as it helps us to improve. I’m sorry your stay was cut short and hope that your friend has recovered and is well. In addition to that, having to deal with the delayed process of a credit must have been frustrating. With 3rd party reservations, the procedures for changes differ and unfortunately, can be out of our controls. I apologize that we were not able to assist you in a prompt and efficient manner.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All the service challenges are certainly fixable, so your comments are certainly appreciated. I hope you can return so as to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations and to experience our fully renovated hotel, which we have scheduled by the first week of May 2013. You are welcome to contact me directly so I can personally attend to your reservation.

Yours in hospitality
Kimberly Reyes
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    141
    31
    19
    11
See reviews for
122
65
28
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay, quiet, never heard the airport traffic. Staff was excellent, recommend great places to eat, location great. No complaints. Breakfast had a good variety, didn't have the dinner that was offered 3 nights a week.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing the Residence Inn during your recent trip to Manhattan Beach. I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us and that our associates took great care of you while you were here. We hope that next time you are in the area, you are able to stay with us again and enjoy our dinner hospitality hour. Every other Wednesday night is especially memorable as it’s our Karoake night. During the summer, you can enjoy one of our hospitality evenings at our poolside BBQ.
Thank you again for your kind comments and we hope to serve you again soon!

Yours in hospitality
Kimberly Reyes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here from New years day for a few days but it would have been nice to have been told in advance about the ongoing construction work - we may have stayed elsewhere if we had known - maybe this is why they don't say anything.... The fitness suite was a few machines set up in a guest suite, as was the laundry room. Breakfast was set up in a marquee outside but didn't seem to provide enough seating for the number of guests able to stay at the hotel and there was always a wait for hot food whilst we were here. The staff didn't seem to be able to replenish it quickly enough.The staff were all very polite, and although the hotel is close to the airport we did not notice any noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Residence Inn Manhattan Beach during the very exciting New Year’s festivities. We sincerely appreciate your review as it allows us to improve the service so memorable we pride ourselves in delivering. We apologize for any inconvenience our current construction may have caused. It may come as a surprise to find part of the hotel undergoing construction. In an effort to provide the top-notch quality, service and value the Marriott name represents, we are in the process of building a brand new Gatehouse which will be complete by the first week of May 2013. It will feature a modern and spacious dining area, an outdoor heated pool, fire pit, and a sports court. The structure will also feature a brand new fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment and a laundry facility for your convenience.
The number of guests we had the privilege of having stay with us during the holidays might have made for a huge impact during our complimentary breakfast hours. We apologize for the lack of food available to you and will definitely take your feedback into consideration during the next holiday season. Finally, should you wish to book another reservation at our hotel and wonder if we are still under construction, the online reservation booking page will show a “Note” alerting renovations in progress. Thank you so much once again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours in hospitality
Kimberly Reyes
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two weeks with family while on a business trip to LA. With my workplace in the National City Bank building on West Century Boulevard, the Residence Inn at N Sepulvada road, Manhattan Beach at a distance of 4.4 miles turned out to be an excellent place to stay. The hotel is close to the beach and to shopping areas such as Target Mall, Radio Shack, Best Buy Store and Manhattan Village shopping centre. The staff at the Inn provide free drop and pick up to any place within 3.5 miles, subject to availability of their vehicle. We found that the staff at the hotel were helpful and more often than not the vehicle was made available.
The room itself was neat and spacious. A queen side bed with good quality linen and pillows, table lamps provided the much needed comfort for sleep especially for someone struggling with jet lag. The room also had a refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher and adequate utensils, plates and cutlery to heat up or cook a meal when necessary. Breakfast was complimentary and in addition the hotel provided light supper on Monday to Wednesday evenings. Fare was typical american but nice and filling. Wednesday was Karoke night with Ron, one of the staff, crooning and encouraging the guests to join in. It made for a memorable stay at the Residence Inn. Availability of free parking, a gym, a jaccuzi, complimentary wi-fi were added attractions.
Had a really pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I guess block no 12 or 13 at the back were off the road and were peaceful and quiet. There was a bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind and generous review. We are thrilled your family was able to take pleasure in our location with its close proximity to all that Manhattan Beach has to offer. Our hotel enjoys a great location not only on Manhattan Beach, but to use as a base for exploring Los Angeles.
Your compliments on our accommodations are especially pleasing. Our rooms were recently renovated as of last summer and we’re so happy to hear that you benefited from our home away from home feel.
We are very proud to have Ron as part of our staff. He is a wonderful Engineering Manager as well as a fantastic DJ for our evening hospitality hour. We take pride in our associates and the personalized service they provide. He is certainly an asset to our team.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our property and we hope you and your family are able to visit us again!

Yours in hospitality
Kimberly Reyes
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain house, calif
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great business stay! The location of the Residence is ideal. Close enough to the beach to enjoy yet far enough not to be distracted from your business. The staff was friendly, courteous, and cheerful accommodating every need. Many thanks to all of your staff! The remodeled rooms were large with kitchen and the beds comfortable. Easy access to and from the airport with restaurants, shopping, and movie theaters also close by if the beach is not for you. Thanks again to the Manhattan Beach Residence Inn for an enjoyable stay in Southern California.

Room Tip: Even though you come off along trip try and be cheerful and have a good attitude. Be as nice to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback and thoughtful review! Our unique hotel features and central location are certainly a benefit and we take pride in exceeding our guests expectations from reservation to departure. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us here in Manhattan Beach.
Please know that we appreciate your business and would like to welcome you back again one day.

Yours in hospitality
Kimberly Reyes
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This motel was chosen for its reasonable closeness to LA and family.
The rooms are are in blocks of eight (four up and four down). Found out later why this can be a problem,
Free parking next to unit was convenient.
Ours was a ground floor unit. Found the room quite large, but there is no separation between bed and living area.
There were no luggage racks and no information manual.
Large kitchen which we didn't get to use.
Otherwise all seemed to be in order and as expected. Good HD TV.
Office desk and free WiFi was very welcome.
Bathroom was OK but would have liked a few more clothes hooks.

Then came the evening and the noise began. It seems there is no sound insulation in the ceiling.
We had a herd of elephants/children above who jumped and ran about until about 10pm until they were told to shut up by the management after a call from us. They started up again at 7am.
There is also little respite from noisy guests walking past the unit at any time.
The final straw was the alarm which went off at 5am. Possibly a little joke by the previous quest.
Breakfast was reasonable, but closes too early for those on vacation and want/need to sleep in. We nearly missed out.
We cut short our stay and left. Found another much better Marriott at SpringHill Suites, and at a much better price.
This one is definitely over priced.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor for convenience. Insist on empty unit above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

CALL first and ask questions. They are doing construction, the front half of the property is noisy, the pool is closed and breakfast was in a tent.

The staff was very nice and tried to accommodate us with a room in back. But we were on the ground floor with a herd of elephants upstairs and some sort of hockey team running amok in the parking lots and around the apartments like they were some sort of obstacle course. We slept so badly that we decided to check out early.

I also thought the room was incredibly expensive for a much smaller room than I am used to at Residence Inn. With three of us in the room and the sofa bed open, we barely had room to walk around. Our bed seemed small for a queen or maybe just because it sagged in the middle.

I am a Marriott rewards member so we moved to the Springhill Suites a mile away and that was much nicer--bright, quiet, huge new bed and cheaper, too.

I want to emphasize that the staff at both properties were friendly and sympathetic. It was just a bad situation that was somewhat beyond their control.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
On behalf of our hotel, please accept our sincerest apologies for your unpleasant stay at our hotel.

We strive to ensure that all of our guests experience the best visit possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. With hockey team children ranging in ages from 7-14 years of age and their families occupying a third of our property, it was certainly a challenge keeping their enthusiasm within acceptable limits. With the renovation to our front office, “Gatehouse” building, we have moved our complimentary full hot buffet breakfast to our “Hollywood Tent/Pavilion”. This temporary structure is constructed with hard glass walls and doors and offers over 1000 square feet of guest dining experience, complete with carpet, heating and a 52 Inch TV. Our intent is to make the transition to our new Gatehouse as seamless as possible. Our hotel just completed a full room renovation in June of 2012, including all new beds and sofa beds. I assure you the problem regarding the comfort of your bed was an isolated incident and has been addressed.

While I am also sorry to hear that you departed earlier than planned, thank you for choosing another property within the Marriott brand. We take pride in the service all our Marriott family staff brings to our guests and I'm pleased to see they were able to address your experience in a memorable manner.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Yours in hospitality
Edward Torices, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Address: 1700 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Los Angeles Lax/Manhattan Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Residence Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.