We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel-close to LAX and Beach Cities!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel-close to LAX and Beach Cities!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I just wanted to write about the beautiful room and hotel I got this weekend at the Residence Inn Manhattan Beach. It was still pleasant even though there was construction going on.
I went to an aunt’s birthday in Redondo and it was so close to the hotel.
I came in from the party at 11p and was stunned at the size and beauty of the room!
It had 2 beds, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen and living room and dining (ask for it but be ready to pay a bit more but totally worth it!) It is great for friends and family and will easily sleep 6.
Great for small parties or family bonding moments! The loft has an upstairs full bed, closet and bathroom as well, and you can see everyone from above! The ground floor bedroom opens up but has doors for privacy. It was a pity I just crashed for the night and left the following morning.
The room itself is a destination and I wished I brought friends and family to enjoy the loft suite and will definitely come back when can.I loved the home feel of a suite, yet had all the amenities-flat screen TVs, Paul Mitchell toiletries, hi speed internet. I slept very well.
Parking and internet are free, and safe at night when guards patrol the area, which is still a
safe neighborhood.
The hotel is very centrally located-very close to LAX, yet doesn’t feel like an airport hotel and have the peace and quiet of a beachside property. It is a great alternative to the hotels on Century Blvd.
I met a friend for lunch at beautiful Redondo Pier and we were there in a few minutes.
Check out all the fresh seafood cooked to your liking!
It is also very close to all the massive shopping at Manhattan Village Mall and El Segundo. Also next to my favorite stores Target, convenient Walgreen’s and the very delicious Cuban restaurant Versailles!
I will surely recommend this hotel to LAX travelers, as well as families or friends who want a weekend get away!

Room Tip: Ask for the loft suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, Richie Sei! We appreciate your sincere review and are so happy you enjoyed our location and all the great activities and sites our city has to offer. We also pride ourselves in offering a home away from home so it's thrilling to find that our guests, such as yourself, enjoyed the experience. We look forward to your return with friends and family so that they may enjoy the loft suite as well.

Yours in hospitality
Kimberly Reyes
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    133
    27
    19
    9
See reviews for
110
57
27
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Quiet neighborhood
10 minutes south of LAX on Sepulveda Boulevard Stay off the freeway!!!!
Close to Manhattan Beach and Redondo Beach
Bikes to ride from the hotel to the beaches
Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby
Sports bar (Grunions) across the street. Mike is the friendly proprieter there!
Props to the Residence Inn staff: Ron and his karaoke most weeks, Myra, Mary, Jennifer, and Patty
Thanks for making me feel like family! I will always stay here when I come out for business in nearby Torrance or anywhere in the LA area! Great place to embark from on a California vacation too!

Room Tip: All of them are great, even next to the boulevard. Quiet cozy rooms!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your phenomenal comments, Mark S! Being minutes from the beach and nearby activities, such as Grunions, is certainly a plus. We all agree, Ron is certainly an asset to our team as is Myra, Mary, Jennifer and Patty. We are so happy you were able to experience our outstanding staff. It was our pleasure to meet your standard of accomodations so please visit us again soon!

Yours in Hospitality
Kimberly Reyes
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Overall a great price. I felt it was a little pricy, but still a great stay at comparable rates for other hotels. They were currently under construction for their new building. Free breakfast, free parking and free wifi is always a plus. The wifi didn't work that great though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you, Tyler D, we appreciate your business and nice comments! We are happy to see that you felt the pricing was worth it. Our complimentary services and our newly renovated rooms are certainly a plus. Af the beginning of the Front Office renovation late September, we did have a few network interruptions because the servers were being relocated. We suspect this was what may have affected your wifi speed during your stay. For this, we sincerely apologize.

We look forward to the completion of our front office and breakfast area renovation in April. We hope to see you again by that time or even before!

Yours in hospitality
Kimberly Reyes
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have stayed at Residence Inns' in other states and have been very impressed. This experience was quite a disappointment. Here is a summary of our experience.

The good:
Location is close to Target, plenty of restaurants and not far from Manhattan Beach
The staff was very friendly!!
The room was clean (except the smell) with modern decor
Full kitchen, well stocked
EXCELLENT BREAKFAST

The disappointments:
The pool was completely torn up the entire time we were there
Although the room was clean it smelled like animals (we even moved to another room which smelled equally as bad)
The closet in the downstairs bedroom stunk of animal so bad we lived out of our suitcases the entire time we were there
The BBQ grill was dirty, nasty dirty
As other reviews stated, the soundproofing is poor so if you are a light sleeper take warning
The "courtyard" of our building (11) was not inviting at all. We anticipated being able to sit out there, BBQ and enjoy the California weather
The upstairs bathroom vent did not work
3 out of the 4 room keys we got did not work
That evening when we went to chill and watch TV we could not get a clear picture on the TV in the livingroom. We checked the connections, didn't help. (We did not even bother to report it as by this time we were pretty much over it all. We normally don't do that but we were so disappointed by the room change, keys not working and the smells we were just done)

Although it's always a disappointment when your hotel doesn't live up to your expectations, it was even more so as we had anticipated spending time at the pool, BBQ'ing, etc. The pictures on the hotel website are a far cry from property we experienced. We do a fair amount of traveling (especially my husband) and sometimes the pictures are a bit skewed but these were pretty far off.

Total bummer!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We appreciate your honest evaluation, 1tranquilgirl. While we are thrilled you enjoyed the location, staff, clean room and breakfast, we sincerely apologize, on behalf of our entire team, for not exceeding your expectations. Please know that your satisfaction is important to us and I will be using your feedback to review the events of your stay with all of our associates so as to implement improvements for a better guest experience in the future.

Yours in hospitality
Kimberly Reyes
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis MO
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The property is a typical updated Residence Inn. The rooms have clearly been updated with modern furnishings and decor.

However it is clear that corners were cut when the property was originally built in the soundproofing areas. You could hear everything going on outside and in neighboring units: bathroom fans, dishwashers, people walking, television/music, flushing toilets, doors closing etc. I've stayed in other Residence Inn properties and this seems to be among the worst I've experienced with this issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is nice, the desk clerks were very friendly, they had a very good breakfast buffet and the rooms were clean (with the exception of some microwave cookware in the cabinet that appeared to have cooked food stuck on it), and the decor is modern. However, sleeping was difficult due to being able to hear many sounds from the room above ours. I could even hear a child talking. Some additional soundproofing is needed, in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeedhamAl
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn for six nights during a recent family trip to Southern California. For those who haven't stayed in the LA area, choosing a hotel requires balancing price against location. Sure, Santa Monica and Beverly Hills are more convenient, but far more expensive. This hotel is about a 10-minute drive from the LAX terminals, and a 20-40 drive (depending on traffic) to Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, or West LA, and given LA's horrible traffic, that's convenient. Additionally, downtown Manhattan Beach is less than two miles to the west and the beach towns (Manhattan, Hermosa and Redondo) are fun and worth seeing. But convenience isn't the only thing this hotel has going for it. The free breakfast is plentiful, the rooms clean and spacious (and bedding super comfortable, as is usually the case with Marriott properties), and the service quite responsive. They also rent bikes on-site, and you want to take advantage of that; there's a bike path that goes along the water from Redondo Beach all the way to Malibu, some of which I rode. The ride is positively gorgeous. There's also a Target just a block away, which we frequented for all sorts of things. The other fun and convenient jaunt I would suggest is to take a short ride (about 15 minutes) south to Silver Spur Road in Rancho Palos Verdes at night, where you'll get an amazing view of nearly all of LA.

The building where the front desk and breakfast room are normally housed is presently being renovated but the impact was non-existent during our stay.
j

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Los Angeles Lax/Manhattan Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Residence Inn Los Angeles Lax/Manhattan Beach Hotel
Residence Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Residence Inn
Address: 1700 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.