We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs soundproofing between floors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach to your Saves list
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Needs soundproofing between floors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is nice, the desk clerks were very friendly, they had a very good breakfast buffet and the rooms were clean (with the exception of some microwave cookware in the cabinet that appeared to have cooked food stuck on it), and the decor is modern. However, sleeping was difficult due to being able to hear many sounds from the room above ours. I could even hear a child talking. Some additional soundproofing is needed, in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    138
    30
    18
    11
See reviews for
120
64
28
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NeedhamAl
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn for six nights during a recent family trip to Southern California. For those who haven't stayed in the LA area, choosing a hotel requires balancing price against location. Sure, Santa Monica and Beverly Hills are more convenient, but far more expensive. This hotel is about a 10-minute drive from the LAX terminals, and a 20-40 drive (depending on traffic) to Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, or West LA, and given LA's horrible traffic, that's convenient. Additionally, downtown Manhattan Beach is less than two miles to the west and the beach towns (Manhattan, Hermosa and Redondo) are fun and worth seeing. But convenience isn't the only thing this hotel has going for it. The free breakfast is plentiful, the rooms clean and spacious (and bedding super comfortable, as is usually the case with Marriott properties), and the service quite responsive. They also rent bikes on-site, and you want to take advantage of that; there's a bike path that goes along the water from Redondo Beach all the way to Malibu, some of which I rode. The ride is positively gorgeous. There's also a Target just a block away, which we frequented for all sorts of things. The other fun and convenient jaunt I would suggest is to take a short ride (about 15 minutes) south to Silver Spur Road in Rancho Palos Verdes at night, where you'll get an amazing view of nearly all of LA.

The building where the front desk and breakfast room are normally housed is presently being renovated but the impact was non-existent during our stay.
j

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Room was clean and equipped with a kitchenette. Full size fridge, microwave, cooking surface etc. It would have been nice to have a few more dishes, there was only settings for 4 and there were 5 of us, but it all worked out. Bed was good and the kids slept on the sofa bed and had no complaints. Breakfast was great. Something different for the main entree every day along with waffles, toast, bagels, juice...Staff was nice and helpful when we asked for extra towels and toiletries. Shampoo and Conditioner were Paul Mitchell brand which was really nice in comparison to some of the stuff in other hotels. Lots of drawer and closet space for an extended stay. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
410 reviews 410 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here for a week recently on a visit to LA and was happily pleased with this location. They have daily activities throughout the week in the lounge of the hotel designed to get guests acquainted with one another and enjoy free lounge food. One night there was a poolside barbeque, another night home made tacos, one night karaoke. The hotel rooms have been recently renovated so it's quite nice in the rooms throughout the hotel. It attracts a very nice clientele and the parking lot was full of luxury cars of all varieties so you'll feel safe parking here.
There is a Target Store practically next door to the hotel if you need any food/drinks for your room. All rooms have a kitchen with full size refrigerator, stove and microwave. Breakfast is served each morning in the lounge/kitchen across from the front desk. I was very impressed by the friendliness of the hotel staff. They truly make an effort to learn your name and care about the quality of your stay. Made quite a few new friends here among the other guests staying here during my stay. The nightly fellowship is a lot of fun. There's a nice pool here as well as a basketball court and coin laundry for resident/guests. Upstairs from the lobby there is a small, but well appointed fitness center. I look forward to staying here again. Great central location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear gadgetguy63,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience at Residence Inn Manhattan Beach! We value our guest's feedback. I'm delighted to read you found our evening hospitality hour to be a funa nd enjoyable experience. You are correct, the hospitality evenings are meant for guests to socialize and get to know one another. Our poolside BBQs used to be every other Tuesday, but due to popular demand, we decided to have them every Tuesday during the summer and they have been a great hit with all of our guests!

Our property is conveniantly located within walking distance to several stores, shops and of course, the beach! I am glad you enjoyed yoru stay with us. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience on TA. We look forward to welcoming you back to MB if you are ever in the area again.

Yours in Hospitality,

Edward T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The bed was comfortable and the room was clean, in a cute little townhouse looking hotel. It was about a 5-10 minute drive to the action in Manhattan Beach. The complementary breakfast was really tasty.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Newly renovated rooms. Super clean. Breakfasts were amazing. So many food choices. Staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Two minute walk to Target. Five minute drive to beach/pier. Location was great for getting to LAX. Family and business friendly. We would definatly stay here again. Even though it is on a busy street, trees and hedges seem to take care of street noise. Pool area is very nice. Laundry facilities were handy as well.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear wichs,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your most recent visit to Residence Inn Manhattan Beach. I am delighted to learn that our property suited your needs. We take great pride in providing great service. Our room renovation was completed on June 1st of this year and so far all guest feedback has been great. Our breakfast and social hours are a big hit with our guests; I am glad you enjoyed them as well.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience. Should your travels bring you back to Manhattan Beach, please do not hesitate to stay with us, we love welcoming back old friends!

Yours in Hospitality,

Edward Torices
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Freewater, Oregon
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I havie been using hotel whenever I am in LA for business and it has always been great. Most Residence Inns are great, but they always make my team and I feel comfortable. Never a problem and if there is they are right on it. Great people.

Room Tip: If you like hot tubs be sure to request a room near building 17 or 15 the center courtyard has a hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Address: 1700 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Los Angeles Lax/Manhattan Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Residence Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.