We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan Beach Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Manhattan Beach Marriott to your Saves list
Manhattan Beach Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Parkview Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3714   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel is nice. The room was very nice and the hotel has a golf course behind it. The view overlooking the golf course is gorgeous. There are alot of restaurants in walking distance. The negatives were 1. You have to pay for parking 2. WiFi is not free ($12.95/day).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Very happy to hear that you had a good stay at the Manhattan Beach Marriott! Looking forward to seeing you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    150
    84
    31
    22
See reviews for
82
72
29
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Avoid this hotel. As a platinum member, I got the worst room. Imagine what they will do to a non platinum member. Room was super loud due to issue with kitchen ventilation near by. Manager promised 25000 points, but that never happened. Avoid this place at all cost.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your candid response regarding the room type you were given on your last visit. As a Platinum Member your business is greatly valued and your loyalty is appreciated. I do apologize for the room that you were given on this particular visit. I would like to ensure that the points promised are applied to your account. If you could message me off-line with your full name and rewards number, I will take care of this immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel was very disappointing. Upon arrival, the lobby seats were extremely dirty. The outside seating was also dirty. This hotel needs a remodel or to clean up that lobby area. The concierge was very knowledgable and helpful. I got the run around about the room, received a view of the parking lot instead of golf view room. Maybe they're savoring those rooms because the hotel didn't appear to be full. We kept getting different stories as to why no room with a view of the golf course. The staff seems to do a lot of standing around watching television on the lobby floor. The rooms were nothing special but clean. Good housekeeping service in the room. It's close to the airport but I expected better for the price. The food was fair (appetizers) but this hotel was quite disappointing.

I would not stay again. I would not recommend this hotel. I must give them a 1 rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
I truly value your feedback and appreciate the time you took to complete the review on your recent stay. I would like to know more about your stay so that I can have a better understanding of what occurred and will reach out to you off-line to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip. The positives are the proximity to LAX, the restaurant, and the friendliness of the staff. The negatives were the unusable wifi (dial-up would have been quicker) and the cost of parking. Rooms were nothing special, TV picture was terrible. I'd stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your observations of the Manhattan Beach Marriott and taking the time to review the property. Our location and proximity to great restaurants, airport, beach and shopping venues is truly a plus to staying with us. I am very happy to inform you that the hotel is in the process of upgrading the internet infrastructure in the hotel and should have this complete by mid January. In addition - HD equipment is being installed over the next couple of weeks so that all of our guests can enjoy in room entertainment at the highest level. I hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future so that you can experience these new upgrades to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pt. Pleasant, NJ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had 3 very pleasant nights at the Manhattan Beach Marriott. We spent two days at the Breeders Cup at Santa Anita, and while this hotel was bit of a hike to and from the track each day, it was less than one mile from our friends' home (who were joining us at the races both days.)

The hotel is very convenient to LAX, as well as the many shopping centers, supermarkets, restaurants in the area. There are actually two supermarkets within walking distance from the hotel, the Bristol Farms market was particularly nice.

We arrived about 6 PM on a Thursday night and were able to take advantage of the Concierge Lounge for snacks, desserts, and a glass of wine (which you do pay for.) The food was good and plentiful. On Friday morning, we also had the hot breakfast in the lounge, which once again was great. Eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, granola, pastries, etc. On Saturday and Sunday mornings, the lounge was open for breakfast only, although it was continental style (no hot foods, except for oatmeal.) As usual, there were plenty of free daily newspapers available, plus of course, bottled water, soda, coffee, tea.

The front desk clerk who checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful, as was the Bell Desk team. The lobby is large and attractive - typical of most full service Marriott's. We did have drinks one evening at the lobby bar, where service was attentive.

Our King Bed room was large and clean. We weren't in it much, so the most critical thing for us was the comfortable bed and good shower pressure. The room décor was just okay, we both felt it looked a little tired. We were staying on Cat 4 certificates (booked before the hotel went to a Cat 5) so our 3 nights were free - except for the parking fee. None of the other Marriott properties in the area (except right next to the airport) charge a parking fee. I found it just silly to charge $21. To be honest, we probably could have easily parked in the adjacent shopping center parking lot, but since we were staying for free - we paid the fee.

We didn't use the pool or gym, but they both looked nice. We did go jogging on a great wood chip trail through Manhattan Beach and along their strand (the boardwalk along the ocean.) Very nice!

If the parking fee was eliminated, I would most likely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Glad to hear that you had a nice and relaxing stay! I appreciate your comments regarding our friendly staff as that is our most valued asset. We hope to see you again the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just returned from 5 nights at this great hotel. It was our second visit. Upon entering the hotel, you are greeted by a warm and welcoming lobby environment. So California! Our room was lovely -- overlooking the golf course. Couldn't ask for a nicer vista. Beds were comfortable and the room actually had drawers where we could unpack our clothing. So many hotels don't have this very basic necessity. The breakfast food is a bit expensive, but the setting both indoors and out is so pleasant. My family loved the pool and the surrounding area. The staff were friendly and helpful. If we return to Los Angeles, we will surely stay again in this great hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with the golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Manhattan Beach Marriott is sort of a misnomer, as it is not really close to the beach. In fact, it is likely on the outer most-skirts of Manhattan Beach, closer to Lawndale than the beach. Located in a somewhat industrial type setting, it is fairly close to Fry’s Electronics, and an entertainment complex of sorts is within walking distance which includes a McCormick & Schmicks and Arclight Theater.

Despite it’s semi-industrial and corporate location parking is a shocking $18 night.

Upon entering the hotel from the self-parking garage, after passing a number of ballrooms the front desk is located to the right. Check-in was efficient. All Marriott Platinum amenities were clearly explained, including the fact that the Concierge Lounge was actually open for breakfast on the weekends. I inquired about the weekend hours, but apparently the lounge is only open for breakfast. As the lounge was closed when I checked-in, I was given several bottles of water.

I was given a room on the Concierge Lounge level with a room overlooking the hotel’s Executive Par 3 Golf Course. A somewhat pleasant surprise for a hotel in this area to have its own golf course, even if it is a pitch and putt course.

Upon entering the room, the bathroom is on the right. There is a single sink with ample counter space. There are Bath & Body Works toiletries, which are slightly better than hotel branded products.

There is a shower/tub combo with good water pressure and temperature.

The bedroom is fairly spacious with plenty of space to maneuver around the two beds in the room. Unfortunately, outlets are not conveniently located next to either bed. The beds are somewhat firm and slightly uncomfortable for my taste.

There is a wooden dresser with a flat screen TV on it. Although channels are somewhat limited, there are enough options to pass the time.

The desk is on the smaller size, and has the “under desk” that seems to be a fixture in many of Marriott’s properties. Although it does “expand” the size and work area of the desk, this does not seem very convenient for me when I am working. Although I do like a lot of desk space, the configuration of this set up does not work for me.

The coffee maker was placed on the desk, which made the working space even tighter.

There is a small sitting area in the corner, which probably does not get much use except for people using it to hang their clothes or place their suitcase on the chair.

Although Marriott now has a policy of having the Concierge Lounge open in many of their properties on the weekend for breakfast, I did not have a chance to visit the lounge on this visit.

If given the option, I would almost always choose to have breakfast in the restaurant rather than a lounge.

The Manhattan Beach Marriott is a clean, comfortable hotel located fairly close to the airport. I had a pleasant stay here, but wish the parking fee was a little lower.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manhattan Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Beach Marriott

Address: 1400 Parkview Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3714
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manhattan Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manhattan Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Beach Marriott Hotel Manhattan Beach
Marriott Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan Beach Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.