We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average, watch the add-on charges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan Beach Marriott

Save Saved
You added Manhattan Beach Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Manhattan Beach Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Parkview Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3714   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Surf
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Manhattan Beach
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very average, watch the add-on charges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located near popular Manhattan Beach in a office towere area so expect some driving time to the beach. The rooms are below standard for a Mariott: no paper and pencil, beds are saggy...Breakfast is a "bargain" at 24$ per Person and self parking cost the same per car and day. Although the hotel is nice and quiet and a good place to stay you can do better in LA for this price

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we're sending you a private message now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    134
    72
    25
    21
See reviews for
68
65
25
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was there for the recent LA Pen show. My room over looked the golf course which was very nice to see each day. The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer giving recommedations for local restaurants and attractions such as how to get the the nearest beach. I was there for 3 day and would go back in a minute. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The inhouse restaurant was good. Local dinning was in walking distance and all were great. I look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We're very happy that you enjoyed waking up to a beautiful golf course view while staying with us! We hope you had a wonderful time exploring Manhattan Beach, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family and I wanted to visit LA to do the "tourist things". The past few times here on buinsess I stayed downtown but we wanted someting calmer for a vacation. Also we were expecting to spend very little time at the hotel except maybe for breakfast and of course to sleep. We were a bit hesitant but as soon as we pulled up we made the right choice. The arrival was very nice the property is up-to-date clean and modern. I only stay at Marriotts throughout the country and have to stay by far this was the best staff I ever dealt with. From valet, to the front desk to the restaurant. Also, the neignborhho nearby is safe and nice and if you feel like grabbing something quick from coffee to dinner you can walk. We had breakfast in the hotel whihc was very nice and included a nice slection. The restaurant faces the pool and gold course. We only had one issue one of our neds was comfortable but the other was like sleeping on a hill. When we aksed they did change it out but the second was not much better. Regardless, I 100% recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Wow, we are so honored to have the best staff out of every Marriott you have encountered! Thank you for the amazing review. We apologize for the bed issue, but we're so happy that you had a wonderful stay in Manhattan Beach otherwise! We hope to see you and your family again on your next trip to Los Angeles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Since my last bad review on the Manhattan Beach Hotel, I've stayed there 4 more times, and happy to say it has been perfect each time. Spotless rooms and speedy service. In addition, the neighborhood nearby is very safe, so walking to a restaurants it great, and there are tons of choices ... from 5 star to a Subway Sammy take out. There is also a Whole Foods nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the golf course. (all others will view the parking lot.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
It's great to hear from you again! We're delighted to hear that your recent stays have been perfect. Great tips on our room views and nearby dining options as well (Whole Foods might be our favorite). Thank you so much for giving us a second chance, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Manhattan Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was in town on business and chose this hotel due its location. The arrival experience was excellent, friendly bellman, beautiful lobby and helpful smiling front desk agents. My room was clean and just what I would expect from a Marriott. I slept great and enjoyed the fitness center. I booked the concierge level and the breakfast was hot, and served with a smile! I’ll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! We're so happy that everything met your expectations, and we can't wait to have you back on your next business trip to Manhattan Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here to attend a nearby wedding. Our experience was extremely average. The room was clean but nothing special. The bed was too soft and lumpy; the mattress needed to be replaced. The sheets -- seemed old and not very soft.

But the worst part of our experience was the customer service. As we were driving into California from Las Vegas, we called the Manhattan Beach Marriott to see if they could make me reservations at a nearby spa/salon. The person who answered the phone spoke very poor English, and then transferred us to the Concierge, whose English was just as bad. He couldn't recommend any nearby spas with the exception of a Strip Mall salon nearby.

After a couple minutes of searching online on my own, I found that Murad's global headquarters are right across the street from the hotel and they also have a lavish spa and salon for skin, hair, and nails. I can't believe that I found that on my own and the hotel Concierge didn't direct me there -- it is literally a walk across the street!

All in all, our experience here was completely average; luckily most of our time was spent away from the hotel.

P.S. I HIGHLY recommend the Murad Spa across the street. It's an easy walk away and a great place to relax and recharge during your travels!

Room Tip: A good room? Book Concierge level if you can. If you like the Marriott brand, try a nearby Ritz-Carl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We are sending you a private message.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with large, comfortable rooms and fine service. I go there every year in February to attend the Los Angeles Pen Show. The rooms with balconies looking out on the golf course and ponds are superb. It is close to Los Angeles Interntl Airport, and there are fine restaurants nearby -- within walking distance. It is always a pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out on the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
The pleasure is all ours! Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We're so happy to have you as a regular guest, and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manhattan Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Beach Marriott

Address: 1400 Parkview Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manhattan Beach Marriott 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Manhattan Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Beach Marriott Hotel Manhattan Beach
Marriott Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan Beach Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.