We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crimson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crimson Hotel to your Saves list
Crimson Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The first room we were given was an absolute dump. The safe didn't work, the fridge didn't work and there was a massive iceberg in it, sink didn't drain, bathroom door didn't close and it was a queen bed and I had paid for a king. We told Reception that we wanted to move in the morning and we were given a much better room with a king bed and everything in working order. The pool area was a bit odd and there was only about a foot of space around the pool so you had to chase the sun around all day, The sauna and spa didn't work. The area is good with a fantastic Sports Bar and Gill (Grunion's) just down the road and a Jack in the Box across the road and a Target a few minutes walk away. 20 minute walk to the beach and only 3 miles to LAX. I probably would stay again just for the location.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 123 it is horrible. Room 225 has a spa in the room and pool facing rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    22
    16
    18
See reviews for
13
29
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our second time at this Manhattan Beach hotel. And there's a reason to why we went back. Partly because we like the area and partly because we think the Crimson is worth the money. And we were not disappointed this time, either. It's a low budget hotel and don't expect more than that. You get what you pay for. The only thing I am missing is a decent breakfast. The continental breakfast offered at no extra charge is not worth going up the stairs for. We went across the street to Jack in the Box instead. Crimson is only a short 10 minute walk from the nice pier and its surroundings on land. Enjoy Manhattan Beach before it gets spoiled.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The email from the hotel told me their free shuttle ran til 9pm. When I arrived at LAX and called them I was told no, it stopped at 8pm. Just added $25 to my bill for a cab. Apart from that, everything else was fine. The whole place is a bit worn but the staff were friendly, the room was big and clean. Shower was good. My room had a big hot tub bath in the middle of it! Ask for room 225!

The rooms are arranged around an open courtyard filled by the swimming pool. Breakfast was pastries, coffee, juice and cereals. The beach is an easy 30 minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: I would ask for upstairs at the back for quietness but 225v is big and has the tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife, son and I spent 10 nights here on holiday from the UK and got exactly what we expected, a no frills hotel with all the essentials. Although a bit dated the room was a good size, clean with comfortable beds. The breakfast wasn't much but it was something and it was FREE, as was the parking. Having the pool was great just to dip in and cool off, the sauna not working didn't bother us. Every member of staff was helpful and polite. When we had an issue with our safe the maintenance guy and manager came round within 20 minutes and managed to get it open. With a good range of restaurants close by and a 20 minute walk to the beach I would use this hotel again if visiting this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place was located in a great area. Next door was a combo El Polo Loco Chick/Foster Freeze Ice Cream place and across the street was a Jack in the Box. Down the street was a Target and Ralphs Grocery. Torrance Memorial Hos Urgent was conveniently nearby and only an hour visit, 20 min across and down the street was Manhattan Bch of which I walked almost all 13 days. Variety of restaurants within 5 to 10 mins. The bkst would have been better w/waffles or even wheat toast for their selections. The covered FREE parking, microwave and refrig was a big plus. The desk people were very kind and helpful for most part. My 2 teenagers were bummed cuz the 1st couple of days the jacuzzi was broken. The sauna was never fixed during our stay even though the desk said it would be only a couple of days. We were placed in very nice quiet corner room. The room was a bit outdated, especially the carpet but for most part we were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as we had a good experience and placement
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Location was great. Rooms were a nice size for our family of 5 - loved having the adjoining rooms with two bathrooms, however, the carpet was FILTHY, noisy corridor (could hear every door opening and closing), the spa didn't work the entire 8 days we were there and there was no way you could sit around the pool. The staff was excellent, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very average, would have liked it to have some healthier options and maybe waffles for the kids.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are away from street noise and corner family suite is very nice with a large f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Large rooms, but need new carpeting. The staff was so great...friendly and helpful, but the hotel is dumpy. Large bathroom, but the wallpaper was coming off, needed repair. Sauna and spa were NOT working and the sister hotel next to it (The Wave) had no working sauna either. The continental breakfast was fine and the staff kept it well stocked and clean. This is an affordable hotel for the area with free covered parking and seemed to be in a fairly safe neighborhood. They offer some wonderful hotel amenities...soap, toothpaste, iron/ironing board in bathroom, safe, microwave, refrig and coffeemaker, but the rooms need to be updated. But then...the prices will go up!

Room Tip: Ask for a room off Sepvuleda Blvd as it is a very busy street in the a.m. Rooms in the back are pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crimson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Hotel

Address: 850 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crimson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crimson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crimson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.