We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, old dumpy hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crimson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crimson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crimson Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Manhattan Beach
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location, old dumpy hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The rooms with the spa tubs are big. It appears clean but the room smelled like mold. The rooms are dark & dingy. I went out to the pool, super cold, ok no biggey they dont heat it but I got in the spa & it was freezing! I turner on the suana it didnt work either.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    20
    14
    15
See reviews for
11
25
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
HONOLULU
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights over the Memorial Day weekend and found it to be a fairly safe place with no low life types in surrounding area. The rooms were spacious enough and clean. Free covered parking and elevator. The continental breakfast was enough and the room had a nice view of the main street. Water didn't smell of heavy chlorine like the other LA places we've stayed. No pets. I would highly recommend this hotel. We had a king bed and I didn't feel any movements. Slept really good. Nice pool and jacuzzi. Not a whole lot of traffic when getting out from the hotel. We had a small refridge and micro wave that I didn't see listed on the hotel's website amenities. Front desk staff was very helpful.

Aloha!

Room Tip: Most rooms are going to be the same. I would take a 2nd floor rm. People slam their doors, you going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

For a few days layover in LA enroute to Hawaii this was the perfect hotel. Great price for the area, good beds, clean, good towels and linens. Our room was away from the main road - facing the pool area - the result was an extremely quiet room. The rate includes a continental breakfast. The staff are most helpful. The parking garage below the hotel is most convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

About 1 mile to the beach. Limited breakfast. Older but clean. Staff was nice enough. Pillows were awful.. Free airport shuttle was convenient. Pool was ok. For the price it was good but call hotel direct cost may be cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were looking for a decent hotel near Manhattan Beach and found the Crimson Hotel.

The hotel is about a mile off the beach, but an easy bike ride. The beds are comfortable, the rooms clean and quiet. It's location on Sepulveda can be a blessing or a curse. The curse is the traffic noise at the front of the hotel (but we didn't hear a thing from our room midway back into the outlay of the hotel).

The pool and hot tub are nice, but inside the walls of the surrounding rooms.
The breakfast is very forgetable. Cereal, a few muffins, some juice and coffee are basically it.
I also got an accidental wake up call at 4:30am that I DID NOT request.

But for the cleanliness, price and location, it's a decent deal.
It's certainly not one you would want to book for a honeymoon, because there's little charm. But we extended our stay because of the value.

Room Tip: Rooms mid to back are quieter, but the road facing rooms also face the ocean. Not sure if they'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel was a last minute choice since we were visiting redondo beach (about 10m away) and didn't plan on staying there. Nonetheless, this hotel turned out to be a decent choice and good value. For about $140 we got a two-bedroom suite with 3 queen beds. It is fair to say that they gave us a free upgraded since there were five of us and they didn't have a roll away bed available.
Anyhow, the bedding was comfortable and the room spacious. Staff was also helpful, especially when our toilet begun to overflow. They were very quick to change the room for us. We understand that "accidents" happen and they were quick to fix it for us so that made easier to give a good review.

Would I recommend? Yes, just don't expect the free upgrade. If possible get the suite. I know that made a difference in enjoying my stay here.

On a side note; if ordering in. Get pizza from Amici pizzeria (I think that's what is called) .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I only picked this hotel because i had to stay in Manhattan Beach. but i still thought that this hotel wasn't value for Money. The room was clean and as mention b4 is closed to beach. the toilet was noisy and light wasn't working. the place needs renovation and the breakfast don't even bother thinking about it, it is hobible

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crimson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Hotel

Address: 850 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crimson Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crimson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crimson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.