We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crimson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crimson Hotel to your Saves list
Crimson Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

About 1 mile to the beach. Limited breakfast. Older but clean. Staff was nice enough. Pillows were awful.. Free airport shuttle was convenient. Pool was ok. For the price it was good but call hotel direct cost may be cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    22
    16
    17
See reviews for
12
29
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were looking for a decent hotel near Manhattan Beach and found the Crimson Hotel.

The hotel is about a mile off the beach, but an easy bike ride. The beds are comfortable, the rooms clean and quiet. It's location on Sepulveda can be a blessing or a curse. The curse is the traffic noise at the front of the hotel (but we didn't hear a thing from our room midway back into the outlay of the hotel).

The pool and hot tub are nice, but inside the walls of the surrounding rooms.
The breakfast is very forgetable. Cereal, a few muffins, some juice and coffee are basically it.
I also got an accidental wake up call at 4:30am that I DID NOT request.

But for the cleanliness, price and location, it's a decent deal.
It's certainly not one you would want to book for a honeymoon, because there's little charm. But we extended our stay because of the value.

Room Tip: Rooms mid to back are quieter, but the road facing rooms also face the ocean. Not sure if they'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel was a last minute choice since we were visiting redondo beach (about 10m away) and didn't plan on staying there. Nonetheless, this hotel turned out to be a decent choice and good value. For about $140 we got a two-bedroom suite with 3 queen beds. It is fair to say that they gave us a free upgraded since there were five of us and they didn't have a roll away bed available.
Anyhow, the bedding was comfortable and the room spacious. Staff was also helpful, especially when our toilet begun to overflow. They were very quick to change the room for us. We understand that "accidents" happen and they were quick to fix it for us so that made easier to give a good review.

Would I recommend? Yes, just don't expect the free upgrade. If possible get the suite. I know that made a difference in enjoying my stay here.

On a side note; if ordering in. Get pizza from Amici pizzeria (I think that's what is called) .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I only picked this hotel because i had to stay in Manhattan Beach. but i still thought that this hotel wasn't value for Money. The room was clean and as mention b4 is closed to beach. the toilet was noisy and light wasn't working. the place needs renovation and the breakfast don't even bother thinking about it, it is hobible

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I liked this hotel it was clean and our room had a jacuzzi tub ! Which I didn't expect. The breakfast was good had all the basics. It was in the center of everything and I would stay there again. The staff was very friendly and helpful I really liked this place and it was only 12 minutes from LAX

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Yes, this place was relatively inexpensive. But with old, tired rooms, scary carpets, the smell of other guests smoking pot and yet others talking loudly into the night, this is not the place for me. Was supposed to stay here for two nights, but had to check out at 7a the first morning. There are other options nearby that are not too much more expensive but dramatically better in quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Along the Pacific Coast Highway lies this former Comfort Inn. The location is good for people, who want to stay near the ocean without paying a million bucks for it. The hotel itself is nothing special. It's a run down, old motel with heavy carpeting and outdated bathrooms. The central courtyard has a small, but nice pool area. We stayed in a lower level room behind the pool and it was very dark no matter what time of the day.
The hotel was selected due to its location near the beach. It served that purpose well – Manhattan Beach is not nearly as noisy as its southern neighbor, Hermosa Beach.
The continental breakfast served is basically useless. It might be continental – but there should at least be more than cereal and a dry donut.

Bonus info: This hotel is close to filming locations for Beverly Hills 90210

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crimson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Hotel

Address: 850 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crimson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crimson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crimson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.