We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel for a family celebration enhanced by an upscale beach community.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Belamar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Belamar Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Manhattan Beach
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful hotel for a family celebration enhanced by an upscale beach community.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

My wife and I chose The Belamar to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary and her 70th birthday with our children and grandchildren. We had previously taken day trips to Manhattan Beach and were taken by the community. A problem developed with the suite we had reserved, and management quickly stepped in to make a private room available to us for the weekend. This more than compensated for the absense of a suite in which our family could gather. The entire staff couldn't have been more accommodating throughout our stay. We took full advantage of the restaurant which we found to be quite good--breakfast lunch and dinner. We took walks on the trail which ran from just outside the hotel down to the center of Manhattan Beach and paralleled the ocean on down to Hermosa and Redondo. There was no lack of fine restaurants in the immediate area, as well as a Trader Joe's and Whole Foods.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    146
    45
    20
    11
See reviews for
78
132
53
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We had a great California vacation over the Christmas / New Year holiday period. We were 2 families with kids ranging 5-9 years staying for 9 days. The value was excellent in relation to the price. We booked as part of a package through Orbitz. The staff at the desk was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, well-furnished - including DVD player.

The restaurant - Second Story was a real find. The food was excellent and was a great value for the price. The breakfast buffet included made to order eggs, waffles, pancakes in addition to the buffet items. Priced at about $13 and $8 (kids) it was well worth it. The evening menu was high- quality food with real value for the money.

Pool and hot tub were very nice. In a shetered area with sun and no wind so even the very cold days - by local standards- were nice by the pool.

The valet parking service and bicycle rental with helmet was FREE! Great staff, very friendly and helpful.

The wifi internet signal was easy to use and receive and also free. Only downside was the speed limited at 500 kbps.

I would highly recommend this place. Location very convenient 3 miles south of LAX but far enough away not to be an "airport hotel" in the negative sense. Nice location near shopping beaches and freeways. Manhattan Beach has a nice beach community feel-- similar to Pacific Beach in San Diego. The beach is not far but not a short walk. This is where the bicycle is very handy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed two nights over New Year's 2011 at the Belamar Hotel. The prior reviews are spot-on with regard to service, as we were greeted cheerfully by front desk and parking valets throughout our stay. The hotel is convenient to beach towns, LAX, and freeways.

The room itself was small, and the carpet was stained in several places. After one night of walking around with white socks, we had brown socks. The bed linens were clean but one of the bathroom towels was stained. I am a stickler for spot-free hotel rooms and the Belamar was substandard in this regard. On night #1 we used one of the two mugs and one of the two glasses, and these were removed upon cleaning but not replaced. During both nights I was awoken at least 2 times by a dog barking in a nearby room, and a couple more times by the noisy heater-air conditioner kicking on and off. Until they give the rooms a deep-clean, I wouldn't recommend this property to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbeedon, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Dear TacoMel,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Belamar Hotel. I was delighted to read you felt our service was cheerful and the hotel location is convenient.

I was disappointed however, to read of your comments regarding the condition of the carpet, but I am happy to let you know we are in the process of replacing the carpet in our guest rooms. In fact, we are mid-way through the project now. When you return, I am certain you’ll be happy with the luxurious new carpet and pad.

Additionally, your room is scheduled for a deep clean in January but we have moved it up on the schedule based on your comments and will have it deep cleaned right away.

Thank you again for your feedback TacoMel and thank you for staying at the Belamar. I look forward to meeting you in person when you return.

Happy New Year!

Tom Beedon
General Manager
Belamar Hotel and Second Story Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

My husband and I live in Hermosa Beach and recently had to stay in a hotel while our floors were being redone. We wanted to stay local, not break the bank and the catch was we needed to bring our dog along with us. Although she thinks she is a lapdog she is not small. The staff at the Belamar was friendly, helpful and gets two paws way up from Beatrice. The room service was surprisingly delicious and the bed was very, very comfortable. As with all renovation, we ended up needing to stay two extra nights and the front desk hooked us up and we were able to check right back into our room without any hassle. Thanks to the staff we look forward to putting up out-of-town guests there in the future and coming back whenever we need a place away from home.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

The Belamar is a real treat! Funky decor and the beds are the most comfy of any hotel; hotel staff is professional & friendly; we enjoyed the on site restaurant, with its high end food, cool decor & lounge music; we were able to watch the B ball game yet the TV doesn't dominate the room. We appreciated the hot soak in the upscale outdoor spa too. The hotel offers valet parking but we prefer to park on our own to access the car easier.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. Not the greatest curb appeal, but very nice inside. Clean, comfortable and updated rooms, exellent staff. Walkable to two malls and the beach. Very convenient to/from LAX.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

This is a great place to stay in LA.
Easy to get to and from all the great beaches.
Close but not too close to the airport.
Great atmosphere inside...kinda retro and hip.
DVD checkouts at the front desk and a heated pool/jacuzzi were a hit w/the kids.
Friendly staff.
Bikes to use on the strand!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Address: 3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Loews Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Amex, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belamar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.