We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Belamar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Belamar Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Manhattan Beach
Southern California, USA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A gem...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

Our family of four (children ages 19 & 12) just returned from a perfect weekend in Manhattan Beach spent at the Belamar Hotel. This hotel was booked for us by a third party and was a gem! Neatly tucked into a residential neighborhood, one would never guess it was located across the street from a mall with movie theaters and near a major intersection making for easy access. Starting with the cheerful valet service (complimentary parking), the warm welcome from the front staff and the lovely and intimate ambience of the lobby, our family felt right at home the moment we arrived. There was a slight unrecognizable odor in the third-floor hallway which lingered during our stay but it was not terrible and was not present in the room. The tasteful decor of the room was extremely pleasing and we had no complaints about the size or layout. There was a refrigerator, robe(s), iPod speaker, free wireless internet (both in the room and in the business center), and other features you would expect such as good climate control, coffee-maker, room service and wide movie selections. As mentioned in other reviews, the bed and bedding were excellent. We asked for two doubles which meant we only had a choice of the "traditional" rooms. The "deluxe" rooms, which we understood were not all that different but were facing the courtyard, only have one king bed. We had no trouble with our traditional room that faced a quiet side street (and not Sepulveda Blvd). I want to mention again the services available in the business center "corner". There were at least three computers and a printer plus a timetable of the airlines at LAX, all free and available 24/7. My first order of the day was Happy Hour at the hotel bar/restaurant Second Story. With drinks and appetizers at half price (except for wine), my daughter and I shared a hummus appetizer with pita bread and small vegetables that was more than generous and delicious - a great bargain. Later we explored the outdoor heated pool and whirlpool and though we did not go in (the day was in the 40's), it was very appealingly laid with tile reminiscent of a Roman pool. The Second Story restaurant experience was so positive that we returned again for dinner and for two breakfasts. (With the cool mornings and unheated cups, our coffee would cool down quickly but when requested, the servers immediately replaced it with fresh cups of coffee.) At dinner we had two appetizers of fondue and coconut chicken (still at half price with happy hour going until 7pm), halibut, macaroni with four cheeses, blackened chicken salad, fish and chips (made from thick halibut), a to-die-for apple lace pie, coffee, and two glasses of Chardonnay for $110 including tip and tax - it was not only delicious but a bargain, worth every cent. A fun touch was that your bill came to you presented in a hardbound book. A novel idea (no pun intended). I ended up borrowing one of them to read during my stay,,, The best part of the weekend was yet to come - the walk to the beach and the sunset. Right outside of the Belamar, there is access to an easy walking trail of woodchips that takes you to the beach in about 25 minutes. Our family commented several times on the politeness of the drivers towards pedestrians, and - don't laugh - the laid-back dogs which my husband described as all "beach dogs". We saw many dogs being walked that weekend and never heard a single bark. On our second night we witnessed one of the most beautiful sunsets of our lives and enjoyed several hours walking on the sandy beach and the pier. With shops and restaurants nearby, Manhattan Beach is a perfect get-away. I would absolutely recommend the Belamar Hotel to anyone who wanted to add that extra something special.

P.S. Did I mention the warm homemade cookies in the afternoon?

  • Liked — cleanliness, decor, service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    146
    46
    20
    11
See reviews for
79
132
53
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

Booked hotel through third-party website. Very pleased with value received and facilities provided. The free valet service saves $19 a day that are charged at other area hotels. Check in was quick and efficient as was baggage handling to room. Free wireless was available( not used) and free internet / printer use (first floor) to print out boarding passes was very useful; I appreciated the convience and not being nickel and dimed.

Rooms were good, facilities were generally in very good condition and in working order. Some background traffic noise was evident with closed windows. Room service was quick, although menu selection is a little basic and portions adequate.Food quality was good

I was pleased with the value I received and would stay there again if a competitive rate is available directly from hotel.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Occasional Traffic Noise
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, OR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

I loved my stay at the Belamar. The staff went out of their way to take care of me and my family. The restaurant was awesome. The skirt steak is to die for and the bread pudding out of this world.

Beds super comfy and just a great place.

The Belamar Rocks!

  • Liked — the service...best service ever
  • Disliked — workout room needs some work
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

Girls weekend in Manhattan Beach and we had a great time. Great location but you'll definately need a car.

Pros:
Very cute decor, courtyard and pool are great for lounging around, complimentary valet, and verrry comfy beds.

Cons:
Staff for the most part was very friendly except for the Front Desk girl that checked us in was not so welcoming. We had asked for 3 room keys and if there were definately 2 beds in the room. She made us feel like we were the biggest incovenience when checking in. We ate at the hotel restaurant one night and the meal was good, I think it would have been better if our waitress was a little friendlier and attentive though. She had clearly forgotten to order my friends soup and didn't want to admit to it since all the entrees had arrived. When we asked about it, she responded in very shord tone that it was coming. Well it came...20 minutes later...it was just a bowl of Shrimp Bisque???

  • Liked — decor and portraits in the hallways
  • Disliked — smell in the hallways
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We stayed for a week at the Belamar after cancelling our booking at the Marriot in Torrance .

The Belamar is small enough so the staff all know who you are and greet you by your first name , we loved the cookies at the front desk in the afternoons and the FREE valet parking which after paying $17 a day at the Marriot was a welcome change .

We stayed in room 103 which had a balcony the looked out onto a wall but other than that the roon was a generous size with King Bed and coffee making facilties and fridge .

The bed was superb and we had a very restful nights sleep . The windows opened out so we could get fresh air if we wanted .

The breakfasts were all al la carte and were nicley presented .
The Manhattan breakfast which at $10 was well priced included eggs any style ,choice of breads , potatoes any style , meats including breakfast sausage ,ham ,bacon .

At night time the bar had a happy hour which was very good value as the bartenders poured very strong drinks that only required 2 drinks or you were too tipsy to order more !

All in all a great small hotel that will appeal to some one who has transport , saying that though it was across the road from a mall with shops and restaurants but not within a short walking distance of the beach .

  • Liked — Small intimate hotel
  • Disliked — No tea
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

Stayed in the Belamar Wed10th September for 2 nights.
Pretty disappointing overall......
We asked to check in when we arrived at 2pm...no room available ...staff were unhelpfull, they did not offer any advice on hotel facilities etc...
Found out the pool was closed for our whole stay due to maintenance ! only found out from the guy cleaning the pool when I asked!!!!
Hotel Gym (joke)called "Adrenaline "is a small bedroom with a couple of dumbels and 3 aerobic machines....
Walls and ceilings so thin we could hear the people above at 6am and the dodgy corridor music as well.
The hotel is in a nice spot a walk from the beach and the restaurant was very good for our last dinner before we flew back..service was top notch and food very good.
valets were very helpful and got car quickly and ansered ?'s in a friendly way

  • Liked — Restaurant and location
  • Disliked — Staff on front desk and pool closure
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

Nice boutique hotel, big rooms, great beds, full bathroom (although you cant get into the shower without shutting the bathroom door) and nice big balconies.

However although the staff is nice they consistently were unable to actually resolve any issues or concerns whether due to inability or lack of accountability just a sheer willingness to get you off their back (which seemed to be the prevalent attitude-as in yeah I hear you but there's not much I can do but I'll do my best to get you away from the front desk-case in point-I had asked for a quiet room on the top floor with a balcony yet was given a room on the second floor right next to where the staff go in and out with the service carts before/after and event several times as early as 5:40 a.m.!) When I mentioned it they tried to move me to another room which was right next to the street (so not quiet) and it was already occupied-good thing I didn't walk in on someone.

Note that although the insulation between rooms (the walls) was adequate there is no insulation between floors so if you want to sleep you'll need to be on the 3rd floor plus the room doors have no tension on them so they slam full force and literally rock the house.

Housekeeping has some rather inconsistent policies for a hotel that bills itself as eco-conscious/green; constantly replacing my soap bar after one use, changing my sheets and towels when I specifically requested them not to and failing to restock shampoo, coffee, sweetner etc..

If you want to use the pool call ahead to see if it's not under some kind of maintenance. Also be aware that there is an event in the pool area daily sometimes two, although they end at a reasonable hour-you'll have to listen to the staff and their carts before and after sometimes as mentioned earlier as early as 5:40 AM!

Lots of little glitches and minor details makes me wonder how the hotel actually runs as well as it does. Overall a nice property for the money, clean, good location, great restaurant and don't let them tell you they can't move you because you booked through Orbitz.

  • Liked — Nice color palette, free wifi, goo dlocation, great restaurant
  • Disliked — Absolute lack of follow up or accountability
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Address: 3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Loews Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belamar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.