We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bella Belamar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Belamar Hotel to your Saves list
The Belamar Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% Now!
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bella Belamar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed at the Belamar Hotel for three nights over MLK weekend. What a wonderful boutique hotel. The staff was so friendly and helpful in every way possible. I personally enjoyed their fruit flavored water of the day and the serene pool set up through the courtyard. The housekeeping staff seemed ever-so present and it made me happy to see the care and time they put into keeping their hotel a beautiful place to stay. The decor was modern and warm and the beds were super comfy. The hotel is conveniently located close to the amazing restaurants of Manhattan and Hermosa Beaches. The only thing I can suggest for this place was that they include individual safes for each room. These days, with lap tops, ipads, nooks, iphones, cameras, etc., I'd have felt a lot better leaving for the day knowing my personal belongings were locked up.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie T, Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Shanna,
We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are actually in the process of adding in-room safes so thank you for feedback! We hope to have you back as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    168
    48
    20
    14
See reviews for
96
152
59
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My son and I stayed at The Belamar Hotel in Manhattan Bch for the 2014 Auburn/FSU BCS Title Game. It's a hidden little jewel and I really liked this hotel. It was very clean; very comfortable bed and the staff was very nice. No hidden WiFi or parking charges. If I went back to this area, I would stay at The Belamar Hotel and I am a picky person. If you're looking for luxurious granite, spacious lobby area with waterfalls and an atrium, this "ain't" it but I was more than happy with my stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Excellent, We love the welcoming feeling we receive each time we arrive, guest rooms and staff friendly and the most comfortable luxury beds.!!!! Housekeeping was wonderful,the jacuzzi and pool ,despite the cold my daughters enjoyed the pool.We will come back again!!!

Room Tip: good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We arrived to the Belamar on the late side, exhausted. When we got to our room, we had 2 full beds rather than the King Deluxe that we'd reserved (and paid more for). Given that I was 6 months pregnant and we were hoping for a nice romantic stay, the king bed was important enough for us to pay more for to ensure the bedding we wanted. The front desk was helpful in that they brought up a new key to relocate us, however when we went to our second room it ALSO had 2 full beds. We called back down, but exhausted, decided just to try and fix it in the morning.

In the morning we were told that because we reserved through a 3rd party, we weren't guaranteed a specific bedding type - luckily I knew better, and knew that we'd actually paid for the upgraded room and guaranteed bedding (had I not known I'm sure I would have just taken his word for it). Once I'd convinced him, he was helpful and found a nice king room for us.

Once in the room, we were happy with it - very comfortable bed, spacious, everything we needed. Sleep was lovely in the room, except that the smoke detector seemed to be on the fritz - it beeped one night while we were sleeping. We didn't do anything about it, since it seemed to only happen once. The next night, it happened again, so I called down to the front desk at 4am - clearly I'd been asleep when I called. I was really shocked by the person's response - laughing, he asked me "Well, are you smoking???" It was pretty rude! I told him, "No, we're asleep." He told me that there was nothing he could do, and to disable the smoke alarm. Pretty sure that's against some sort of code!

Lots of pros to our stay, despite the issues, include: mostly friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast at the hotel restaurant, very comfortable room and bed, lovely little pool area - while not warm enough for swimming it was a relaxing place to sit and read and enjoy the outdoor space.

Room Tip: Rooms really vary - know what you're reserving and be sure you get what you paid for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie T, Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear PhillytoBoston,

Happy Holidays and thank you for being our guest. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay regarding your reservation details. I have shared your comments with our Front Office staff and we are taking the appropriate measures to improve our service to our valued guests. Please let me know the next time you are in Manhattan Beach and I would be more than happy to take care of your reservation details. Again, thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Belamar is essentially motel style, but which has been refurbished to try and give a touch of “glam” Los Angeles. It is about a $15 – 20 taxi ride from the airport.

My stay wasn’t great.

On checking in, the receptionist spent all the time on the telephone; in between him talking to the caller, I asked for a quiet room (and had even emailed the hotel a couple of days beforehand requesting one, although didn’t get any response/acknowledgement), but ended up being assigned to a very noisy room on Sepulveda boulevard. Be aware that this is an extremely busy road day and night and there is very little sound insulation from the windows.

The noise continues.... thin walls, thin ceilings (you will hear WC flushings), a very noisy heating/air conditioning unit (too noisy to have on and sleep through).

The room didn’t have all the functionality I would have liked eg no in room safe, no minibar (though there is a fridge), no international electric sockets, no kettle (there is a coffee machine, but not able to make tea/chocolate). But there were a couple of varieties of coffee creamer in the service tray, including French Vanilla and Hazlenut coffee mate, which I guess is different from most hotel offerings. In the bathroom, the cold tap on the washbasin wouldn’t turn off, so this meant a continual trickle of water. Wi-fi worked fine and was included in the room rate.

The room service breakfast I ordered was the “healthy” option, but unfortunately the turkey and omelette was served in a pool of vegetable/cooking oil, which also made the bread very soggy and inedible.

The ground floor of the hotel, near the elevators, was always very scruffy and messy, with all the dirty linen and towels strewn on the floor, empty bottles/used room service trays, etc – not creating a favourable impression.

On the other side of Sepulveda, less than a 5 minute walk away, there is a shopping mall, with stores such as Macy’s and Apple, plus a reasonable selection of restaurants. However, when I asked at reception for where I could go for a walk from the hotel, the receptionist (a different person from the one mentioned above), just shrugged his shoulders.

On a more fun note, all the neighbouring houses had very ornate and elaborate Christmas lights/decorations covering the entire house, garages, gardens, which were quite fun to look at.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie T, Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for your insight and thoughtful feedback regarding your stay. Please accept my sincerest regrets of the inconveniences and shortfalls you experienced during your stay. It is not typical of the service we strive to provide for our guests. I have shared your comments with our staff and respective departments and we are taking the appropriate measures to improve and address the issues you experienced. Please let me know the next time you are in Manhattan Beach and I would be more than happy to take care of your reservation details so you can truly experience Belamar hospitality. Thank you for being our guest and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

One of theose trips where what could go wrong did. Brad Evans the evening staff was excellent. He was the only one working the desk yet was able to assist me with all my needs , answer the phone attend other guest all the while a Chrismas funtion going on in a sold out hotel. He remained calm and collective with a smile on his face at all times. I was very impressed.

Room Tip: You are in a residential neighborhood so off a main road, so you can ask which side is the most quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I'm sure in the 60's or '70's this may have been a delightful property. But with the Aquamarine wall coverings, and things in the room that didn't work, it's not ready for prime time by any means. The place needs some modernization.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie T, Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear DadTraveler001,

First of all, I would like to thank you for being our guest. We value your feedback and have shared it with our staff. We actually have some exciting plans in the works and would love to have you back as our guest once we have completed our scheduled enhancements. Please contact me at mtennant@thebelamar.com so we can handle your reservation details the next time you are in Manhattan Beach. Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us, we won’t disappoint the next time you are here!

Melanie Tennant
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Address: 3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belamar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.