We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find, but worth the stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Belamar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Belamar Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth the stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

First the negative: Sepulveda is a very long road, so make sure when locating this place, program Manhattan Beach and not LA into your GPS. My friend and I got lost looking for the hotel, and checked in almost 2 hours later than intended.

Other than that, service was excellent. The staff was helpful with directions and gave us a free breakfast voucher to make up for our late check in. Room was clean and well furnished. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm S, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear STWFANG,

We are glad you finally found us and that you enjoyed your stay. We are somewhat of a hidden gem in the neighborhood and are happy to hear our staff took great care of you. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    154
    44
    20
    12
See reviews for
83
136
54
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I hosted a work conference at The Belamar Hotel and was blown away at the help and attentiveness I received from the staff. They did everything possible to make this day perfect for my participants. Shannel and the food service staff went above and beyond taking care of every little detail as quickly as possible. The in-door/out-door venue was beautiful and so nice to eat lunch outside after listening to presentations all morning. The food was so delicious! All the participants mentioned how great the food was. I highly recommend The Belamar and working with Shannel on any event you are having. It's a hidden gem in Manhattan Beach!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm S, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Traci-

Thank you for such kind words about our services here at the Belamar! I am so glad that your conference was a success and your participants were able to enjoy the courtyard. I have shared your comments with Shannel and the entire team who were very appreciative of your feedback and kind words. Thank you for allowing the Belamar to be part of your event and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

After reading reviews on here, I was hesitant as some TAers complain about the location. Glad I ignored those reviews. Lovely hotel. Great vibe. Yes, you need a car --- its SoCal (Manhattan Beach, not Manhattan!). Grocer, restaurants and shop within short walk. Easy access to main drag and to freeways. Rooms are very nice. Staff is well trained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm S, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Jack J.,

We are also glad that you were able to enjoy the location of the Belamar Hotel. It is very convenient to the beach as well which is less than 1.5 miles away and can be enjoyed using our daily bike rentals. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for the kind comments! You’re Gonna Love it at the Belamar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We got married here in 2007 and have been back to celebrate our anniversaries. I love the vibe and the staff is very friendly. Super relaxing for a weekend away. It is not walking distance to the beach but they do loan out bikes to get there. Request a room away from Sepulveda.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm S, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Welcome back Amy H!

Thank you for staying at the Belamar Hotel and we are so happy we could be part of your anniversary celebrations. It is always so nice to hear about our guests who got married at the Belamar. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A well-situated peaceful haven for vacation or business. Very comfortable, clean and nicely appointed. Helpful, friendly staff always make my stay enjoyable. Easy access to major hgwys and the airport. Many excellent restaurants nearby but the hotel's is more than adequate for a quick bite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm S, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Bob,

I want to thank you for your feedback. We have shared it with our staff and they were very appreciative of your comments. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations. Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very modern decor and wonderfully located. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed. It is conveniently located by a trail "Woodchip Lane" where you can walk, jog, or walk your dog all the way to Manhatten Beach pier. The hotel also has bikes available to rent. Even though it is by a main highway, you do not hear the noise. The service was great...everyone was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm S, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Good Morning Sandy,

First of all, thank you for being our guest. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Belamar. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Tried the hotel during a recent 2 day visit to company headquarters near Manhattan Beach. The only hotel I have ever stayed in, in my life where the gym does not open till 10am. Very disappointing and no mention of this on website. Never heard of a hotel whose gym was not either 24 hours or opens at 6am.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm S, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear TravelingfamilyNJ,

I am very sorry that you were not able to use all of the services that are provided at the Belamar Hotel. I can certainly understand how you would have been disappointed to not be able to exercise in the morning.

In case you weren’t aware, there is a wood chip trail which is conveniently located next to the hotel and will take you to the Manhattan Beach pier.

Your comments were shared with our team so that we can handle these types of situations more efficiently. I do hope you give us another chance and come back soon to enjoy the Belamar experience as it should be.

Thank you for keeping us informed and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Address: 3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belamar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.