We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you like to exercise in the morning” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Best prices from these 11 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Belamar Hotel to your Saves list
The Belamar Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you like to exercise in the morning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Tried the hotel during a recent 2 day visit to company headquarters near Manhattan Beach. The only hotel I have ever stayed in, in my life where the gym does not open till 10am. Very disappointing and no mention of this on website. Never heard of a hotel whose gym was not either 24 hours or opens at 6am.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm S, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear TravelingfamilyNJ,

I am very sorry that you were not able to use all of the services that are provided at the Belamar Hotel. I can certainly understand how you would have been disappointed to not be able to exercise in the morning.

In case you weren’t aware, there is a wood chip trail which is conveniently located next to the hotel and will take you to the Manhattan Beach pier.

Your comments were shared with our team so that we can handle these types of situations more efficiently. I do hope you give us another chance and come back soon to enjoy the Belamar experience as it should be.

Thank you for keeping us informed and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    154
    44
    20
    13
See reviews for
83
136
54
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed two nights here post cruise. The Hotel is nice as is the restaurant. It`s clean and updated. Close to the airport and a mall across the street. It`s not really close to the beach or in a tourist area so there isn`t much around you really need a car and valet parking is the only option at $10 per day plus tips.

The rooms are large as is the bathroom and TV surprisingly.

Pool and hot tub are in the outdoor court yard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm S, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Scott6428 from Toronto!

Thank you for staying with us at the Belamar Hotel. I am glad you were able to dine in our Second Story Restaurant, the #1 rated restaurant in Manhattan Beach on TripAdvisor. As you are aware, we are located near the Manhattan Beach Village Mall where thre are many stores to shop at including Macy’s. We also have bike rentals available which is a convenient way to head to the beach which is less than 1.5 miles away. Thank you for taking the time to share such nice comments about our hotel and come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I spent two nights here after deliberating whether to stay at a boutique hotel like this and pay a little extra or to stay in a less expensive chain hotel closer to the airport. I was travelling alone. This was perfectly positioned- close enough to my favourite food store in LA - Wholefoods Market- and across the road from Macys and other shops. The hotel staff were friendly, hotel was clean and modern and the food at the restaurant was great. Would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm S, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear TrishyAuckland,

We are so glad you chose to stay at the Belamar Hotel! Our hotel is located less than 3.5 miles from the LAX airport which is very convenient for travelers. Your kind comments were shared with the hotel and restaurant staff who take pride in providing such friendly service. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon. You’re Gonna Love it at the Belamar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Located c 4 miles south of LAX and ideal for a few days relaxtion following 10 hour flight from the UK.
Room was okay nothing special, service very good and we booked a bed and breakfast break. Located about 30 minutes walk from the beach, but a very pleasant walk down pedestrian pathway.
We also took advantage of half price dinners served between 4-7 pm and very good value and excellent food.
Would definitely look to stay here again, mix of business and leisure guests. Used as a base for both the beach and trip to Universal Studios - c 40 minutes drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm S, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear RusikC,

Thank you for staying with us at the Belamar and making our hotel your home for a few days. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our Second Story Restaurant as well as our local beaches. We also have bike rentals available which is a quick way to get the Manhattan Beach pier. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewey Beach, Delaware
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Belamar overnight on the 8th of September during our 50th wedding anniversary trip to enjoy a Tahitian Society Islands cruise. We had booked a room as a restful sleepover travel respite during our return flight itinerary from Tahiti back to Philadelphia. The room was very nice and there were no disappointing surprises. It was a Sunday night and occupancy was not excessive, so their response to our requests was timely. I had phoned down to the front desk before turning in for the night and asked if they would have a cab ready at the lobby at 4:15 A.M. so that we could catch our flight back to the East Coast. I set our room alarm clock radio for 4:00 A.M. as a precautionary to wake up on time, but it wasn’t necessary. We went down to the lobby at 3:50 A.M. and learned that they had not called and reserved the cab as requested, but immediately called and it did show up about 15 minutes late, but was not a problem. Upon check out, their bill listed a charge of about $160 for “internet service” which I questioned and complained that I may have to communicate this to Tripadvisor. They said it was not written properly as it should have said for the balance of the room rent and there was a second charge for a room service meal that we ordered and enjoyed for $75. Then the one night clerk on duty checked his computer reservation data and said that this was in error and the room rent had been prepaid which I already knew. Then he said there would be no charge except for the room service meal for two of $75. I asked if he could print out a receipt accordingly which he did. I was satisfied that he had removed that exorbitant internet charge, but thought the room service charge for dinner for two was a little high for what we got. They told me the hotel was about 30 to 40 years old and had fairly new owners whom had completely renovated it into a retro contemporary style of the 60’s & 70’s. I commented that I thought they had done a wonderful job in this. They actually had a replica of an antique contemporary style stool in the lobby where there was a lovely retro fireplace too. I would recommend the Belamar Hotel to all, but suggest they closely scrutinize their bill for “mistakes”. However, yes we will return.

Room Tip: Room 165 was a quiet room yet close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

An excellent place to stay - central to other cities -and close to LAX, Manhattan Beach and a shopping mall.

The staff a very helpful and smiley.

The deluxe room was a good size with the most amazing bed. Amenities were top notch.
There are nice elements of chic art and eclectic home wares around the place - such a great style!

Room service breakfast and lunch was amazing. Internet is complimentary which is amazing.

The Belamar hires out push bikes which is a good option for getting to Manhattan beach pier.

Room Tip: Internet is complimentary which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel had a retro modern look to it. It was VERY nice! Offered Valet parking for $10 a day! Totally reasonable and worth it! The front desk was very helpful and provided us with directions, information and extra items we needed. The room was spacious, clean and beautiful! The decor, the vintage looking phone, the internet and the little bottles of soaps provided were all unique! The beds were comfortable and the elevator was awesome! Lights, and mirrors!! Wish we wouldve stayed here our entire trip! Very close to Manhattan beach pier and Hermosa for night life!!! EXCELLENT!!!

Room Tip: I dont think you could get a "Bad" room at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm S, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Yluv4,

Thank you for your feedback, we have shared your feedback with our staff and they were very appreciative. We take pride in being unique and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, We hope to see you again soon the next time you are on the West Coast in our area. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Address: 3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belamar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.