We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but not near the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Belamar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Belamar Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel but not near the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This really is an excellent hotel as long as you are not that bothered about being near the beach or the centre of the town as it is a good 20 minute walk away.
We stayed in a junior suite which was massive and very clean and had a very comfy bed! We asked for a quieter room as we had read on here that some rooms are noisy which now I understand why. It is right nice to a very very busy 3/4 lanes road and if you were unfortunate to get one of the rooms near this then it could be a problem. But we had a suite overlooking the courtyard which was great. Breakfast was marvellous and we also had dinner in the restaurant which was again extremely good. The staff were very pleasant and overall, despite its location, it is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm S, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear MAK100,

Thank you for staying with us and it looks like you were able to enjoy breakfast and dinner in our Second Story Restaurant, the #1 rated restaurant in Manhattan Beach. The next time your travels bring you back to the Belamar Hotel, we do have bike rentals available where you can enjoy a 1.5 mile ride to the beach area. I shared your great comments with our Executive Chef and restaurant staff who were very appreciative. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you soon. You’re Gonna Love it at the Belamar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    139
    43
    19
    10
See reviews for
77
130
52
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Belamar is the perfect place to stay for business or pleasure! A jewel of property well taken care of, the staff very friendly and service oriented that you as a guest feel right at a Luxury Home!!

From the moment you pull in on property, you are in for a treat. We have stayed twice, once on business the other on pleasure and the reception just gotten better.

The rooms, linen, housekeeping, cleaning, service and even upper management are there to make the stay worth coming back!

Appreciate the staff, first, for their dedication and commitment to Service and Quality! Thank you to all. Will come back again to stay!!

Room Tip: Any one will provide you with a nice rest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel made us feel good from the moment we arrived. When we walked through the front door, the lobby felt bright, fresh and stylish, and the staff was friendly and efficient. The spacious room was attractive, clean and comfortable. There were nice little features, including complimentary glasses of fruit infused water in the lobby, a lovely interior patio, reasonably priced parking, and free WiFi. A 20 to 30 minute walk down a bark chip path leads to Manhattan Beach and the surrounding area full of restaurants and shops. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm S, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear je-voyage-partout,

Your wonderful comments about the Belamar hotel were shared with our entire staff this morning. It was great to see that we met all of your expectations during your stay with us. I am so glad that you were able to utilize the features that we provide during your stay like the complimentary fruit infused water and free WiFi. The bark chip trail is also a great way to get to the beach from our hotel, which sounds like you enjoyed as well. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you soon. You’re Going to Love it at the Belamar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I were heading to LA for three nights as our daughter was graduating as a yoga instructor and we wanted to be there. We found the Belamar on line and decided to give it a try. It exceeded all of our expectations in every way. Amazingly curtious and helpful staff, spacious room, modern elegant decor, and the restaurant, Second Story, with food that was 'Spectacular'. Its location is convenient to all beach points, airport and downtown. All in all, it is where we will stay next trip to LA and I recommend it without reservation. (of course you'll need a reservation).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

What a great place to stay - more so if you have a hire car - as it is near the beach - but you must look at Hermosa, Santa Monica, Venice beach etc...down the coast
The staff are so friendly - I felt like I was staying with friends
The room are clean - I understand it has recently been renovated - a friend who had been before said it was excellent since the reno.
Very suitable price as it is not on the beach - but near shops etc..would definitely stay again

Room Tip: not really any "better" sides due to location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

There are so many things that I want to say, and I'll say a few to get started:

Wonderful people, both in the hotel and the restaurant!. Loving, committed,friendly,dedicated, attentive,passionate about doing a great job.

Please let everyone know that we are so delighted with the wonderful service and love from your team!

Beautiful hotel. We had a wonderful room, with the balcony looking over the courtyard.

Grounds and interior look great, as well as restaurant. We ate almost every meal at the restaurant and it had exceptional food, a fantastic breakfast with both a buffet and orders from the kitchen, and we never got tired of eating at the same place during our stay. In fact, it was wonderful to come back to a place where we knew the staff and have a great meal at our own hotel. Very relaxing!

Great location! I had several trips to LAX. Fantastically convenient. Definitely a great incentive to stay an ongoing basis as a return customer.

Cool design of hotel, restaurant and grounds.

Great Happy Hour!

I could go on. I just want you and everyone to know that your hospitality, generosity and graciousness is much appreciated and is unforgettable!

Lots of love and respect, and see you when we come to LA again!

Room Tip: I loved our room which had a working balcony overlooking the patio, spa and pool. Although the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

my wife and I love coming to The Belamar. the rooms are all great , and beds are just awesome - always a great night sleep. the valet parking is free as well as the internet; with all these other hotels nickel & dimeing you on these charges, it's nice to see The Belamar provides it at a good rate

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection
Address: 3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Amex, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belamar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.