We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get-away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Belamar Hotel to your Saves list
The Belamar Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Burbank, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great get-away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

For a year I had worked on Rosecrans Bl so was aware of this hotel at the corner of Rosecrans and Sepulveda. That was twelve years ago, so when I got the urge to spend a weekend at the beach I looked into it and now it is Belamar. What a great location - close enough to walk to the beach (it is a bit of a hike, but the dedicated walk path is really pleasant) and near shopping and restaurants. My room 211 had a balcony facing the interior patio and was just above a fountain, which was nice burbling ambiance. Clean and comfortable bed, and loved the Philosophy bath products. The front desk was friendly and efficient - my DVD player wasn't working so they swapped it out when I went for a walk, and had the movie on "pause" for my return. Loved the on-site restaurant for dinner and a martini, and the next morning's breakfast buffet was delicious, too. Would offer a "5" rating but I have to agree with other reviewers who said the place is a little "tired" -- Will not deter me from staying again, I really liked it here.

Room Tip: Be aware some of the rooms on the east side might have traffic noise, and you might enjoy your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    159
    45
    20
    13
See reviews for
85
142
57
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at The Belamar for 2 nights on a business trip. Rooms are spacious and clean. Desk staff welcoming and helpful. Walking distance to Manhattan Beach on a dedicated walking track - takes 20 to 30 minutes depending on walking speed. The restaurant/bar is great value and serves good quality food. Evening happy hour with some meals half price. Breakfast is plentiful and well presented. Fitness room is small with only four machines but all were in good condition. Overall a good choice for business travelers as it's close to the airport with easy access to various arterial routes.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here over night while on a lay-over transiting through LAX. Close to the airport and an easy walk to Manhattan beach pier and shopping district. The staff were very friendly and found everything to be to a good standard. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

It's an old hotel that has had a makeover some time ago, but needs a bit of a spruce up now. Having said that the room was comfortable & well appointed. The staff were friendly & efficient. As the hotel is away from restaurants I ate in the in-house restaurant/bar on two nights. It was really good & enjoyable. It is well priced for what it offers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was picking my wife up from LAX after a long 15hour flight, I wanted to make sure that our room was comfortable and relaxing.

I picked the hotel because of the bathtub, but was very impressed with the staff and how friendly the night crew were. they made sure that everything was comfortable and ready for my wife and I when she arrived. They went above and beyond the call, by having the robes and slippers ready in the room. They also upgraded my room and made a lot of recommendation of place to eat. They also told me the quickest way to get to the airport and beach.

If more hotel had this kind of customer service the world would be a beautiful place. This place made us feel like we were part of their family. Thanks Belamar, see you on our next LA trip.

Andy and Yuki

Room Tip: Don't matter just take care of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Arrived on a business trip straight after a 11 hour flight into LAX. The hotel is a short drive from the airport. Rooms are comfortable with good amenities. We were very hungry and got a nice dinner at the Hotels restaurant. The staff are very nice and Manhattan Beach is a great area to stay in. Fairly reasonable price as well. I did not give 5 stars because the decor is a little bit dated and the hotel could do with a refurb.

Would consider staying again when in LA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here for 1 x week in September whilst on a training course and I have to say that even though I am easily pleased this hotel was really good. It is not too close to Manhattan Beach per se, but as a lover of walking anyway this did not pose a problem. It is over the road from the Manhattan Beach Shopping Centre where there is a very nice California Pizza Kitchen. I did particularly enjoy my chats with the Brazilian Valet parking chap in the mornings whilst waiting for my taxi.

Overall a really pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Address: 3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Loews Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belamar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.