We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy boutique hotel with some minor flaws to work through...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Belamar Hotel to your Saves list
The Belamar Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% Now!
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Trendy boutique hotel with some minor flaws to work through...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My fiance and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is a popular spot for weddings and had a nice restaurant with happy hour. Every day, they offer complimentary fruit infused water which is delicious!

The staff is very nice, but seem restricted in what they can do. For example, we arrived 13 minutes before check in and we were told we were too early and could not check in yet. The valet wouldn't even take our car. The folks working at the reservation desk explained that they have no flexibility when it comes to this. We also were not allowed to have a late checkout.

Also, I had to call billing today because I was charged for my stay twice -once through Orbitz's website and once through the hotel. People at the front desk should know not to charge cards if third party companies were used for payment.

Finally, the hotel is not walking distance to the beach. I would recommend that the hotel set up a shuttle service to make beach and town access more convenient.

Nevertheless, we would stay here again because we feel confident that the hotel is willing to take feedback and get better at what they do to provide better services to their customers

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    171
    49
    20
    14
See reviews for
100
152
59
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NORTHRIDGE
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Booked sat Aug 11th and paid $210.00. Even though sat night, thought it was about $50 bucks overpriced. No views except inner garden if your lucky enough to get one of those rooms. Ours was #133 which is great with a walk-out balcony. Pool area is a joke, skip it its tiny. Rooms are very comfy and spare no extra room, but very comfy bed, decent shower, sink etc. Fridge to stock up is nice too. Hotel itself not much to do inside, went to overhyped 2nd story restaurant was average, nothing to write home about. Lobby is small and besides some cool furniture nothing to do whatsoever inside the hotel. Its about 10 min from beach driving, 25 min with some grueling ups with bikes, which ARE NOT FREE. They charge $20 per bike per day. Its very fun though if you are in fair shape. Beats quarter time limit zoo of a parking down to the beach.
Yes they have tap water with a few drops of fruit in there, and ding dongs. who cares. I like that its kinda hidden from hustle and bustle, and room was very comfy including the bed. Hairs in the shower and toilet seat upon check-in just bothers the heck out of me; wasn't first time I've experienced traveling and certainly won't be the last.
Valet parking $10 bucks a day, just do it even the residential streets have parking meters this city is sick.
Overall, good hideaway place to crash for a night or two, just expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed twice in June and July this year and both times had a fantastic stay. I was on a work trip both times and stayed with a group of colleagues the first time and travelling alone the second.
The hotel is really accessible to LAX and you always get a warm welcome from the reception team. The rooms themselves are really well designed and really comfy. The beds are amazing! The room comes with a huge flat screen tv, free wifi, and in the bathroom you have the coffee maker and some lovely Philosophy toiletries.
The food at the Belamar is good too. The breakfast is good value at $14 with eggs, pancakes and waffles all cooked fresh to order. Dinner is pricier than some of the restaurants around and the food is pretty good, although I prefer the Tin Roof Bistro across the road in the shopping centre.
The pool and the gym are also good.
The hotel is pretty conveniently located too. It's about a 20-25 min stroll to the beach or a 5 min bike ride.
All in all a great place to stay - I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Pros:
Hotel is nice. Employees are helpful and nice. It's valet only parking. The bar upstairs is really yummy. Close to the airport and nice overall with an upscale feeling to it.

Cons:
My room had a wheelchair friendly (accessible) shower, which was odd.
House keeping left my bed half made and the rest of the bedding and pillows just sitting on one of the chairs, it wasn't inconvenient but it was sort of weird. They also didn't replace the (empty) bottled waters in my room.

Great hotel, I'd stay again, but they just need to work on their attention to detail-

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel has been updated from its previous incarnation, and they've done a good job. However, you can still see spots that have not been updated (old green carpet) and there are a few things that were annoying (the bathroom door bashes into the shower, the lock on the balcony door was kind of dinky). That said, it was quiet and restful, and the service was great (front desk, valet, room service). Great restaurant too. One shortcoming is that it's fairly far from the beach, and there are no restaurants around which are walkable from the hotel. Other than these issues, it was a good stay and I'm sure they'll improve things with time.

Room Tip: I didn't find that the room with a balcony was worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Belamar and enjoyed the hotel and service very much.
3rd floor, king sized superior bedroom overlooking the patio, excellent bed and nice furnitures. Toiletries from Philosophy! Hotel located 1 mile from the beach, macy's and mall close by too. Breakfast was excellent, buffet and hot dishes to order separately but all included. Nice infused water available anytime in the lobby + chocolate cakes... yummy! Would stay here again when in LA.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Belamar and appreciated the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. It was amazing! We had a double room with two queen beds, and learned to our dismay that only rooms equipped with one king size bed (and an optional cot if you want it) offer a small balcony with a view of interior courtyard. We would have liked that view better than our parking lot view, but preferred two beds. (we were colleagues sharing a room on a business trip).

The hotel has been around since the mid-60s or so, and they've done a nice job with updates....except for the air conditioning which, in our room, stopped working one night. After a bit of confusion....and a sleepless night in a "sauna" -like room, they got it fixed and we were fine. They were even nice enough to treat us to breakfast at the onside restaurant which was very nice.

The beach is a mile or so away and they offer free bikes, but we decided to drive instead. There's a big mall across the street in case you forget anything, but despite all this activity, our room was very quiet (except for a car alarm that apparently woke my roommate up two nights, but that I never heard.)

We liked the free ding dongs -- yes, THOSE chocolate bombs from your childhood! -- available at the front desk and the lovely citrus infused water in the lobby that we helped ourselves to all the time.

The staff was very fun and friendly without being cloying or weird. I think this is a great place to stay for a free days and a little jewel of a place.

It turns out the "bela" part of the hotel name refers to their mascot "Bella" whose poster-sized photos are sprinkled throughout the hotel. All very fun.

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
MLBPlant,

Thank you for the kind words and I am glad we were able to make your stay at the Belamar hotel an enjoyable one. All of our guests love the Ding Dongs and yes, they are one of those childhood treats that you just can't resist! Just to let you know, we have begun our air conditioning project and soon all of our rooms will have brand new units. Thanks again for the kind words and we look forward to providing you with the highest level of quality and service if your travel needs ever bring you back to the Manhattan Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Address: 3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belamar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.