We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Belamar Hotel to your Saves list
The Belamar Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I decided that Labor Day we needed to get out of LA and The Belamar was the perfect get away.

We packed up on Saturday am and took a lovely drive down to Manhattan Beach (only 45 minutes away). On arrival at the hotel we were met by friendly staff and taken to our room.

We rented the Deluxe King Suite and it was lovely. Filled with art deco furniture and our own private balcony that over looked the pool/spa and courtyard.

The room itself was just the right size with a great bathroom, lovely toiletries, IPOD speakers and an amazingly comfy bed.

After checking in we headed to the pool for an hour before taking 2 of the free Belamar Hotel's bicycles down the wood chip trail to the beach (15 minute ride).

We ended up at North End Cafe and sampled some of the most amazing cuban sandwiches before walking around the shops, cafes and finally ending up on the pier to watch the sunset. Very romantic!

We then headed back to the hotel to the in house resturant for a few cheeky cocktails and some snack food. Decent prices.

Its a perfect place to stay as its not in the hustle and bustle of the beach but yet close enough that you feel just a stones through away.

I would highly recommend it if you just want to get away for a short time!

Loved it and will be back!

:)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    159
    45
    20
    13
See reviews for
85
142
57
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had a wonderful stay here! I am a flight attendant so I know my hotels and this one was wonderful! The front desk was friendly and helpful, the rooms were quiet and clean, the restaurant was REALLY good!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed at the Belamar Hotel in Manhattan Beach as my high school reunion was going to be there. The room was very nice and the breakfast in the morning was outstanding. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. I would definitely stay there again. I had reserved the bed and breakfast special online several months in advance.

Room Tip: Look at the specials that include breakfast as it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

From the minute we checked in to when we departed, the staff at Belamar did everything to make our stay comfortable and trouble-free. I'm very fussy about noise and the one caveat I would caution visitors about is the hotel's proximity to Sepulveda Blvd, a main thoroughfare in L.A. I tried three rooms before settling on a 3rd floor balcony deluxe as that provided the most quiet. With the aircon on, I barely heard the traffic. Normally, a room facing the courtyard insures some quiet, but Belamar's courtyard is right next to the blvd, separated by a wall. The hotel staff, both front desk and managerial, persevered in looking for a room that would be agreeable to us and we were extremely impressed. There was no annoyance or the least hint of aggravation with us! They only wanted us to be happy.
One wing of the hotel faces a side street so it might be quieter, but, then again, it overlooks the valet parking lot. (Only valet parking available)
Our room (King deluxe/balcony) was spacious, very clean, well-furnished. Small balcony with 2 chairs and a small table)
Bathroom amenities excellent. The housekeeping personnel is courteous and quiet - none of the animated hallway conversations we have overheard in other hotels.
Speaking to the in-house sales manager secured us an extra night, which was not originally booked, at the same rate as our first night, even though it was no longer available on the site we used to book the room (AAA).
We loved the bar and restaurant (Second Story) - terrific happy hour and a bartender with a generous pour. Appetizers at the bar and dinner were both excellent and good value. Seems to be a rather trendy place.
Very convenient location: Walking down to the main center of Manhattan Beach about a mile along either a wood-chip covered trail or along the street. Also, about a block away is the Manhattan Beach Village shopping center with a great breakfast place (Corner Bakery) and Macy's, among other shops.
Pool area is rather tiny; limited number of lounges but they are quite comfortable. Lovely courtyard. Wedding going on while we were there but it didn't interfere with regular guests.
Will definitely return to this gem..

Room Tip: 3rd floor, low odd numbered room found to be quietest; even #'s face side street/valet park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

We give it 2 stars- one for the very good staff and one for the cute details. Everything else could be way better. They have a sign there warning that they have cancerogene and fetus influencing substances. The rooms, floors, beddings and pool are outdated. We never come back and don't understand the good ratings

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbeedon, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Salibeju,

Thank you for your thoughtful review of your recent stay at the Belamar Hotel. I was happy to read you liked our service and staff, and appreciated our unique guest experience touches. Our guests often tell us how we make them feel at home and provide added value with our nice touches.

However I was disappointed to read you felt concerned after reading our mandatory Proposition 65 warning signs. Laws mandated by the State of California require all hotels to post these signs at all entrances, regardless of the quantity of the chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer. For example, cigarette smoke is considered one of these chemicals which is why the Belamar is a Smoke Free hotel.

We are currently undergoing the planning of our 2012 upgrades, and expect to refresh several of the items you mention including new corridor carpet.

Thank you again for your comments and please visit us again soon as our change is constant and our planned upgrades are very exciting.

Tom Beedon
General Manager
Belamar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2011 and I only have great things to say about this place! From the second we arrived to the second we left, we were greeted and helped by all the friendly staff constantly. We are from Australia and this was our first stop in the USA so we had no clue about anything! The staff at the Belamar always went the extra mile to help us with any questions we had. I am so grateful to have stayed here as it truly was a great experience. Issam in concierge was our favourite! I have never met someone so friendly and willing to help out.. he's great! The rooms are immaculate and the beds are so comfy!! I wish my bed at home felt like that. I would definitely stay here again and again.. loved every moment!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We spent a night in LA on our PCH drive from San Diego to San Francisco. Very comfortable hotel. Located close enough to the tourist attractions. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Address: 3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Loews Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belamar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.