We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorta Cheesy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shade Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 North Valley Drive, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sorta Cheesy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Shade is a good hotel with nice service and very comfortable beds. The food is the best thing about this hotel as it was reallllllly really good.
I just found the decor to be pretty cheesy- the "light therapy" in the rooms and the weird one touch fire thing in the room was just strange.
When I am the beach I want light and airy- this was just not it. If you have to stay in Manhattan Beach this will be fine, but if you want a great beach experience go to Santa Monica and go to Shutters.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    40
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
40
129
38
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Pole, Alaska
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

It's true that the staff is all under-20 first job tending toward rude given the market this place is aiming to stay in. But if you're used to staying in places like this, then you've worked hard for your money and you know how to handle these kids and get what you need.

The hotel looks like some sort of converted Motel, albeit a high end conversion. The mattresses which others have found uncomfortable are Tempur-Pedic. They are ok, but I've slept on more comfortable beds, that's true. The toiletries are really fantastic, but the staff is SO CHEAP with them that I actually wrote to the company and to management to say that if the purpose of partnering with companies is to encourage buying the product afterwards, Shade fails because they did not replace them my entire stay, even though I called and asked. (I went to Super Wal-Mart for more toiletries!!!!) (the fire thing in the corner is a waste of energy, space, money etc.)

I love this hotel because of the size of the room and the location, and the availability of parking, wi-fi, and breakfast buffet included. Try paying for those things in any other LA hotel and you'll end up with the same price for the room, but of lesser quality. This is closest enough to the highway to be convenient to everywhere you need to be. There is no view, but that's not why I chose the hotel.

I chose it as: a treat to myself, its proximity to what I wanted but without the hassle of traffic and finding parking or paying $25/night+tax for parking, wi-fi included, safe neighborhood, nice furnishings. With few rooms, it is definitely atypical, and makes its money from the use of the hotel facilities for meetings, bar, events, etc. but I will go back to stay there as my treat to myself again this Christmas.

Last but not least, the desk clerk told me Steve Perry from Journey had throat cancer. He was SO WRONG and it SO BOTHERED me because I LOVE Steve Perry and I LOVE Journey and all they play in their bar at night is JOURNEY, and I LOVED it. So if you hate Journey, that may be a reason to not go...

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

We stayed here on the last night of our trip. We had been running ourselves ragged and Shade was a great retreat to recover before the trip home. I looked at several well known beach hotels in Santa Monica but couldn't find anything as great for the value. The rooms at Shade are AMAZING! Not only the fabulous jacuzzi with chromotherapy, but also temperpedic bed, fireplace, lavazza machine, full bar amenities, balcony, advanced lighting and electronic controls, ipod dock...basically the works. Plus the hotel lounge is a great hangout with interesting cocktails and a great tapas menu. The location was nice too. Nestled in the quaint shopping district of Manhattan beach and just a few blocks to the pier. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel. The only thing is that it is not really kid friendly. That's fine with us as we don't have children but the hotel is definitely a more tranquil, adult destination.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

This is a great boutique hotel in Manhattan beach, close to the beach and restaurants. The rooms are great, very tasteful, comfortable, yet trendy (not like the standard which is cheap and faux trendy). Great touches include the chromo therapy lights, sliding shades around the jumbo tub, etc. The fixtures are great (loved the stone floor shower) and the personal expresso maker is great asset in the morning. Staff is helpful and friendly. They will loan you a bike which is nice for a quick ride around the area.
Highly recommend this hotel! Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

We stayed at the Shade Hotel for a family wedding in October, 2009, and had such a wonderful time! Not only was the service superb, but the wedding that was held there was amazing. No detail was left unturned. Plus, how can you go wrong staying a block from the beach! We would go there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

The staff was very accommodating, and our experience was first class! The rooms are very cool. The food is great and the bar area has a cool vibe. Mike Zislis the Owner also has restaraunts Mucho Ultima Mexicana, ROCK'N FISH Manhattan Beach, and ROCK'N FISH LA LIVE. A MUST GO TO!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo,CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

A friend of mine came to California for a wedding and stayed at Shade hotel for 3 nights. Since we haven't seen each other for years, she invited me to stay with her for a night so we could play "catch-up". If it wasn't for her I wouldn't have the opportunity to experience this neat boutique hotel in manhattan beach. The staff at Shade are friendly and personable. The room itself is decent in size, with a gigantic jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room, which can be sectioned off by sliding doors. There are special lightings for the Jacuzzi; different lightings for different moods, i guess. The decor in the bathroom resembles a spa, calm and tranquil. The complimentary breakfast was ok, nothing special. But luckily Shade is surrounded by restaurants (Japanese, French bakery, Irish pub, etc.) all within walking distance. There are several boutique shops around too, which makes walking around fun. Finally beach is also within walking distance. The hotel offers overnight parking for $17 dollars per day. I believe you can park in the adjacent parking structure for free overnight as long as you get up before 9am the next morning and feed the meter. Overall I really enjoyed my stay even though it was only one night.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Address: 1221 North Valley Drive, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.