We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impress yourself - and your lover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shade Hotel to your Saves list
Shade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 North Valley Drive, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dana Point, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Impress yourself - and your lover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is THE place to stay in Manhattan Beach/South Bay. A serenely intimate sea breezy design that makes the exclusive not pretentious. Superb food and beverage from the Zislis Group perfectly complements a guest room that looks as good inside as the views to the outside. Valentines Day, here we come!

Room Tip: Corner suites are superb. Book away from the lounge if you want to turn in early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    44
    14
    12
    9
See reviews for
41
142
40
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

So let me start by saying that Shade is very cute, but I would not give it a full four stars as compared to other resorts I would rate with a four star rating. However, I don't think it's a three star either, really somewhere in between but don't have that option to pick during the review process.

As others have stated, there are some really positive elements:
- Location is perfect and literally in the middle of the manhattan beach town and a 5 mins walk from the beach. It has plenty of places around to grab a bite, drinks or shop for cute beachy things.
- Service was good, very friendly and helpful.

Some oddities:
- The rooms while cool, do look a little funky with the giant tub in the middle. It was fine with me and my husband, but can see how it could be weird if it was a couple not quite comfortable with each other yet or friends.
- The hotel is right next door to a parking lot and there is considerable activity in the morning with cars/trucks etc.

Overall, Shade is still a cute, trendy place and given there are not many other options with the location, it's still a do!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A really great hotel for a slew of reasons. #1- awesome location. Everything in MB is in walking distance. #2- the style of the rooms/restaurant is hip but clean and functional. You're comfortable but feel sexy as well. #3- the attached restaurant/bar has truly fantastic food & drink. I figured it would be like most hotel dining options, fine/okay/passable, but it was topic notch. For once I didn't feel lazy for not venturing out to find local mom-n-pop gems. We've stayed 3 times (I think?) and there'll absolutely be a 4th!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great room, great bar, great staff!!! We stayed here for a long a weekend and really enjoyed everything about it. The beds and pillows are amazing! The complimentary bike rentals are nice to ride on the strand. The location of the Shade is pretty awesome too, right by a bunch of great restaurants and bars!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

SHADE HOTEL at Manhattan Beach is an excellent small hotel for a quiet, relaxing stay in the Manhattan Beach. Located around 20-30mins from Los Angeles Airport, this is a great place for a short stay or meeting. Its only a 10 minute walk to the Manhattan Beach pier, and beautiful long stretch of beach.

The SHADE HOTEL lobby / bar is a relaxing place to meet people or have a drink after a day out.
The staff is courteous and very helpful. The rooms are very well appointed and most rooms have a unique glass encased fire flame, that is not only pleasing to view but keeps the room warm, when the nights gets a bit chilly. The rooms on the 2nd floor are nicer and seems quieter, than those on the ground floor. Wake early to a nice breakfast in the relaxed lobby area, before you go out to the beach or exploring.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor, it has nice view of the sunset over the roof tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a cool hotel.
The rooms are excellent rooms, with a great open solution for design regarding bedrooom and bathroom.
THe hotel has a very nice bar area that serves as breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening chill. a favorite hangout whenever really.
The hotel is excellent placed close to the Strand.
My only alternative when visiting Manhattan Beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Hills, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay one night on business at this unique hotel in which personnel were as warm and accommodating as the sunny California weather. My room was clean, quite, comfortable and and filled with the luxuries of home from the flat screen TV, fireplace, stocked refrigerator, to the army of pillows that allowed me to sleep like a jet lagged bear. The blackened salmon salad was one of the best I've had in a while without the hefty price tag. Close proximity to the beach allowed me to take in the towns atmosphere which I found very inviting. I will definitely be back with my wife. With a 6:00 AM flight my wake up call was on time and taxi ready as promised for a safe return home. I've read the other positive reviews here and they are on the money. This is well worth an advanced booking to lock in a great experience.

AL Sherrill

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Address: 1221 North Valley Drive, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.