We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "go to" SoCal spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shade Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 North Valley Drive, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Manhattan Beach
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our "go to" SoCal spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A really great hotel for a slew of reasons. #1- awesome location. Everything in MB is in walking distance. #2- the style of the rooms/restaurant is hip but clean and functional. You're comfortable but feel sexy as well. #3- the attached restaurant/bar has truly fantastic food & drink. I figured it would be like most hotel dining options, fine/okay/passable, but it was topic notch. For once I didn't feel lazy for not venturing out to find local mom-n-pop gems. We've stayed 3 times (I think?) and there'll absolutely be a 4th!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    38
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
39
128
38
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boonton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great room, great bar, great staff!!! We stayed here for a long a weekend and really enjoyed everything about it. The beds and pillows are amazing! The complimentary bike rentals are nice to ride on the strand. The location of the Shade is pretty awesome too, right by a bunch of great restaurants and bars!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

SHADE HOTEL at Manhattan Beach is an excellent small hotel for a quiet, relaxing stay in the Manhattan Beach. Located around 20-30mins from Los Angeles Airport, this is a great place for a short stay or meeting. Its only a 10 minute walk to the Manhattan Beach pier, and beautiful long stretch of beach.

The SHADE HOTEL lobby / bar is a relaxing place to meet people or have a drink after a day out.
The staff is courteous and very helpful. The rooms are very well appointed and most rooms have a unique glass encased fire flame, that is not only pleasing to view but keeps the room warm, when the nights gets a bit chilly. The rooms on the 2nd floor are nicer and seems quieter, than those on the ground floor. Wake early to a nice breakfast in the relaxed lobby area, before you go out to the beach or exploring.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor, it has nice view of the sunset over the roof tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a cool hotel.
The rooms are excellent rooms, with a great open solution for design regarding bedrooom and bathroom.
THe hotel has a very nice bar area that serves as breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening chill. a favorite hangout whenever really.
The hotel is excellent placed close to the Strand.
My only alternative when visiting Manhattan Beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Hills, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay one night on business at this unique hotel in which personnel were as warm and accommodating as the sunny California weather. My room was clean, quite, comfortable and and filled with the luxuries of home from the flat screen TV, fireplace, stocked refrigerator, to the army of pillows that allowed me to sleep like a jet lagged bear. The blackened salmon salad was one of the best I've had in a while without the hefty price tag. Close proximity to the beach allowed me to take in the towns atmosphere which I found very inviting. I will definitely be back with my wife. With a 6:00 AM flight my wake up call was on time and taxi ready as promised for a safe return home. I've read the other positive reviews here and they are on the money. This is well worth an advanced booking to lock in a great experience.

AL Sherrill

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent a night at shade recently for a short getaway and were so impressed by the friendliness and efficiency of all staff as well as the unique design of the hotel. From the time of booking with Jennifer to the time we checked out everything was seamless. We came in late and enjoyed a cocktail in the trendy lounge/bar area after a quick and easy check in process. John the bartender was great. Our room had a very unique design, a tempurpedic bed and even a cyclone fireplace which we loved. The steam shower, jacuzzi tub, lovely bath products and complimentary beer on tap were definite pluses! (We were in the penthouse suite). But I had a peek in the regular rooms as well and though smaller, they are beautiful.

Mac the driver was a gem and picked us up from dinner ... Definitely ask for him if you need a lift. Although Shade is so well located that you shouldn't need a car ...

The hotel is just a couple of blocks up from the beach, so we took a walk down and browsed in all of the lovely shops/restaurants along the way the next morning after having a delicious breakfast at Shade in the zinc lounge.

All in all a great hassle free night away from it all ... Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here one night for a family wedding so we would not have to drive home/ 45 minutes away.

What's to like:

Good vibe, rooftop sundeck w a postage stamp sized wading pool, walkable to beach and pier, in heart of downtown MB. Room genrally has good amenities-aamazing beds, lavazza coffee machine, free wifi, free water, free buffet bkfst with deviled eggs and smoked salmon

What's not:

There is a huge bathtub in middle of the room. Great for a roantic encounter but oddly out of place. But the shampoo, conditioner and shower gel are bolted to the wall in the adjacent shower. Hotel later said you can call to ask for shampoo, etc if you do not want to use the products bolted to the wall.

The hotel is not "beach adjacent" as noted on website. While the hotel is in midst of downtown Manhattan Beach, it is actually a 3 block walk down a steep hill to get to the bike path and sand. It's a pleasant walk down but a good test of lungs on return trip.

Our friend's wedding was awesome-lovely decor, very tasty food, etc but we essentially shut the hotel down-other guests were sent elsewhere to eat, and people stopping by what is a popular place with locals were also turned away. If you want to use hotel amentities while staying here call ahead to see if there a big event taking over the hotel.

Some rooms overlook courtyard area where all those wedding events take place-ours did. We stayed up very late so dinner and disco did not keep us up late. There are no rooms with ocean view due do location several blocks away.

In a similar theme the hotel front desk staff and parking staff were overwhelmed by volume. We had to ask three times to get our car brought up-it took 20 minutes.

Would we consider staying here again? Maybe but only after determining that we would be able to enjoy amenities.

Room Tip: do not accept a room overlooking interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Address: 1221 North Valley Drive, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.