We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shade Hotel to your Saves list
Shade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 North Valley Drive, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Boonton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great room, great bar, great staff!!! We stayed here for a long a weekend and really enjoyed everything about it. The beds and pillows are amazing! The complimentary bike rentals are nice to ride on the strand. The location of the Shade is pretty awesome too, right by a bunch of great restaurants and bars!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    45
    14
    12
    9
See reviews for
41
144
40
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

SHADE HOTEL at Manhattan Beach is an excellent small hotel for a quiet, relaxing stay in the Manhattan Beach. Located around 20-30mins from Los Angeles Airport, this is a great place for a short stay or meeting. Its only a 10 minute walk to the Manhattan Beach pier, and beautiful long stretch of beach.

The SHADE HOTEL lobby / bar is a relaxing place to meet people or have a drink after a day out.
The staff is courteous and very helpful. The rooms are very well appointed and most rooms have a unique glass encased fire flame, that is not only pleasing to view but keeps the room warm, when the nights gets a bit chilly. The rooms on the 2nd floor are nicer and seems quieter, than those on the ground floor. Wake early to a nice breakfast in the relaxed lobby area, before you go out to the beach or exploring.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor, it has nice view of the sunset over the roof tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a cool hotel.
The rooms are excellent rooms, with a great open solution for design regarding bedrooom and bathroom.
THe hotel has a very nice bar area that serves as breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening chill. a favorite hangout whenever really.
The hotel is excellent placed close to the Strand.
My only alternative when visiting Manhattan Beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Hills, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay one night on business at this unique hotel in which personnel were as warm and accommodating as the sunny California weather. My room was clean, quite, comfortable and and filled with the luxuries of home from the flat screen TV, fireplace, stocked refrigerator, to the army of pillows that allowed me to sleep like a jet lagged bear. The blackened salmon salad was one of the best I've had in a while without the hefty price tag. Close proximity to the beach allowed me to take in the towns atmosphere which I found very inviting. I will definitely be back with my wife. With a 6:00 AM flight my wake up call was on time and taxi ready as promised for a safe return home. I've read the other positive reviews here and they are on the money. This is well worth an advanced booking to lock in a great experience.

AL Sherrill

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We spent a night at shade recently for a short getaway and were so impressed by the friendliness and efficiency of all staff as well as the unique design of the hotel. From the time of booking with Jennifer to the time we checked out everything was seamless. We came in late and enjoyed a cocktail in the trendy lounge/bar area after a quick and easy check in process. John the bartender was great. Our room had a very unique design, a tempurpedic bed and even a cyclone fireplace which we loved. The steam shower, jacuzzi tub, lovely bath products and complimentary beer on tap were definite pluses! (We were in the penthouse suite). But I had a peek in the regular rooms as well and though smaller, they are beautiful.

Mac the driver was a gem and picked us up from dinner ... Definitely ask for him if you need a lift. Although Shade is so well located that you shouldn't need a car ...

The hotel is just a couple of blocks up from the beach, so we took a walk down and browsed in all of the lovely shops/restaurants along the way the next morning after having a delicious breakfast at Shade in the zinc lounge.

All in all a great hassle free night away from it all ... Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here one night for a family wedding so we would not have to drive home/ 45 minutes away.

What's to like:

Good vibe, rooftop sundeck w a postage stamp sized wading pool, walkable to beach and pier, in heart of downtown MB. Room genrally has good amenities-aamazing beds, lavazza coffee machine, free wifi, free water, free buffet bkfst with deviled eggs and smoked salmon

What's not:

There is a huge bathtub in middle of the room. Great for a roantic encounter but oddly out of place. But the shampoo, conditioner and shower gel are bolted to the wall in the adjacent shower. Hotel later said you can call to ask for shampoo, etc if you do not want to use the products bolted to the wall.

The hotel is not "beach adjacent" as noted on website. While the hotel is in midst of downtown Manhattan Beach, it is actually a 3 block walk down a steep hill to get to the bike path and sand. It's a pleasant walk down but a good test of lungs on return trip.

Our friend's wedding was awesome-lovely decor, very tasty food, etc but we essentially shut the hotel down-other guests were sent elsewhere to eat, and people stopping by what is a popular place with locals were also turned away. If you want to use hotel amentities while staying here call ahead to see if there a big event taking over the hotel.

Some rooms overlook courtyard area where all those wedding events take place-ours did. We stayed up very late so dinner and disco did not keep us up late. There are no rooms with ocean view due do location several blocks away.

In a similar theme the hotel front desk staff and parking staff were overwhelmed by volume. We had to ask three times to get our car brought up-it took 20 minutes.

Would we consider staying here again? Maybe but only after determining that we would be able to enjoy amenities.

Room Tip: do not accept a room overlooking interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had our lovely and intimate wedding at Shade in September 2012. We were married on the Skydeck and held our reception in the same place.

Jolise (Dir of Events) is fabulous! She was on top of everything that day and really had everything running smoothly! Megan (Hotel Manager) was also an incredible help the day of my wedding. The staff was great as well, very professional, on top of everything, but discreet.

The food was fantastic! We had a plated sit down dinner. Really great chef there! We had a couple of hiccups with a kid's meal and the desert, but only I and Jolise noted it! Everything ran smooth and I am so happy to have chosen this hotel as our venue. Worth every penny!

We also spent the night at Shade. Very comfy rooms. Not super large, but big enough. Love the amenities, although the shower is a bit on the small side.

Bellmen and Front Desk are very prompt and courteous and assisted us with all of our items from the wedding and we forgot our left over wedding cake. We went to pick it up later that evening and it was packaged for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Address: 1221 North Valley Drive, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.