We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway at Shade” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shade Hotel to your Saves list
Shade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 North Valley Drive, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway at Shade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent a night at shade recently for a short getaway and were so impressed by the friendliness and efficiency of all staff as well as the unique design of the hotel. From the time of booking with Jennifer to the time we checked out everything was seamless. We came in late and enjoyed a cocktail in the trendy lounge/bar area after a quick and easy check in process. John the bartender was great. Our room had a very unique design, a tempurpedic bed and even a cyclone fireplace which we loved. The steam shower, jacuzzi tub, lovely bath products and complimentary beer on tap were definite pluses! (We were in the penthouse suite). But I had a peek in the regular rooms as well and though smaller, they are beautiful.

Mac the driver was a gem and picked us up from dinner ... Definitely ask for him if you need a lift. Although Shade is so well located that you shouldn't need a car ...

The hotel is just a couple of blocks up from the beach, so we took a walk down and browsed in all of the lovely shops/restaurants along the way the next morning after having a delicious breakfast at Shade in the zinc lounge.

All in all a great hassle free night away from it all ... Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    42
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
40
132
39
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here one night for a family wedding so we would not have to drive home/ 45 minutes away.

What's to like:

Good vibe, rooftop sundeck w a postage stamp sized wading pool, walkable to beach and pier, in heart of downtown MB. Room genrally has good amenities-aamazing beds, lavazza coffee machine, free wifi, free water, free buffet bkfst with deviled eggs and smoked salmon

What's not:

There is a huge bathtub in middle of the room. Great for a roantic encounter but oddly out of place. But the shampoo, conditioner and shower gel are bolted to the wall in the adjacent shower. Hotel later said you can call to ask for shampoo, etc if you do not want to use the products bolted to the wall.

The hotel is not "beach adjacent" as noted on website. While the hotel is in midst of downtown Manhattan Beach, it is actually a 3 block walk down a steep hill to get to the bike path and sand. It's a pleasant walk down but a good test of lungs on return trip.

Our friend's wedding was awesome-lovely decor, very tasty food, etc but we essentially shut the hotel down-other guests were sent elsewhere to eat, and people stopping by what is a popular place with locals were also turned away. If you want to use hotel amentities while staying here call ahead to see if there a big event taking over the hotel.

Some rooms overlook courtyard area where all those wedding events take place-ours did. We stayed up very late so dinner and disco did not keep us up late. There are no rooms with ocean view due do location several blocks away.

In a similar theme the hotel front desk staff and parking staff were overwhelmed by volume. We had to ask three times to get our car brought up-it took 20 minutes.

Would we consider staying here again? Maybe but only after determining that we would be able to enjoy amenities.

Room Tip: do not accept a room overlooking interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had our lovely and intimate wedding at Shade in September 2012. We were married on the Skydeck and held our reception in the same place.

Jolise (Dir of Events) is fabulous! She was on top of everything that day and really had everything running smoothly! Megan (Hotel Manager) was also an incredible help the day of my wedding. The staff was great as well, very professional, on top of everything, but discreet.

The food was fantastic! We had a plated sit down dinner. Really great chef there! We had a couple of hiccups with a kid's meal and the desert, but only I and Jolise noted it! Everything ran smooth and I am so happy to have chosen this hotel as our venue. Worth every penny!

We also spent the night at Shade. Very comfy rooms. Not super large, but big enough. Love the amenities, although the shower is a bit on the small side.

Bellmen and Front Desk are very prompt and courteous and assisted us with all of our items from the wedding and we forgot our left over wedding cake. We went to pick it up later that evening and it was packaged for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you're looking for a small boutique hotel with 4 star service...book at Shade. From the minute I arrived to when I (regrettably) departed, the staff and hotel exceeded my expectations. Manhattan Beach is a relaxed beach town that's a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle, see and be seen aspect of LA. And Shade Hotel perfectly reflects the vibe of the town...casual but well appointed. Public space is designed but not over designed...comfort before cool. Rooms are clean and well appointed...and for once...electric outlets are abundant and easy to access. Everyone...from the valet to the front desk to the bartenders to the housekeepers...are friendly, helpful and professional. And to top it all off...it's well priced. Cant' wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for two nights after arriving from the UK at the start of our vacation. Staff v friendly and helpful. Great breakfast, location is great for exploring the beach, and quick to/from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Fantastic boutique hotel, trendy but not too trendy. The minute I set foot in the hotel I felt at ease. I hate big American hotels and so far this is the one that I will return to if I find myself in the LA district again. A short walk to the beach, nice shops nearby and a laid back atmosphere, which is hard to get in USA.

The bathroom is fantastic, lighting is hilarious, the beds are so comfortable and the coffee machine in the room was brill.

I will def return to Shade if I am in this area again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here in October 2011 for two nights. The hotel is a short drive from the airport and a quick walk to Manhattan beach. Everything at the hotel was pleasant. We had a room on the ground floor and didn't have any problems with noise or security. Staff were pleasant and the breakfast nice and healthy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Address: 1221 North Valley Drive, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.