We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best & Only Hotel to stay at in the LA area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shade Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shade Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 North Valley Drive, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Manhattan Beach
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Best & Only Hotel to stay at in the LA area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My experience at Shade was unforgettable! The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. They treated me like family and made sure that my every need was fulfilled. From the valet, to the front desk, to the room service, every part of my experience was excellent! The front desk attendant was very pleasant and answered all of my questions. She even suggested some of her favorite films, as I shared with her that my boyfriend and I wanted a quiet night in. I ordered the prosciutto pizza through room service, which I've had many times in the Zinc lounge, and it was just as delicious as always. Was wonderful having the very large spa tub with the cool chromatherapy lighting. My room was very quiet and was the perfect setting for my quiet evening in. Loved the design of the Shade Hotel, as well - so modern and unique. Will definitely stay at the Shade Hotel again!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    36
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
38
128
36
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

i've experience basically every hotel in the south bay and without question shade stands ahead of the rest. it's the only hotel i've returned to and their customer service is a testament to that. the location is perfect and the staff, a dream. one of the employees that helped me when i inquired about a meeting was incredibly sweet and courteous. the green room was amazing.

hands down the best hotel in the south bay. i've never had a bad experience there. from the food to the customer service. all in all a perfect weekend getaway or for any professional meeting/event.

thanks for all the help shade.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry NSW
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Shade is an easy ride from LAX and positioned near to great shops, the beach, restaurants and cafes. The hotel staff were delightful and very willing to assist with any request, rooms very comfortable and bed was great. Breakfast was included or an a la carte available. We found the Valet parking at $20 per night good value compared to may hotels in Australia

Room Tip: Overlooking the water side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great property, close to the Beach, airport, city, without feeling congested. Looking forward to the opening next year of Shade in Redondo Beach Marina...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I just love this hotel. I usually do a yearly r-t-w trip out of Asia which almost always includes a stopover in LA. I first decided to stay at the Shade because it was on the Tablet Hotel list (I always enjoy Tablet or Kimpton Hotels; more eclectic and boutique-oriented). The hotel did not disappoint and I have made a point of staying for 2-3 nights whenever I stop in LA. The staff is always fantastic as I have tended to have specific requests (quiet room, the cyclone fireplace on second floor rooms, etc.) via email and I always receive a prompt and professional response. The hotel is a quick drive from the airport and then you are right there near the beach (two blocks away), sipping on a great cocktail on the hotel's sky deck and heading to one of the many great restaurants in Manhattan Beach. The rooms are minamlist yet cozy and would be great for long, intimate romantic weekends (alas, my visits have been solo for business, but the hotel atmosphere is very inviting to read/work online in your room, up on the skydeck weather permitting, or in the fantastic Zing Lounge bar/restaurant downstairs--their cocktail nibbles are to die for...). Extra diviness comes from the complimentary Lavazza expresso machine fixes, the goosedown duvets and pillow library (heaven), the inroom jacuzzi resplendent with chromatherapy, etc. Every time i've stayed there has been a promotion with complimentary cheese plate/cocktails (or a choice of other packages--bike/picnic, fruit plate, etc.) which I've always had served up on the skydeck. I just love spending time at the hotel and on this beach before heading out to upcoming meetings...perfect for a much needed rest/decadence/retreat. (I can imagine there is the potential for some noise issues late night but I never encountered this problem in my five stays at the hotel...I've always just requested the most quiet room possible...second floor....).

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room, second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I won Free two-nite stay @ Shade hotel. Room was above the Restaurant/Bar;VERY LOUD,and there was a Wedding that weekend and had no access to Bar/Restaurant area.
Valet too expensive and waited 20 minutes for my car. My Bill was fine until I got my CC bill
and had Excessive charges for pillows from Housekeeping. Staff is Rude and Hotel General Manager never returned my call. I work in the Hospitality business and know what GREAT customer service feels like to take care of the Guests experience. The Shade Hotel Fell short of my Expectations and I will not recommend or ever stay at this boutique hotel again.The Hotel Hermosa,Radisson,or Delphino I would stay at in the future. This hotel was a joke!
This hotel will charge your Credit Card after you depart for pillows and other charges that were not on your final folio as well as not call you or explain why this charge was on your bill.
Expensive rooms,loud,uncomfortable bed,charge you for pillows,valet missing,& bad service.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor Rooms on the West side are LOUD and above the Bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shade1221, General Manager at Shade Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
While we welcome all feedback, we have discovered that this Two Night Stay was given on the request of a competing hotel for their recent holiday party. It is apparent that this review was intentionally negative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Not really a big fan of LA. But since I have to be there on business once a quarter I had to find a place I was comfortable in. The shade is a small hotel in the heart of Manhattan Beach. The rooms are updated and comfortable. 15 GREAT restaurants are a walk away and getting into LA & the hills is a short ride.

Staff is VERY nice.

Issues, parking a pain, no real work space in room and gym is 2 miles away (have a deal with the Equinox). All I can deal with.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on West side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Address: 1221 North Valley Drive, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.