We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach food and super nice people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wahoo's Fish Taco

Wahoo's Fish Taco
1129 Manhattan Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-5329
310-796-1044
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 179 Restaurants in Manhattan Beach
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great beach food and super nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Good prices for what you get. Fish always fresh. Great tacos and burritos. Very casual place. Great for families. Get the mahi taco!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Casual, cheap and reliably decent!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Wahoo's is a local favorite. You can saunter up in your bikini and order up. It's always comfortable with friends, family or alone. The fish tacos are always great and the people are very nice!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Sorry, but nothing impressed me about this place.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Definitely not an awful meal, but to sum it up...UNDERWHELMING.
The bartender/waitress was extremely slow to take my order even though it was late
afternoon and they weren't that busy. I ordered a few citrus slaw and original fish tacos for us. Honestly, they were SUPER tiny and just not very tasty whatsoever. The fish was dry, the slaw almost gagged me and we both finished our meal wanting to go somewhere else to eat another lunch. It wasn't the worst food I've ever had, but with all the other incredible options in Manhattan Beach, I think this one can easily be left off your To-Do list. Perhaps the Wahoo's chain is a better choice in other towns, but I think this will be my one and only visit to this location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Super laid-back tacos and beer. Great Guacamole.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Brightly light, canteen vibe restaurant. Hearty portions of tacos, rice, beans. The nachos are thickly cheesy and heavy.
The food is what you would expect and there is a fun vibe to the place.
This is not health food. But it's tasty. The fish in the tacos was a little overcooked, other than that it's an enjoyable place to hang with friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Surprising find good tacos and gluten-free to boot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We came here after a surf trip to El Porto with a new beginner from Norway, looking for lunch which fit our desire for tacos, variation, and specialty. (Meeting the dietary needs of our party)

So we were surprised to find that we met all three needs. We had tacos, bowls and a burrito dish. My bowl was very good, and the Scandinavians were really surprised at how good fish tacos can be. The location has, as is noted, convenience and atmosphere and given that we had been turned away from another restaurant which couldn't supply gluten-free food, we walked away full, happy, and feeling like this was the better choice anyway.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahoo's Fish Taco also viewed

 
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to Wahoo's Fish Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wahoo's Fish Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.