We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, casual atmosphere, close to beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Local Yolk

The Local Yolk
3414 Highland Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3341
310-546-4407
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 160 Restaurants in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Washington DC
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, casual atmosphere, close to beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Local Yolk was recommended to me by the staff at a local hotel. It is a casual place with tasty dishes and large portion sizes. The service is friendly.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    30
    6
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great breakfast menu, unique omelets and fresh coffee. Make sure you try the homemade biscuits. They open at 6:30 for the early risers and are open through lunch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great local breakfast/lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Locals frequent the place, so you get a flavor of life in Manhattan Beach. Energetic and fun. Good food, too!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This place is best for breakfast. out of three days I went there twice. The pork chops and eggs got me. The prices are good and the service is right on.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My family and I love this place...so much so that when out of town family come to visit, we take them to The Local Yolk! They are known for their breakfast...we're talking pancakes and omelettes as big as your face for under $10. Oh, and the best part...the diner is right up the street from the ocean. Sometimes, they leave the door open and you can hear the sound of waves lulling you into a state of super-relaxation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Local Yolk also viewed

 

Been to The Local Yolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Local Yolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.